Producer

Caiarossa

Country

ITALY

Region of production

TUSCANY

Appellations

IGT Toscana

Founded

1999, under the name Serra All’Olio

Climate

Mediterranean

Soil composition

Mixed (clay; clay and sand; clay and limestone with abundant pebbles)

Vineyard

31 of 70 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Biodynamic, with composting of vineyard pruning residues

Production Volume

95,000 bottles;
96% reds;
4% whites

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Chardonnay, Grenache Noir , Merlot, Petit Verdot Noir, Sangiovese, Syrah, Viognier

Ages of Vines

Ranging from 5 to 17 years

Behind the Wines

Dominique Génot

Dominique Génot is recognized by his peers as a first-rate manager. Having studied at France's most reputable winemaking schools (Bordeaux and Dijon), he went on to work in California and New Zealand before being recruited at age 26 to manage the up-and-coming Caiarossa vineyard.

A variety for each plot

We believe that Caiarossa is in the same league as the Super Tuscans… Sassicaia, Tignanello and Ornellaia. No doubt about it!
Access the wines of this producer

An exceptional site

The Caiarossa estate is located in Riparbella, which is in the Cecina Valley, in the heart of Tuscany. This region boasts a rich historical and archeological heritage, as well as an exceptional landscape with an ecosystem that's almost completely intact. Caiarossa wines embody the richness of Tuscany's natural setting.

Wine, olive trees, and a volcano 

Caiarossa's vines cover two main areas: Serra All'Olio, where olives are also grown, and along the side of Nocolino Hill, which people say used to be a volcano. The winery was purchased in 2004 by Dutch businessman Eric Albada Jelgersma, who owns Château du Tertre and Château Giscours (two Grands Crus Classés from the Margaux area of Bordeaux). He named it Caiarossa, which means "red gravel."

Perfect terroir-varietal pairings

The vines surround the cellar in an arena-style arrangement, and each plot is home to a single variety that is perfectly suited to its terroir. This careful pairing is the secret to the wine's distinctive characteristics.

Feng Shui and respect for nature

The wines are aged in a gravity-flow cellar featuring Feng Shui-inspired architecture. True to its principles of respecting nature, Caiarossa is one of the first vineyards to experiment with vine shoot, stalk and wine dreg composting.

Discovering Caiarossa—in Bordeaux!

When the wine world gathered in Bordeaux for Vinexpo 2009, a private event was organized at Château du Tertre Grand Cru Classé of Margaux. Over dinner, Alexander van Beek, who manages the du Tertre, Giscours and Caiarossa properties, introduced us to a new Tuscan product, the 2007 Caiarossa. Even though the wine was still young, it already conveyed the full extent of this exceptional terroir's quality, character and potential. Later, the 2004 (first vintage ever was 2002) vintage was shipped for tasting to Montreal; we were suitably impressed!

Enjoying Caiarossa
Fully appreciating the broad and nuanced range of flavours in Caiarossa wines is an experience that can't be rushed. These wines need decanting, and then they must be savoured with careful attention; the first sip prepares the palette for the sublime second mouthful. For a truly memorable experience, enjoy Caiarossa with peposa, a braised beef dish prepared with red wine, rosemary, garlic and pepper. Call it the art of enjoying a taste of Tuscany!

Their most prized plot

"That would be our plot of Cabernet Franc, located directly in front of the cellar at Serra All'Olio. Year after year, it produces wines with outstanding depth and a silky tannic structure that is beyond compare." 
— Dominique Génot​

Producteur

Caiarossa

Pays

ITALIE

Région

TOSCANE

Appellations

IGT Toscana

Fondation

1999, sous le nom de Serra All’Olio

Climat

Méditerranéen

Sol

Hétérogène, allant d'argileux à argilo-sableux à argilo-calcaire, abondance de galets roulés

Vignoble

31 hectares en production sur 70

Agriculture

Biodynamique, compostage des déchets verts

Production

95 000 bouteilles;
96 % de vins rouges;
4 % de blancs

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Chardonnay, Grenache noir , Merlot, Petit verdot noir, Sangiovese, Syrah, Viognier

Âge des vignes

De 5 et 17 ans

En lumière

Dominique Génot

Diplômé de grandes écoles d'œnologie de France (Bordeaux et Dijon), Dominique Génot est reconnu par ses pairs comme un gestionnaire de haut calibre. Fort de ses expériences en Californie et en Nouvelle-Zélande, il a été recruté à l'âge de 26 ans seulement pour gérer le domaine de Caiarossa, alors en plein essor.

À chaque parcelle son cépage

Nous sommes d'avis que Caiarossa joue dans la même cour que les Super Toscans que sont Sassicaia, Tignanello et Ornellaia. Rien de moins!
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Un site d'exception

Le domaine Caiarossa est situé à Riparbella, dans la vallée de Cecina, au cœur de la Toscane. Cette région jouit d'un riche patrimoine historique et archéologique, ainsi que d'un paysage exceptionnel où l'écosystème est pratiquement intact. Les vins de Caiarossa mettent en bouteille tout le luxe offert par cette nature toscane.


Du vin, des oliviers et un volcan

Les vignes de Caiarossa sont plantées dans deux grandes zones : Serra All'Olio — où l'on cultive aussi des oliviers —, et le flanc de la colline Nocolino, que l'on dit être un ancien volcan. L'homme d'affaires néerlandais Eric Albada Jelgersma, propriétaire de Château du Tertre et de Château Giscours (deux grands crus classés de la région de Margaux, à Bordeaux), a acquis le domaine en 2004, et lui a donné son nom définitif, Caiarossa, qui signifie « gravier rouge ».


Des accords terroir-cépage parfaits

Le vignoble est planté selon la forme d'une arène autour de la cave. Chaque parcelle loge un seul cépage: cette adéquation terroir-cépage parfaitement maîtrisée donne toutes leurs caractéristiques aux vins.


Feng shui et respect de la nature

L'élevage des vins se fait dans une cave gravitaire dont l'architecture est inspirée des principes du Feng shui. Fidèle à ses principes de respecter la nature, Caiarossa est l'un des premiers domaines à expérimenter le compostage des sarments, des rafles et des marcs.


Notre découverte de Caiarossa… à Bordeaux

Pendant que la planète vin se retrouvait à Bordeaux pour Vinexpo 2009, une soirée privée a été organisée au Château du Tertre, grand cru classé de Margaux. C'est lors du grand repas que le directeur des propriétés (du Tertre, Giscours et Caiarossa), Alexander van Beek, nous a fait découvrir ce nouveau cru de Toscane, Caiarossa millésime 2007. Le vin était encore jeune mais démontrait déjà toute la qualité, la race et le potentiel de ce grand terroir. Plus tard, le millésime 2004  a été expédié à Montréal pour fin de dégustation. Pour nous, ce vin a été une révélation !

La parcelle la plus admirée

« Il s'agit de la parcelle de cabernet franc située en face de la cave, à Serra All'Olio; tous les ans, elle donne des vins d'une grande profondeur, avec une structure tannique soyeuse incomparable. » - Dominique Génot


Savourer Caiarossa

Pour profiter pleinement de l'amplitude et de la palette de saveurs nuancées des vins de Caiarossa, il faut avoir du temps devant soi. Ce sont des vins à décanter, qu'on déguste avec concentration : la première gorgée prépare le palais pour la deuxième, qui est impeccable. Pour vivre un moment de grâce, savourez Caiarossa avec le peposo, un plat de bœuf braisé dans un mélange de vin rouge, romarin, ail et poivre. Ou l'art de goûter la Toscane, littéralement!