Producer

Bodegas Luis Cañas

Country

SPAIN

Region of production

Rioja

Appellations

Rioja Alavesa

Founded

1928

Climate

Continental with significant Atlantic influence.

Soil composition

Terraces of chalky clay.

Vineyard

280 hectares owned; 200 additional hectares farmed.

Agriculture

Sustainable viticulture.

Production Volume

88% red wine, 12% white wine.

Varieties Grown

Grenache Noir , Tempranillo Noir

Ages of Vines

46 years-old.

Behind the Wines

Juan Luis Cañas

In 1989, Juan Luis Cañas took up the reigns of his family winery. Under his inspired leadership, the bodegas has gone from strength to strength. Well-known for their fruity young wines, Juan Luis introduced the concept of barrel ageing to expand the estate’s range into more complex, age-worthy Reserva and Gran Reserva styles. In 1994, Juan Luis built a state-of-the-art winery to further enhance quality. He was also one of the first in the region to start sorting grapes in the vineyard as well as upon arrival at the winery. This ensures that only the healthiest, fully ripened grapes make the cut.

A Leading Light in Rioja Alavesa

Bodegas Luis Cañas has a history stretching back four generations. In the early days, Carlos Cañas produced cosecheros (young wines) that he sold in bulk through-out the region with the aide of a mule and cart. The transition to bottled wine came about in 1970, under the leadership of Carlos’ son Luis.
Access the wines of this producer

“All our wines need to retain their fruitiness and the touch of minerals that define the earth in this particular corner of the world…this gives our wines a very specific personality. - Juan Luis Cañas

The Heart of Rioja Alavesa

As the northernmost of Rioja’s three sub-regions, Rioja Alavesa is the closest to the Atlantic Ocean. This, plus the high altitude of plantings makes Rioja Alavesa the coolest area of Rioja. Planted on slopes and terraces of chalky-clay, Bodegas Luis Cañas boasts vineyards with an ideal microclimate and perfect sun exposure. The vines produce low yields and small clusters leading to incredibly concentrated, flavourful wines.

A Legacy of Healthy Vines

The use of herbicides and synthetic fertilisers is strictly prohibited at Bodegas Luis Cañas. The winery’s permanent field team is made up of an agricultural engineer, a technical agronomist, an oenologist, and 8 highly skilled workers, who all share a common goal. Their aim is to obtain vines with strong immune systems, capable of defending themselves against disease. According to Juan Luis Cañas, this is the greatest legacy they can leave future generations.

Precise Barrel Maturation

The use of American oak barrels has long been a distinctive feature of Rioja wines. At Bodegas Luis Cañas, French oak is also used to temper the potent vanilla, coconut flavours derived from American oak, and to impart greater finesse and structure to the wines. All barrels are replaced after three years to ensure that the aromatic impact of the oak, and its gentle oxidative effect, remain optimal.

A Caring Company

Bodegas Luis Cañas is the estate of choice for Rioja’s seasonal vineyard workers. In 2006, the winery built lodgings to house 40 agricultural workers during the growing and harvest period. As well as sleeping and rest room areas, the facility includes a laundry, industrial kitchen, and infirmary. These living conditions far exceed the region’s norm. In 2008, Bodegas Luis Cañas received the prestigious “Caring Company” award by Spanish magazine Dato Económico.

Producteur

Bodegas Luis Cañas

Pays

ESPAGNE

Région

Rioja

Appellations

Rioja Alavesa

Fondation

1928

Climat

Continental avec une influence marquée de l’Atlantique.

Sol

Terrasses d’argile crayeuse.

Vignoble

280 hectares appartenant au domaine; 200 autres hectares en viticulture.

Agriculture

Viticulture raisonnée.

Production

88 % vin rouge, 12 % vin blanc

Cépages

Grenache noir , Tempranillo noir

Âge des vignes

46 ans

En lumière

Juan Luis Cañas

En 1989, Juan Luis Cañas a repris les rênes du domaine familial. Sous son leadership inspiré, la bodega n’a cessé de se renforcer. Reconnue pour ses vins jeunes et fruités, elle a, depuis l’introduction par Juan Luis du concept de vieillissement en barriques, élargi son registre en produisant des vins de garde plus complexes de styles Reserva et Gran Reserva. En 1994, Juan Luis a bâti une cave à la fine pointe de la technologie pour améliorer encore la qualité. Il a aussi été l’un des premiers viniculteurs de la région à débuter le tri dans le vignoble puis à l’arrivée des fruits à la vinerie afin que seuls les raisins les plus sains et les plus mûrs soient sélectionnés.

Un domaine phare dans la Rioja Alavesa

Bodegas Luis Cañas a une histoire qui remonte à quatre générations. Dans les tous débuts, Carlos Cañas produisait des cosecheros (vins jeunes) qu’il vendait en vrac dans la région qu’il parcourait avec un chariot tiré par une mule. La transition au vin embouteillé s’est faite vers 1970, sous la direction son fils Carlos.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Tous nos vins doivent conserver leur nature fruitée et leur touche de minéralité qui caractérisent le terroir de ce coin du monde… C’est ce qui donne à nos vins leur personnalité si particulière. »  -  Juan Luis Cañas


Le cœur de la Rioja Alavesa

La plus septentrional des trois sous-régions de la Rioja, la Rioja Alavesa est celle qui est la plus près de l’océan Atlantique. Cette situation, alliée à la haute altitude à laquelle les vignes sont plantées, font de la Rioja Alavesa la zone la plus fraîche de la Rioja. Sises sur les flancs de coteau et les terrasses d’argile crayeuse, les vignes du domaine Bodegas Luis Cañas profitent d’un microclimat idéal et d’un ensoleillement parfait. Elles produisent de faibles rendements de petites grappes qui donnent naissance à des vins incroyablement concentrés et savoureux.


Un héritage de vignes saines

L’usage d’herbicides et de fertilisants synthétiques est strictement interdit à Bodegas Luis Cañas. L’équipe de viticulture permanente du domaine est composée d’un ingénieur en agriculture, d’agronome, d’un œnologue et de huit travailleurs très expérimentés qui partagent tous le même but, soit celui d’obtenir des vins dotés d’un système immunitaire fort, capables de se défendre contre la maladie. Selon Juan Luis Cañas, cela constitue le plus bel héritage qu’ils peuvent léguer aux générations futures.


Maturation précise en barriques

L’utilisation de barriques de chêne américain est depuis longtemps déjà une caractéristique distinctive des vins de la Rioja. À Bodegas Luis Cañas, le chêne français est aussi utilisé pour tempérer les flaveurs puissantes de vanille et de noix de coco conférées par le chêne américain et pour donner aux vins une finesse et une structure supérieures. Toutes les barriques sont remplacées après trois ans afin que l’impact aromatique du chêne avec ses doux effets oxydants demeure optimal.  


Une société attentionnée

Bodegas Luis Cañas est le domaine préféré des travailleurs saisonniers de la région de Rioja. En 2006, l’entreprise a construit des logements pour accueillir 40 travailleurs agricoles durant la saison de croissance et la période des vendanges. Outre les aires de sommeil et les salles de bains, le bâtiment comprend une buanderie, une cuisine industrielle et une infirmerie. Ces conditions de vie sont largement supérieures à la norme dans la région. En 2008, Bodegas Luis Cañas a reçu le prestigieux prix « Société attentionnée » remis par le magazine espagnol Dato Económico.

Notre boutique de vins fins