Producer

Cognac Frapin

Country

FRANCE

Appellations

Grande Champagne 1er Cru de Cognac

Founded

1270 for the vineyard, late 18th century for the brand

Climate

Oceanic

Soil composition

Crumbly limestone-clay soil that perfectly regulates humidity and temperature.

Vineyard

240 hectares in production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

500,000 bottles—100% made from distilled white wine

Varieties Grown

Ugni blanc

Ages of Vines

Average of 20 years

Behind the Wines

Patrice Piveteau

Born and raised in Charente, Patrice completed his studies in viticulture, winemaking and business administration before joining Cognac Frapin in 1991, where he established sustainable vine growing practices. Two decades later, Patrice became the company’s CEO and Cellar Master. Patrice ensures the consistent quality of all cognacs bearing the Frapin brand.

The Frapins: 20 Generations of Winemakers and Distillers

“Frapin cognacs stand out for their exceptional quality, characterized by subtle, misty notes of balsam and mocha, with a smooth, lasting finish. I adore these exceptional, almost creamy, cognacs!”
- Denis Marsan, Director of Business Development, Galleon
Access the wines of this producer


A Remarkable Vineyard

The Frapin family came to Charente in 1270, initially as winegrowing proprietors, then as distillers and traders. The vineyard was replanted in 1880 by Pierre Frapin following the phylloxera epidemic, which destroyed the Folle Blanche planted in the hills. Only Ugni Blanc is grown today, entirely in Grande Champagne.   


Why a Grande Champagne Appellation for Cognac?

The Frapin vineyards consist of crumbly limestone soil, ensuring a perfect blend of humidity and temperature. These geological features are identical to those of Reims, in Champagne, the source of the appellation’s name. This outstanding land has all the qualities needed to grow excellent grapes through maturity. Frapin, with its 240 hectares, is the largest contiguous Grande Champagne vineyard.


The Frapin Touch

Distilled in Charentais copper pot stills, then poured into Limousin oak casks, Frapin cognacs are aged through a unique process alternating between periods in damp and dry cellars. This technique produces fine, elegant cognacs, enjoyed the world over.

Unique Tastings

“A tasting of 1870 Folle Blanche cognac [produced prior to the vineyard’s destruction by phylloxera] served in dame-jeannes in our venerable sampling room.”
Patrice Piveteau, CEO and Cellar Master.

 
Last but Not Least - An Author in the Family!

In the late 15th century, Anne-Catherine Frapin gave birth to a child destined to become a key figure in the humanistic literature of the Rennaissance—François Rabelais. The golden pen incorporated in the Frapin logo pays tribute to this illustrious family member—without whom the expression “divine bottle” would not exist.

 

Our fine wine Boutique

Producteur

Cognac Frapin

Pays

FRANCE

Appellations

Grande Champagne 1er Cru de Cognac

Fondation

1270 pour le vignoble, fin du 18e siècle pour la marque

Climat

Influence océanique

Sol

Argilo-calcaire friable qui permet une parfaite régulation de l’humidité et de la température.

Vignoble

240 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

500 000 bouteilles; 100 % de vin blanc distillé

Cépages

Ugni blanc

Âge des vignes

20 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Patrice Piveteau

Ce natif de la Charente a complété des études en viticulture, œnologie et gestion et administration des entreprises. En 1991, il a joint Cognac Frapin où il a implanté la culture raisonnée. Vingt ans plus tard, il est passé directeur général et maître de chai. On lui doit la constante de la qualité des cognacs de la marque Frapin.

Les Frapin : vignerons et distillateurs depuis 20 générations

« Les cognacs Frapin impressionnent par leur qualité et leur typicité. L’alcool se fond sous des notes subtiles et vaporeuses de balsamique et de moka, avec une finale longue et moelleuse. Des grands cognacs riches, presque onctueux. J’aime beaucoup! »
- Denis Marsan, directeur Développement des affaires, Galleon
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

 

Un vignoble remarquable

La famille Frapin s’est installée en Charente en 1270, d’abord en tant que propriétaires-viticulteurs, puis distillateurs et négociants. Le vignoble a été replanté en 1880 par Pierre Frapin après la crise du phylloxéra qui détruisit les coteaux plantés de folle-blanche. Aujourd’hui, on n’y élève que de l’ugni blanc, entièrement en Grande Champagne.


Pourquoi une appellation Grande Champagne pour le Cognac?

Le domaine Frapin est établi sur un sol de calcaire friable qui permet une parfaite régulation de l’humidité et de la température; ces composantes géologiques sont identiques à celles de Reims, en Champagne, d’où le nom de l’appellation. Ce terroir d’exception possède toutes les caractéristiques pour récolter un bon raisin à maturité. Frapin, avec ses 240 hectares, est le plus grand domaine d’un seul tenant de Grande Champagne.

 
La touche Frapin

Distillés dans des alambics charentais en cuivre rouge puis coulés dans des barriques en chêne du Limousin, les cognacs Frapin sont soumis au vieillissement selon une pratique unique, où l’on fait alterner les séjours entre chais humides et chais secs. Ce procédé permet d’obtenir des cognacs fins et élégants qui sont appréciés dans le monde entier.

 Un grand moment de dégustation

« La dégustation de Folle Blanche 1870 [avant la destruction du vignoble par le phylloxéra], un cognac en dame-jeanne servi dans notre salle de dégustation centenaire. » -  Patrice Piveteau, directeur général et maître de chais

 
Un auteur dans la famille, et pas le moindre!

C’est à la fin du 15e siècle que Anne-Catherine Frapin donna naissance à celui qui allait devenir une figure marquante de la littérature humaniste de la Renaissance : François Rabelais. La plume d’or qui fait partie de la signature Frapin rend directement hommage à cet illustre membre de la famille sans qui l’expression de «dive bouteille» n’existerait pas…

 

 

  

Notre boutique de vins fins