Producer

Col Solare

Country

UNITED STATES

Region of production

Washington

Appellations

Red Mountain

Founded

2007

Climate

Dry, with major temperature variations between day and night

Soil composition

Sandy soil ranging from light to compact, with high concentrations of calcium carbonate and a high pH. Well drained.

Vineyard

60 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

132,600 bottles; 100% reds

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Malbec, Merlot, Syrah

Ages of Vines

10 years

Behind the Wines

Darel Allwine

Upon retiring from the U.S. Air Force, the aptly-named Darel Allwine returned to his native Washington to dedicate himself to the art of winegrowing. He learned the ropes—and quickly made a name for himself—at Columbia Crest before joining Col Solare as their winemaker, first working alongside Marcus Notaro and then on his own as of 2013.

With a sensational red mountain come exceptional red wines

Access the wines of this producer

Meeting in the desert

Col Solare is the result of a partnership between Château Ste. Michelle, the oldest winegrowing estate in Washington, and Tuscan winery Marchesi Antinori. The coming together of two leaders in the field and two pools of expertise has led to the creation of a winery that is nothing short of spectacular.

American soil, Italian approach

Not only did Antinori give the operation its Italian name — literally “shining hill” — it also endowed the vineyard with expert know-how on vine planting. In this barren landscape bathed in abundant sunshine, nurturing grapes under the blazing sun is a true science. As in Umbria and Tuscany, the vine stocks have been aligned with the movement of the sun. Col Solare vintners adhere to the Antinori philosophy, which revolves around simplicity, versatility and efficiency in the pursuit of quality.

A small but grandiose appellation

The Red Mountain appellation covers a mere 240 hectares, but it is said to be the warmest in Washington, with the sun heating the land all the way through to dusk. Abundant light and warm southerly winds combined with cool nights and controlled irrigation create the perfect conditions for grapes to ripen, concentrating their flavour and tannins. At Col Solare, the 2011 vintage was the first to bear this appellation.

Meeting Allwine

In April 2016, we had the chance to visit the signature Col Solare winery and discover the superb 2007, 2009 and 2010 vintages in the company of winemaker Darel Allwine. Tasting these wines and assessing their exceptional quality, including their ageing potential, while watching the sun set over the valley was a truly unforgettable experience. And a revelation.

Producteur

Col Solare

Pays

ÉTATS-UNIS

Région

Washington

Appellations

Red Mountain

Fondation

2007

Climat

Sec, grand écart de température entre le jour et la nuit

Sol

Sol sablonneux léger à compact, avec haute teneur en carbonate de calcium et pH élevé, bien drainé

Vignoble

60 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

132 600 bouteilles ;
100 % de vins rouges

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Malbec, Merlot, Syrah

Âge des vignes

10 ans

En lumière

Darel Allwine

Le bien-nommé Darel Allwine a regagné son Washington natal à sa retraite de la U.S. Air Force afin de se consacrer à sa passion pour la viticulture. Après avoir appris les différentes activités liées au vin chez Columbia Crest (où il s’est rapidement distingué), il est devenu vinificateur de Col Solare en tandem avec Marcus Notaro, puis en solo en 2013.

À montagne rouge sensationnelle, vins rouges exceptionnels

Niché dans la vallée de Columbia, le vignoble Col Solare jouit de l’un des plus beaux terroirs de la région favorables à la culture des rouges bordelais, dont le cabernet sauvignon.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Rencontre dans le désert

Col Solare est le résultat d’un partenariat entre le Château Ste. Michelle, le plus ancien domaine viticole de Washington, et la maison toscane Marchesi Antinori. La rencontre de deux chefs de file, l’union de deux expertises, la fondation d’un domaine spectaculaire.


Sol américain, philosophie italienne

Antinori, en plus de donner son nom italien à l’exploitation - littéralement « brillante colline » -, a notamment apporté son expertise sur la façon de planter les vignes. Car dans ce paysage dépouillé où le soleil abonde, soustraire les vignes aux rayons ardents est une science. Comme en Ombrie et en Toscane, on a donc aligné les ceps selon la course du soleil. Les vinificateurs de Col Solare poursuivent aussi la philosophie d’Antinori, qui s’appuie sur la simplicité, la polyvalence et l’efficacité dans la poursuite de la qualité.


Une petite appellation… grandiose

En termes de superficie, l’appellation Red Mountain couvre à peine 240 hectares, mais on dit que c’est la plus chaleureuse de Washington, avec le soleil qui chauffe la terre jusqu’à la tombée du jour. Cette lumière abondante combinée à un souffle tiède venant du sud, à des nuits fraîches et à l’irrigation contrôlée favorisent un parfait mûrissement des raisins, leur concentration en arômes et une richesse en tannins. Chez Col Solare, le millésime 2011 a été le premier à porter cette appellation.


Nos impressions sur les vins d’Allwine

C’est en avril 2016 que nous avons eu le bonheur de visiter le vignoble signature de Col Solare et de découvrir, en compagnie du vinificateur Darel Allwine, de superbes millésimes 2007, 2009 et 2010. Déguster ces vins et en apprécier la grande qualité (dont leur capacité de vieillissement) dans ce cadre enchanteur qu’est la vallée au soleil couchant fut une expérience mémorable. Et une révélation.