Producer

Domaine des Varinelles

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

Loire Valley

Appellations

Saumur-Champigny

Founded

1850

Climate

Temperate, with oceanic influences

Soil composition

Clay-limestone, loam, sandy, flint

Vineyard

42 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Organic (with Ecocert certification)

Production Volume

100,000 bottles, of which 60% are reds

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Chardonnay, Chenin, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

40 years old, on average; the oldest are 116 years old

Behind the Wines

Laurent et Nicolas Daheuiller

Domaine des Varinelles has been a family business for five generations. The vineyards are now owned and operated by a father and son, who act as winemaker and cultivation expert, respectively.

The best of Saumur-Champigny

Access the wines of this producer

Domaine des Varinelles is a small but prestigious family-run estate that produces exceptional Saumur and Crémant de Loire.

Happiness in a bottle

Saumur-Champigny wines are made predominantly from Cabernet Franc grapes. Domaine des Varinelles reds owe their spiciness, notes of licorice and hints of raspberry and cherry to this grape. These light-bodied, highly aromatic and easy-to-drink wines are the ideal choice for any celebration. Our experts agree that the Daheuiller family masterfully taps the very best qualities of this variety. Their products are a true embodiment of happiness.

 A journey to the Loire Valley

We discovered Domaine des Varinelles wines in 2015, thanks to a knowledgeable Saumur local. "If you visit the Loire Valley, pop in to the Daheuiller estate just outside Varrains village," he recommended. We did just that and were absolutely amazed by the Saumur-Champigny that put Domaine des Varinelles on the map. Making wines of this quality for such a reasonable price is a true art. You might say it was a perfect way to kick off our trip.  

A taste sensation

Our tastebuds were once again tantalized by an incredible discovery, the perfectly-crafted 2011 Vieilles Vignes. This Cabernet Franc is grown on vines planted in 1900 and offers hints of wet leather and balsamic notes. A fruit profile of jammy blackberry is reminiscent of brandied cherries. This complex, full-bodied, deep-hued wine is a veritable taste sensation!

Caves used as wine cellars

The historic town of Saumur is situated at the confluence of the Loire and other major rivers. Its early settlements date back to the 1st century. Saumur’s fairytale castle has stood on the hilltop for over a thousand years. It was made of "tuffeau," a type of chalky limestone extracted from the Loire Valley. Tunnels and caves dug out during the mining process have since become wine cellars. Crémant de Loire is aged within the spectacular chalky cellars of Domaine des Varinelles, in a process similar to Champagne. 

Most memorable wine-tasting experience  

“A 1964 Saumur-Champigny shared with Olivier Poussier, France’s best sommelier in 1990 and the world’s best sommelier in 2000. I chose the 1964 vintage because Olivier was born in the same year.” — Laurent Daheuiller

Producteur

Domaine des Varinelles

Pays

FRANCE

Région

Vallée de la Loire

Appellations

Saumur-Champigny

Fondation

1850

Climat

Tempéré, d’influence océanique

Sol

Argilo-calcaire, limon, sablonneux, silex

Vignoble

42 hectares en production

Agriculture

Biologique, certifiée Ecocert

Production

100 000 bouteilles;
60 % de vins rouges

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Chardonnay, Chenin, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

40 ans en moyenne; les plus vieilles vignes ont 116 ans

En lumière

Laurent et Nicolas Daheuiller

Père et fils travaillent ensemble au Domaine des Varinelles, une exploitation familiale depuis cinq générations. Le premier est vinificateur, le second, maître des cultures. Une affaire de famille!

Le summum de Saumur - Champigny

Le Domaine des Varinelles est un prestigieux petit domaine familial qui produit de fabuleux Saumur et Crémant de Loire.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Pleins feux sur des vins bonheur

Le cabernet franc entre à 100 % dans la production du Saumur-Champigny. Aux Varinelles, il donne aux vins un côté épicé, des notes de réglisse, des arômes de framboise et de cassis. Légers, très aromatiques et faciles à boire, ce sont des vins de fête. « Les Daheuiller ont su soutirer la quintessence de ce cépage », soulignent nos experts. Ils font de véritables vins bonheur.


En passant par la Loire

Nous avons découvert le Domaine des Varinelles en 2015 sur recommandation d’un fin connaisseur de la région, natif de Saumur. « Si vous passez par la Loire, nous a-t-il dit, allez donc voir les Daheuiller, du côté de Varrains. » Le Saumur-Champigny que nous y avons goûté — avec lequel le domaine a fait sa réputation — nous a renversés. Faire un vin de cette qualité pour le prix proposé est du grand art. Voilà qui commençait très bien notre visite… 


Quand le vin est une gourmandise

La dégustation s’est poursuivie avec une découverte éblouissante : la cuvée Vieilles Vignes 2011, superbement faite. Un cabernet franc issu de vignes plantées en 1900, riche, possédant des notes très fines de cuir humide, avec un côté balsamique, un côté fruits noirs presque confituré évoquant les cerises à l’eau de vie. Un vin où il y a de la matière, de l’extraction au niveau de la couleur, de l’épaisseur et de la complexité. Une véritable gourmandise!    


Des caves creusées dans le roc

Saumur, située aux confluents de la Loire et d’autres grands fleuves, est une cité dont les origines remontent au 1er siècle. Son château de conte de fées, bâti au sommet du coteau il y a 1000 ans, est fait de tuffeau, cette pierre calcaire extraite du sol de la vallée de la Loire. Qui dit extraction dit galeries et caves : celles du Domaine des Varinelles ne sont rien de moins que spectaculaires. On y élève un Crémant de Loire comme on le fait dans les crayères de Champagne.

Un grand moment de dégustation

« Un Saumur-Champigny 1964, dégusté en compagnie d’Olivier Poussier, élu Meilleur sommelier de France en 1990 et Meilleur sommelier du monde en 2000. Ce millésime marque l’année de sa naissance. » - Laurent Daheuiller