Producer

Domaine Coillot Bernard Père et Fils

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

Burgundy, Côte de Nuits

Appellations

14, including Marsannay Village

Founded

1955

Climate

Continental

Soil composition

Clay-limestone, with marls

Vineyard

12 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable and organic

Production Volume

70,000 bottles;
94% reds,
6% whites

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

More than 50 years

Behind the Wines

Christophe Coillot

Christophe Coillot is both the winegrower and agricultural manager at the estate established in 1955 by his father Bernard. With a hands-off approach to farming, this craftsman prefers to limit grape production so that he can focus on growing quality fruit and caring for the vines.

Wine fit for the king of Marsannay

Bernard Coillot crafted the 2003 Marsannay Les Boivins, a wine much greater than the sum of its parts. A decade later, he bowled us over with his 2013 vintage. And the up-and-coming vintages look very promising too!
Access the wines of this producer

True artisans

In the heart of Marsannay, this father-and-son team cultivate small plots with careful attention. These few hectares of limestone generate extraordinary wines that are music to the mouth.

The art of waiting for perfection

Whereas some winemakers might harvest their grapes early to avoid fall’s heavy rains and hailstorms, the Coillots keep an eye on the sky and wait for their grapes to reach full ripeness. And the risk pays off for these meticulous growers, who have made a name for themselves among oenophiles for producing high quality wines characterized by mature fruit. 

 Their most prized plot

We agree with Christophe Coillot that his most appealing plot is without a doubt Les Boivins. Located on a hillside with eastern exposure, it’s at the doorstep of Côte de Nuits and a stone’s throw from Dijon. We fell in love with the site when visiting the family estate. Interestingly, the soil is not easy to work—the fact that the Coillot duo manages to extract such superb wines from it is truly admirable.

Marsannay Les Boivins: The king of wines

Rich. Deep. Gourmet. Luxurious. Preparing a fair description of Marsannay Les Boivins involves digging deep into regal vocabulary. “This wine is very distinctive and demonstrates amplitude, density and maturity,” says our expert Denis Marsan. “It is the very essence of Côte de Nuits and the purest expression of Pinot Noir.”

The perfect pair for beefy meals

It should come as no surprise that this powerful wine pairs perfectly with stewed dishes like beef Bourguignon, one of France’s signature dishes. You also can’t go wrong by serving it with beef ribs basted in a red wine reduction.

Producteur

Domaine Coillot Bernard Père et Fils

Pays

FRANCE

Région

Bourgogne, Côte de Nuits

Appellations

14, dont Marsannay Village

Fondation

1955

Climat

Continental

Sol

Sol argilo-calcaire, avec présence de marnes

Vignoble

12 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée et biologique

Production

70 000 bouteilles;
94 % de vins rouges,
6 % de blancs

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

Plus de 50 ans

En lumière

Christophe Coillot

Vigneron et chef des cultures au domaine fondé en 1955 par son père, Bernard, Christophe Coillot est un artisan qui prône une culture peu interventionniste. Les rendements au vignoble sont limités pour privilégier la qualité autant du raisin que du travail dans les vignes.

Un vin de roi à Marsannay

Bernard Coillot a produit un Marsannay Les Boivins 2003 plus grand que nature. Une décennie plus tard, il nous a complètement renversés avec son millésime 2013. Et les prochains millésimes sont très prometteurs!
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Artisans du vin

Au cœur de Marsannay, des vignerons père et fils cultivent leurs petites parcelles de vignes avec autant de soin qu’on mettrait à entretenir son salon. De ces quelques hectares de sol calcaire sont issus des vins splendides qu’on déguste avec grand plaisir.


De l’art d’attendre la maturité parfaite

Alors que d’autres viticulteurs s’empresseront parfois de vendanger pour éviter les fortes pluies et les grêlons de l’automne, chez les Coillot, on surveille le ciel du coin de l’œil et on attend que le raisin atteigne sa parfaite maturité. Le risque est payant pour ces vignerons rigoureux : la grande maturité de leur matière est connue des œnophiles qui apprécient l’impeccable qualité de leurs vins. 


La parcelle la plus admirée

Autant pour Christophe Coillot que pour nous, la parcelle qui vaut le détour est sans conteste Les Boivins. Située en coteau, exposée à l’est, elle est aux portes de la Côte de Nuits, à un jet de pierre de Dijon. Ce lieu-dit extraordinaire a été notre coup de cœur lors de notre visite au domaine familial. Or, ces sols ne sont pas faciles à travailler : que le tandem Coillot en tire un si grand vin force l’admiration.

Marsannay Les Boivins : un vin de roi

Riche. Profond. Gourmand. Luxuriant. Pour décrire Marsannay Les Boivins à sa juste valeur, il faut puiser dans un vocabulaire royal et multiplier les épithètes. « C’est un vin avec beaucoup de race, d’amplitude, de densité et de maturité », exprime notre expert, Denis Marsan. « Ce vin, c’est l’essence même de la Côte de Nuits, un pinot noir dans sa plus pure expression. »


Un accord mets-vins à l’effet…bœuf!

On ne s’étonnera pas que ce vin puissant s’allie parfaitement avec des plats longuement mijotés, comme le bœuf bourguignon, fleuron de la gastronomie française. À moins de le faire copiner avec une succulente côte de bœuf sauce marchand de vin, gage d’un repas réussi.