Producer

Château Sainte-Roseline

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

Provence

Appellations

AOP Côtes de Provence

Founded

14TH century

Climate

Mediterranean

Soil composition

Limestone-clay

Vineyard

100 hectares in production

Agriculture

Sustainable, with “Vigneron Sustainable Development” certification underway

Production Volume

530,000 bottles; 65% rosé, 20% red and 15% white

Varieties Grown

Grenache Noir , Mourvedre

Ages of Vines

20 to 25 years

Behind the Wines

Aurélie Bertin-Teillaud

Since 2007, Aurélie Bertin-Teillaud has headed the vineyard that her father, Bernard Teillaud, took over in 1994. This was also the year Christophe Bernard arrived. Christophe still oversees the winemaking and now works alongside Aurélie. Their common goal is to produce distinctive, authentic, quality wines.  

Exceptional Setting …

Nature’s treasures accompanied by a rich heritage make this domaine a remarkable site, featuring a Cru Classé domaine, the landmark Roseline Chapel and of particular importance in Provence a natural spring.
Access the wines of this producer


Dreamlike Environment

Located near such regional splendours as the Gulf of Saint-Tropez and the Verdon Gorge, Château Sainte-Roseline stands at the heart of a park filled with centuries-old plane trees and sequoias surrounding a pond with a natural cascading spring. It is in this idyllic setting that Saint-Roseline’s grapes flourish.


Tribute to the Saintly Roseline

The site’s stunning beauty is apparent from the entrance and highlighted by vineyard plots along the road leading up to the castle. All this began in the 10th century with a copious spring that enabled a hermit named Roubaud to settle there. Over the years, an abbey was built and the pious, generous Roseline, prioress of the property from 1300 to 1329, left her mark on the local populace. Ever since, the vineyard has borne her name, in her honour.


Papal Founder and Viticultural Showpiece

The site became one of Provence’s leading vineyards in the 14th century under the influence of the Bishop of Fréjus—who would become Jean XXII, Pope of Avignon. The vineyard’s history thus stretches back seven centuries. In the late 1900s, Bernard Teillaud took the property’s reins to make it a showpiece of Meridional winemaking—as well as an important artistic venue. Celebrated architect Jean-Michel Wilmotte modernized the castle, in keeping with the site’s majesty.


Ancestral, Innovative Domaine

The Teillaud family is not only committed to maintaining the domaine’s heritage, but is focused on the future with a view to continuous improvement. Installation of a gravity-fed winemaking facility in the cellar, for example, preserves the harvest and protects it from oxidation. This technique produces clear juices for rosés and silkier tannins for reds.


Local Taste

Through their love of the region, winemakers are naturally inclined to work with local producers and sample local specialties. The red Cuvée La Chapelle goes exceptionally well with lamb, the 100% Rolle white is a perfect fit with Saint-Jacques carpaccio and the rosés are perfectly suited to salmon filets.


Treasure in the Cloister

Visitors who have a chance to taste wines at the castle should also be sure to take a stroll through the cloister’s arches and discover an almost 140-year old Carignan vine plant at the base of an ornate pillar of roses!

Producteur

Château Sainte-Roseline

Pays

FRANCE

Région

Provence

Appellations

AOP Côtes de Provence

Fondation

XIVe siècle

Climat

Méditerranéen

Sol

Sol argilo-calcaire

Vignoble

100 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée et en cours de labellisation Vigneron Développement Durable

Production

530 000 bouteilles; 65 % de vins rosés, 20 % de rouges, 15 % de blancs

Cépages

Grenache noir , Mourvèdre

Âge des vignes

20 à 25 ans

En lumière

Aurélie Bertin-Teillaud

Depuis 2007, Aurélie Bertin-Teillaud est à la tête du vignoble qu’avait repris en main son père Bernard Teillaud en 1994. Dès cette année-là, Christophe Bernard arrive au domaine. Il est toujours responsable des vinifications et œuvre désormais au côté d’Aurélie. Leur objectif commun est d’offrir des vins aux caractères distinctifs, authentiques et de qualité.

À la source de l’exception…

Les trésors de la nature alliés aux richesses patrimoniales ont fait de ce domaine un lieu d’exception. Trois éléments remarquables en ressortent : un domaine Cru Classé, une chapelle Site classé et une source d’eau naturelle, particulièrement précieuse en Provence.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Un environnement de rêve

Situé à proximité des splendeurs régionales dont La baie de Saint-Tropez et les Gorges du Verdon, le Château Sainte-Roseline s’élève au cœur d’un parc planté de platanes bicentenaires et de séquoias enracinés aux abords d’un bassin. L’eau de la source naturelle y coule en cascade et c’est aux abords de ce cadre idyllique que les vignes s’épanouissent.


En hommage à la généreuse Roseline

La beauté du site se dévoile dès l’entrée du domaine, souligné par des parcelles qui longent la route menant au château. Tout a commencé autour d’une source abondante, qui conduit un ermite nommé Roubaud à s’y retirer au Xe siècle. Au fil des ans, une abbaye y est bâtie et la pieuse et généreuse Roseline, Mère Prieure du lieu de 1300 à 1329 laisse une trace indéniable à la population locale. C’est en son honneur que le domaine porte son nom depuis cette époque.


Pape fondateur et fleuron viticole

Le site devient l’un des premiers vignobles provençaux au XIVe siècle, sous l’impulsion de l’évêque de Fréjus, futur Jean XXII, Pape en Avignon. Le domaine compte donc sept siècles d’histoire et c’est à la fin du XXe siècle que Bernard Teillaud prend les rênes de la propriété. Il entreprend d’en faire un fleuron de la viticulture méridionale doublée d’un haut lieu artistique. Le célèbre architecte Jean-Michel Wilmotte est alors chargé de redistribuer les espaces du château tout en respectant la noblesse du lieu.


Un domaine ancestral et novateur

Sensible à la préservation de son patrimoine, la famille Teillaud est aussi tournée vers l’avenir dans un but d’amélioration perpétuel. Ainsi, la mise en place dans la cave de la gravité préserve la vendange et protège de l’oxydation. Cette pratique permet d’obtenir des jus clairs pour les rosés et des tanins plus soyeux pour les rouges.


Le goût des produits locaux

L’amour de leur région incite naturellement les vignerons à travailler avec des producteurs locaux et à savourer des plats typiques du coin. La cuvée Chapelle rouge s’accorde d’ailleurs à merveille avec l’agneau, le vin blanc 100 % Rolle avec le carpaccio de Saint-Jacques et les rosés avec les filets de saumon.

 
Un trésor sous le cloître

Les visiteurs qui auront la chance de déguster les vins sur place ne manqueront pas de se promener sous les ogives du cloître et de découvrir à la base d’un des piliers ornés de rosiers un pied de Carignan de près de cent quarante ans!