Producer

Bodegas y Viñedos Valderiz

Country

SPAIN

Region of production

RIBERA DEL DUERO

Appellations

Ribera del Duero

Founded

1997

Climate

Mediterranean with strong continental influences

Soil composition

Primarily sandy, with chalk and clay deep below the surface

Vineyard

70 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Organic, biodynamic on a few hectares

Production Volume

300,000 bottles;
100% red

Varieties Grown

Tempranillo Noir

Ages of Vines

20 to 35 years, on average. Some vines are 80 years old.

Behind the Wines

The Esteban family

Tomás Esteban, who founded the estate in 1997, may be retired, but he’s never far from the vines. He helps his sons Juan, the winegrower, and Ricardo, the vintner. The family pioneered organic viniculture in the Duero Valley.

Notable wines from the Duero Valley

Access the wines of this producer

The grapes grown here are treated with love, not chemical products. Bodegas Valderiz is one of the few select wineries whose wines are a true reflection of the Ribera del Duero terroir.

The power of tradition

At barely 20 years old, Bodegas Valderiz is still a fledgling operation in a country where wine has been produced for 4 centuries. But don’t be fooled by its young age—the Estebans are one of the oldest winemaking families in Roa and many of their vines have produced 80 harvests!

A brief history of Spanish wines

Spanish wines were slow to make their way into the fine wine category. For a long time, they were thought to be unrefined; good enough for an everyday meal but not suitable for much else. As ambitious winemakers adopted new technology, however, several Spanish wines saw their quality and authenticity increase substantially. It always boils down to the same truth: good wine starts with good vines.

Organic pioneers

For the Esteban family, authenticity is a fundamental value. The father-and-son growers introduced organic techniques at least 10 years before their peers in the Duero Valley even considered it. Did adopting this green approach mean shunning technology? Not at all. But their guiding principle was that any technology should interfere with the grapes’ characteristics as little as possible. Today, the estate’s wines offer outstanding value among products bearing the Ribera del Duero appellation, which is the most well-known in the country and the source of several Grand Crus.

The many faces of Tempranillo

What’s the right term, Tempranillo or Tinta del País? Is it an indigenous or imported variety? There are no wrong answers! First, the origins: People say it is purely Spanish, but there is also a legend that says a Cistercian monk from Cluny travelling on the Camino de Santiago dropped one of these vines from his bag. As for the name, there are more than just two stories. Tempranillo is a prince that goes by many names, depending on where you are in Spain (where it is also called Tinto Fino, Tinto de Toro and even Ull de Llebre), or Portugal (Aragonez, Tinta Roriz) or California (Valdepenas). One thing is certain: this tannin-rich variety has low acidity and produces light wines with excellent ageing potential.

Albillo, the silent partner

Tempranillo accounts for 95% of the grapes grown in the vineyard, leaving 5% for Albillo, a white variety known for its floral and citrus aromas and the acidic touch it brings to wines. A small quantity is already being blended into the estate’s Valderiz, Juega Bolos and Tomás Esteban wines, and there are plans to expand its use to other cuvées, where it helps to set the colour of the wine.

Their most prized plot

The Bodegas Valderiz estate comprises 40 different plots. One, however, stands out: La Guindalera, home of the grapes used for the Tomás Esteban vintage. This wine is known for its unique character, depth and mineral notes. It was this plot that encouraged the family to expand its vineyard.

Producteur

Bodegas y Viñedos Valderiz

Pays

ESPAGNE

Région

Appellations

Ribera del Duero

Fondation

1997

Climat

Méditerranéen avec fortes influences continentales

Sol

La plupart des sols sont sablonneux, avec craie et argile en profondeur

Vignoble

70 hectares en production

Agriculture

Biologique, quelques hectares en biodynamie

Production

300 000 bouteilles;
100 % de vins rouges

Cépages

Tempranillo noir

Âge des vignes

Entre 20 et 35 ans en moyenne. Certaines vignes ont 80 ans.

En lumière

Famille Esteban

Fondateur du domaine en 1997 puis retraité, Tomás Esteban n’est jamais bien loin dans les vignes pour seconder ses fils Juan, le vigneron, et Ricardo, le responsable des vinifications. La famille est pionnière de la viticulture biologique dans la vallée du Douro.

Des vins d’exception dans la vallée du Douro (Ribera del Duero).

On y cultive les raisins en douceur, sans produits chimiques et avec beaucoup d’amour : Bodegas Valderiz est l’un des domaines clés dans la production de vins de terroir authentiques révélant toute l’identité de la Ribera del Duero.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


La puissance des traditions

Bodegas Valderiz, âgé d’à peine 20 ans, fait figure de jeunot dans ce pays où l’on fabrique du vin depuis 4 siècles. Mais il ne faut pas se laisser tromper par son jeune âge; les Esteban comptent parmi les plus vieilles familles de vignerons de Roa, et plusieurs de leurs vignes ont bien 80 vendanges à leur actif!


Survol du vin espagnol

Les vins espagnols ont mis du temps à se hisser dans la catégorie des vins d’exception. Longtemps, ils ont eu la réputation d’être rustauds, bons pour la table, mais sans témoigner de plus d’envergure. Puis, les nouvelles technologies s’étant implantées chez les viticulteurs ambitieux, plusieurs vins d’Espagne ont gagné en qualité, sans pour autant gagner en authenticité. On ne le dira jamais assez : un bon vin se fait d’abord dans les vignes.  


Précurseurs de la viticulture biologique

Chez les Esteban, l’authenticité est justement une valeur fondamentale. Les vignerons père et fils ont misé sur l’agriculture biologique une bonne dizaine d’années avant que leurs confrères de la vallée du Douro s’y intéressent. Ont-ils pour autant renié les technologies? Pas du tout, seulement, celles utilisées doivent interférer le moins possible avec les caractéristiques du raisin. Aujourd’hui, leurs vins se classent parmi les plus grandes valeurs de Ribera del Duero, l’appellation la plus connue au pays, d’où sont issus tant de grands crus.


Le tempranillo, cépage aux personnalités multiples

Doit-on dire tempranillo ou tinta del país? Est-il indigène ou importé? Toutes les réponses sont bonnes. D’abord, de ses origines, on le dit espagnol pur jus, mais la légende veut qu’un moine cistercien de Cluny, en pèlerinage sur le chemin de Compostelle, l’ait échappé de son bagage. Quant à son nom, là encore, les deux vont, et bien davantage: le tempranillo est un prince à la nomenclature impressionnante selon qu’on le retrouve dans les différents coins d’Espagne (où il est aussi tinto fino, tinto de toro ou même ull de llebre), au Portugal (aragonez, tinta roriz) ou en Californie (valdepeñas). Une chose est certaine : ses fruits sont riches en tannins et peu acides, et font des vins structurés au grand potentiel de garde.


Et son copain, l’albillo

Si 95 % du vignoble est cultivé en tempranillo, les 5 % restants sont dévolus à l’albillo. Ce raisin blanc, aux notes de fleurs et d’agrumes, donne de l’acidité aux vins. Il compte déjà présent dans les vins Valderiz, Juega Bolos et Tomás Esteban en petite quantié, mais on aimerait bientôt pouvoir l’ajouter à d’autres cuvées afin, notamment, d’en fixer la couleur.


La parcelle la plus admirée

Bodegas Valderiz compte 40 parcelles différentes. Comme c’est souvent le cas, l’une d’entre elles se distingue : La Guindalera, d’où proviennent les raisins de la cuvée Tomás Esteban, au caractère unique, profond et minéral. C’est à partir de cette parcelle que la famille a décidé d’agrandir son vignoble.

 

Notre boutique de vins fins