Producer

Champagne Taittinger

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

CHAMPAGNE

Appellations

Champagne

Founded

1734

Climate

Continental and oceanic influences

Soil composition

Chalk, sand and limestone marls

Vineyard

285 hectares

Agriculture

Sustainable, with ploughing used on most of the vineyard

Production Volume

6,219,500 bottles

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

24 years

Behind the Wines

Pierre-Emmanuel Taittinger

Pierre-Emmanuel has been the president of Champagne Taittinger since 2006, as well as the president of the Association viticole champenoise (Champagne Winemaker’s Association) and president of Mission Coteaux, Maisons et Caves de Champagne, which is registered as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. His children Vitalie and Clovis also help manage the estate.

Champagne with panache

Taittinger champagnes are known for their distinctive bouquet and very fine bubbles. A perfect example is the Comtes de Champagne Blancs de Blanc. The 2006 vintage stands out as truly exceptional thanks to a bountiful harvest of outstanding Chardonnay.
Access the wines of this producer

A family business

Champagne Taittinger is one of the only major family-run estates in the region. The winery was founded by industrialist Pierre Taittinger when he purchased Château de la Marquetterie in Reims, and then managed by his sons. In 2005, it was sold to an American fund, only to be bought back by Pierre-Emmanuel in 2006, which proved to be an exceptional year for the wine as well. His children, Vitalie and Clovis, are now involved in running the business, and their sparkling Nocturne product line is attracting a new client base.

Chardonnay, an iconic variety for Taittinger

Whereas most growers in the Champagne region rely on Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier, François Taittinger has always preferred Chardonnay. His belief was that its lightness, elegance and mineral notes would appeal to customers—and he was right! Chardonnay has become the estate’s signature and is included in all vintages. In fact, Comtes de Champagne Blanc de Blancs, a wine that delivers white flowers on the nose and citrus fruit on the palate, is made entirely of Chardonnay.

Nocturne: A new approach to champagne

Champagne crafted with a cocktail approach, what a terrific idea! Offering a mellow attack and sweetness that evokes the most sinful baked goods, this dry champagne has won over even the most critical palates. The bottle design, which resembles both a glimmering cityscape and a disco ball, appeals to a new client base with an appreciation for beautiful objects—and exciting nightlife.

Selective breeding

Fifty years ago, the estate’s winegrowers decided to breed their vines selectively. This involves cloning the best plants by removing vine shoots. At the time, the method was outmoded, but for the Taittingers, it proved to be an excellent decision. The vineyard’s quality was maintained and the regional genetic heritage that is responsible for the wine’s personality was preserved. Today, 95% of the Taittinger’s vines are descendants of this technique.

Most memorable wine-tasting experience

“A bottle of Champagne Taittinger Brut Réserve served chilled with a spicy chicken and fish sandwich. We enjoyed this meal in a dugout canoe on a tributary of the Amazon River in French Guyana.” — Pierre-Emmanuel Taittinger

Producteur

Champagne Taittinger

Pays

FRANCE

Région

CHAMPAGNE

Appellations

Champagne

Fondation

1734

Climat

Double influence continentale et océanique

Sol

Craie, sable et marnes calcaires

Vignoble

285 hectares en propriété

Agriculture

Raisonnée, charrutage sur la quasi-totalité du domaine

Production

6 219 500 cols

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

24 ans

En lumière

Pierre-Emmanuel Taittinger

Président de Champagne Taittinger depuis 2006, il est également président de l’Association viticole champenoise, et président de la Mission Coteaux, Maisons et Caves de Champagne, inscrit au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Ses enfants Vitalie et Clovis sont également impliqués dans la gestion du domaine.

Un champagne qui a du style

Les champagnes Taittinger se distinguent par leurs arômes appuyés et l’extrême finesse de leurs bulles. Le Comtes de Champagne Blancs de Blanc est un modèle du genre, et la cuvée 2006 demeure exceptionnelle : grâce à une récolte exceptionnelle, le chardonnay y était tout simplement sublime.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Une histoire de famille

Champagne Taittinger est l’une des seules grandes maisons champenoises familiales. Fondée par l’industriel Pierre Taittinger lors de l’achat du Château de la Marquetterie, à Reims, puis gérée par ses fils, elle a été vendue à un fonds américain en 2005 avant d’être rachetée par Pierre-Emmanuel en 2006, un millésime admirable.  Ses enfants, Vitalie et Clovis, font partie de la relève, contribuant avec la pétillante gamme Nocturne à renouveler la clientèle.


Le chardonnay, cépage emblématique de Taittinger

Alors que les Champenois font du pinot noir et du pinot meunier leurs cépages de prédilection, François Taittinger porte en plus son affection sur le chardonnay. Il devine que la légèreté, l’élégance et les notes minérales de ce cépage plairont à sa clientèle. Excellente intuition! Le chardonnay est devenu la signature de la maison, où il est présent dans toutes les cuvées. Il entre à 100 % dans la cuvée Comtes de Champagne Blanc de Blancs, où explosent des arômes de fleurs blanches et d’agrumes.


Nocturne : le champagne sous un jour nouveau

Un champagne dans l’esprit cocktail, quel beau coup de génie! Avec son attaque moelleuse et sa sucrosité évoquant les pâtisseries, ce champagne sec séduit même les palais les plus critiques. Le design de la bouteille, évoquant ici une ville scintillante, là une boule disco, ravit les esthètes et une nouvelle clientèle née pour faire la fête.


La sélection massale

Il y a 50 ans, la maison a opté pour la sélection massale, qui consiste à cloner les plus beaux pieds de vigne par prélèvement de sarment... une technique millénaire un peu passée de mode à l’époque. Néanmoins, pour les Taittinger, c’est la bonne voie à suivre. Cela perpétue la qualité du vignoble, préserve le patrimoine génétique régional et garantit la personnalité des vins. Aujourd’hui, 95 % du vignoble Taittinger est issu de cette méthode.

Un grand moment de dégustation

« Il s’agit d’une bouteille de Champagne Taittinger Brut Réserve servie bien fraîche avec un délicieux sandwich poulet-poisson épicé. C’était dans une pirogue, sur un affluent du fleuve Amazone, en Guyane française. » - Pierre-Emmanuel Taittinger