Producer

Altaïr Sideral

Country

CHILE

Region of production

Cachapoal Valley

Appellations

Valle del Cachapoal Andes

Founded

2001

Climate

Major variations in temperature, ranging from very hot summers to cold fronts in the Andes

Soil composition

Combination of alluvials (gravel, clay and sand) and colluvials (large rock fragments at the foot of the Andes)

Vineyard

39 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

Altaïr: 18,000 bottles ; 100% reds
Sideral: 108,000 bottles; 100% reds

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Carmenere Noir, Syrah

Ages of Vines

17 years

Behind the Wines

Marco Puyo

Marco Puyo is both an agronomist and oenologist—and the winemaker at Altaïr Vineyard. He gained valuable experience working in France at Château Lafite Rothschild in Bordeaux, William Fèvre in Burgundy and Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin in Champagne... in addition to having distinguished himself at various Chilean wineries.

Where roots run deep

Access the wines of this producer

Altaïr and Sideral are the end result of a project that kicked off in 2001. The idea was to use Bordeaux winemaking techniques in Chile’s Cachapoal Valley to ultimately produce the very best the country could offer by extracting the true essence of the land that lies at the foot of the Andes.

Chilean stars  

The labels of these boutique wines feature stars and stardust... and it’s no coincidence, either. Altaïr is the brightest star in the Aquila constellation and the only one visible from the Southern Hemisphere. It’s come to symbolize a wine that stands out from the rest.

Aiming sky-high

The growers chose Cachapoal Valley for its altitude. Located at 600 metres above sea level, it is home to temperatures that vary dramatically between day and night—perfect conditions for Cabernet Sauvignon. The soil is comprised of rock fragments, round stones, clay and sand, all of which are also conducive to producing wines with exuberant, fruity notes and exemplary minerality.

Brilliant Altaïr

Cabernet Sauvignon dominates, but it is complemented by Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot in blends that are continually refined from one year to the next. Much like French Grand Crus, Altaïr is simply not made at all in bad years. Since the vineyard is at altitude, grapes are slower to ripen, which allows tannins to develop. The resulting wines are complex, concentrated and elegantly outfitted with opaque red robes featuring violet hues. Intense notes of red and black fruit are enhanced with scents of spice, cedar and truffles. This wine pairs perfectly with fatty lamb meat.

Seductive Sideral

As Altaïr’s younger brother, Sideral is a bold blend of five varieties, including Carmenere, which is named after the carmine colour of its fruit. This grape was fine-tuned to today’s tastes in Chile and is responsible for the chocolatey notes present in Sideral. A surprising personality—elegant enough for fine dinners and casual enough for friendly gatherings—awaits in every bottle.

Producteur

Altaïr Sideral

Pays

CHILI

Région

Vallée de Cachapoal

Appellations

Valle del Cachapoal Andes

Fondation

2001

Climat

Larges écarts de température, très chaud en été et présence d’air froid des Andes

Sol

Mélange d’alluvions (gravier, argile et sable) et de colluvions (fragments de roches grossiers aux pieds des Andes)

Vignoble

39 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

Altaïr : 18 000 bouteilles;
100 % de vins rouges
Sideral : 108 000 bouteilles;
100 % de vins rouges

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Carmenère noir, Syrah

Âge des vignes

17 ans

En lumière

Marco Puyo

Agronome et œnologue, il est le vinificateur d’Altaïr Vineyard. Il a acquis une précieuse expérience en France, chez Château Lafite Rothschild à Bordeaux, William Fèvre en Bourgogne et Veuve Clicquot Ponsardin en Champagne, en plus d’avoir fait sa marque dans plusieurs vignobles chiliens.

Des vins au firmament

Altaïr et Sideral sont l’aboutissement d’un projet démarré en 2001 de faire des vins à la bordelaise dans la vallée de Cachapoal, au Chili. Le but : produire ce que le pays peut offrir de meilleur, en tirant toute l’essence de terroirs particuliers situés aux pieds des Andes.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Les étoiles du Chili

Sur les étiquettes de ces vins boutiques, de la poussière d’astre et des étoiles. Ce n’est pas un hasard : Altaïr est l’étoile la plus brillante étoile de la constellation de l’Aigle et la seule visible depuis l’hémisphère Sud. Elle est devenue le symbole d’un vin qui sait se distinguer.

Viser haut

Les producteurs ont choisi la vallée de la Cachapoal pour y planter leurs vignes en raison de son altitude : situé à 600 m, l’endroit est soumis à une grande amplitude thermique entre le jour et la nuit, ce qui convient parfaitement au cabernet sauvignon. Le sol composé de fragments de roches, de pierre roulée, d’argile et de sable, favorise aussi la production de vins aux notes de fruits exubérantes et à la minéralité exemplaire.


Brillant Altaïr

Le cabernet sauvignon domine, auquel s’ajoutent syrah, cabernet franc et petit verdot dans des assemblages repensés au gré des millésimes. À la manière des grands crus français, Altaïr n’est pas produit lors des mauvaises années. Parce que le vignoble est situé en hauteur, la maturité des raisins est plus lente, ce qui permet aux tannins de se développer. Il en résulte des vins complexes, concentrés, élégants, à la robe opaque rouge violacé. On apprécie ses notes intenses de fruits rouges et noirs, ses arômes d’épices, de cèdre et de truffe. On aura du plaisir à le savourer avec la chair grasse et goûteuse de l’agneau.

Séduisant Sideral

Petit frère d’Altaïr, Sideral est un rouge audacieux fait d’un assemblage de cinq cépages, dont le carménère, qui tient son nom de la couleur carmin de ses fruits. Ce cépage, remis au goût du jour au Chili, procure au Sideral ses notes de chocolat. C’est un vin à la personnalité surprenante qui sait jouer les élégants lors d’un souper fin, et les décontractés à l’heure de l’apéro entre amis.