Producer

Château du Grand Caumont

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON

Appellations

AOP level: Corbières and Corbières Boutenac IGP level: Oc and Aude

Founded

1000 ha villa in Roman times. In 1850, under the ownership of Auguste Sarda, the estate became a site of viticultural experimentation and a model through-out the region. Louis Rigal purchased the property in 1906 and laid the groundwork for the current w

Climate

Very hot, dry and windy

Soil composition

Clay-limestone and free-draining gravelly soils A rugged, stony, arid terroir

Vineyard

Terraces, 105 ha in production

Agriculture

Sustainable agriculture in theory and practice; not officially certified

Production Volume

400 000 to 500 000 bottles per year Red wine: 96 %; white wine: 2 %; rosé: 2 %

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Sauvignon , Grenache Noir , Merlot, Mourvedre , Vermentino

Ages of Vines

40 years-old. The Carignan vines are over 80 years-old

Behind the Wines

Laurence and Françoise Rigal

Laurence Rigal has run Château du Grand Caumont for the past 15 years. She is also an administrator for the AOP Corbières syndicate, and a founding member of the regional association "Parole de Femmes". Laurence manages the estate to the same high-quality standards as her mother before her. Françoise Rigal's tenure marked a major turning point. She was responsible for restructuring the vineyards, renovating the winery, and initiating the sale of the estate's wines in bottle.

A Land Steeped in History

While its origins may lie in ancient Rome, the estate has been firmly rooted in the Rigal family since Louis Rigal acquired the property, and founded the modern-day estate, in 1906.
Access the wines of this producer

"On the night of my wedding, May 30th, 1998, my mother presented me with a special wine, La Réserve de Laurence 1995, that she had made especially for this occasion. It was a wonderful surprise." - Laurence Rigal, winemaker


From Roman Times to the Revolution

In Roman times, the Manzanetto villa was a 1000 ha property of mixed crops. In the 9th century, the French King Charles “the Bald” gifted the estate to his nephew. Nine centuries later, the Château burnt down during the French Revolution.


The Rebirth of the Estate

In 1850, Auguste Sarda received a diploma of honour from the region for his work in transforming the property into an agri-viticultural estate. In 1906, ownership passed to Louis Rigal, and the estate in its current form was established. His son, also named Louis, followed after him, and was succeeded by his wife Françoise in the late 1970s. Today, their daughter Laurence runs the estate.


Carignan, the Star Grape

The entrance to the estate is planted with very old Carignan vines. This 80-year-old parcel of vines is a symbol of Château du Grand Caumont’s innovative practices. The estate was a pioneer in the technique of whole bunch vinification. A portion of these old vines is blended into each of the Corbières PDO which gives fruity and silky wines, with a lot of roundness and elegance.

Producteur

Château du Grand Caumont

Pays

FRANCE

Région

LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON

Appellations

En AOP : Corbières et Corbières Boutenac En IGP : Oc et Aude

Fondation

Villa romaine de 1 000 ha dans l'Antiquité. Devient une propriété agri-viticole modèle sous l'égide de Jaques Sarda en 1850. En 1906, Louis Rigal achète la propriété et crée les bases du domaine viticole actuel.

Climat

Très chaud, sec et venté

Sol

Argilo-calcaire et sols graves très filtrants Terroir rude sec et caillouteux

Vignoble

En terrasse, 105 ha de production

Agriculture

Agriculture raisonnée dans la pratique et l'esprit, mais sans label

Production

400 000 à 500 000 bouteilles par an Rouge 96 %; blanc 2 %; rosé 2 %

Cépages

Cabernet sauvignon , Grenache noir , Merlot, Mourvèdre , Vermentino

Âge des vignes

40 ans. Plus de 80 ans pour les vignes de Carignan

En lumière

Laurence et Françoise Rigal

À la tête du domaine depuis une quinzaine d'années, Laurence Rigal est administratrice du Syndicat de l'AOP Corbières et membre-fondateur de l'association régionale Parole de Femmes. Elle souhaite poursuivre le développement de l'entreprise dans la même exigence de qualité que sa mère Françoise. Celle-ci a marqué un tournant majeur en restructurant le vignoble et la cave et en initiant la vente en bouteilles.

Un lieu riche d'histoire

Si ses origines remontent à l’Antiquité, la propriété est littéralement ancrée dans la famille Rigal depuis l’achat et la fondation du domaine en 1906 par Louis Rigal.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Ma plus belle surprise fut de découvrir le soir de mon mariage le 30 mai 1998 la Réserve de Laurence 1995 que ma mère m'avait fait la surprise de créer pour cette occasion ». - Laurence Rigal, vigneron


De l’Antiquité à la Révolution

Durant l’Antiquité, la villa Manzanetto est une grande villa romaine de 1000 ha de polyculture. Au 9e siècle, le roi de France Charles le Chauve en fait cadeau à son neveu, et quelque neuf siècles plus tard, le château brûle pendant la Révolution.

 
La renaissance du domaine

En 1850, Jacques Sarda reçoit un diplôme d’honneur de la région, après avoir transformé le domaine en propriété agri-viticole. Louis Rigal le rachète en 1906 et créé les base du domaine actuel. Son fils prénommé Louis également, prend la relève, relayé par  sa femme Françoise fin 1970. C’est désormais leur fille Laurence Rigal qui en est le vigneron.


Le Carignan Chef de fil

L’entrée du Domaine est plantée des plus vieilles vignes de Carignan. Âgées de plus de 80 ans, ces souches sont emblématiques de l’utilisation de la vinification en grappes entières, une méthode dont le Château du Grand Caumont est pionnier. L’ajout d’une part de vinification ces vignes anciennes dans chacune des cuvées AOP corbières génère des vins fruités, soyeux, avec beaucoup de rondeur et d’élégance.

Notre boutique de vins fins