Producer

Daniel Pi

Country

ARGENTINA

Region of production

MENDOZA

Appellations

Mendoza

Founded

1986

Climate

Dry to semi-arid, with major temperature differences between day and night

Soil composition

Alluvial soil with rocky sub-soil. Presence of sand, silt and clay.

Vineyard

Imperfecto: 20 hectares
Tres 14: 6 hectares

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

4,500 bottles, primarily reds

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Malbec, Merlot, Sangiovese

Ages of Vines

8 to 20 years

Behind the Wines

Daniel Pi

He is certainly one of the most talented and knowledgeable oenologists in Argentina, with a remarkable career and an internationally respected reputation. As the lead oenologist at Trapiche, he also makes his own vintages under his own name.

Great, symbolic wines

Daniel Pi, who manages operations at Trapiche, produces outstanding garage wines under his own name. Made with Malbec and Cabernet Franc, they’re cultivated without any machinery, and offer incredible texture complemented with spicy clove and vanilla on the nose, and a dense and full-bodied palate.
Access the wines of this producer

Meeting with a passionate oenologist

We met Daniel Pi in February 2015. He gave us a tour of his vines and Trapiche’s historic cellar in Mendoza. It was a day marked with generosity. We were given the opportunity to try the creations produced by this man who, we discovered, was not just the estate’s oenologist, but also the vintner behind his own vintages. A revelation.

The biodynamic dream

As the lead oenologist of a huge estate comprising several vineyards, Daniel dreamed of growing grapes on small plots, using artisanal methods to develop wines marked with the character and minerals of the Uco Valley, which lies at the foot of the Andes. Trapiche gave him the chance to produce his own vintages in his free time, with the help of a small team.

The brief story of a perfectly imperfect wine

This team included Daniel’s son, to whom he left written notes indicating what needed to be done during the day, while Daniel was at work at Trapiche. It was a rather unsteady work method, with a high risk of error. “It’s not a big deal if things aren’t done perfectly,” said the oenologist to his son. “We all start by learning.” In the end, their first vintage was critically acclaimed, crowning the success of this father-son initiative. The imperfect wine was simply perfect. What better name than “Imperfecto”!

Big numbers, one wine

If anything can be said about Daniel Pi, it’s that he’s a logical thinker with a great sense of humour. When it came time to name his Malbec made from older vines, he chose a moniker known around the world since ancient times: Tres 14. As in 3.14. As in Pi!

Producteur

Daniel Pi Wines

Pays

ARGENTINE

Région

MENDOZA

Appellations

Mendoza

Fondation

1986

Climat

Sec jusqu’à semi-aride, grand écart de température entre le jour et la nuit

Sol

Sol alluvial, sous-sol rocheux, présence de sédiments sableux, de limon et d’argile

Vignoble

Imperfecto : 20 hectares
Tres 14 : 6 hectares

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

4500 bouteilles; majoritairement des vins rouges

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Malbec, Merlot, Sangiovese

Âge des vignes

Entre 8 et 20 ans

En lumière

Daniel Pi

Il est certainement l’un des œnologues les plus talentueux et connaisseurs d’Argentine, avec une carrière remarquable et une réputation mondialement respectée. Œnologue en chef chez Trapiche, il élabore aussi sous son nom ses propres cuvées.

De grands vins symboliques

Daniel Pi, maître d’œuvre au domaine Trapiche, produit sous son propre nom de superbes vins de garage, faits de malbec et de cabernet franc cultivés sans aucune machinerie. Ces vins, à la texture incroyable, au nez épicé de girofle et de vanille, au palais dense et rond, sont des merveilles.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Rencontre avec un œnologue passionné

C’est en février 2015 que nous avons rencontré Daniel Pi, qui nous a fait visiter les vignes et le cellier historique de Trapiche, à Mendoza. Une rencontre généreuse, où nous avons eu le grand honneur de déguster les vins de cet homme que l’on connaissait comme œnologue en chef de la maison, mais pas comme vinificateur de ses propres cuvées. Une révélation.


Un rêve, la biodynamie

Œnologue en chef d’un très vaste domaine composé de plusieurs vignobles, Daniel caressait le rêve de cultiver de petites parcelles selon des méthodes artisanales, afin d’obtenir un vin racé, minéral, le reflet du terroir de la vallée Uco, au pied des Andes. Trapiche lui a donné la chance de produire ses propres cuvées, ce qu’il s’est employé à faire, à temps perdu, avec une très petite équipe. 


La petite histoire du vin parfaitement imparfait

Dans cette équipe, il y avait son fils à qui Daniel laissait des notes écrites sur ce qu’il devait faire dans la journée, pendant que lui œuvrait chez Trapiche. Une méthode de travail un peu bancale, avec des risques de fausses manœuvres à la clé. « Ce n’est pas grave si ce n’est pas parfait », aurait dit l’œnologue à son fils. « Au début, on apprend. » Il s’est avéré que leur premier millésime a été acclamé par la critique, ce qui a couronné de succès ce projet père-fils. Le vin imparfait était… parfait. Le nom d’Imperfecto est resté. 


Des chiffres et un vin

On pourra dire de Daniel Pi qu’il a de la suite dans les idées et qu’il ne manque pas d’humour. Lorsqu’est venu le temps de baptiser son malbec fait de vieilles vignes, il lui a bien donné un nom sur mesure, connu à travers le monde depuis l’Antiquité : Tres 14. Comme dans 3,14. Comme dans Pi!