Producer

Domaine Franck Millet

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

Loire Valley

Appellations

Sancerre and Menetou-Salon

Founded

1991

Climate

Temperate oceanic

Soil composition

Limestone

Vineyard

23 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

180,000 bottles;
80% White Sancerre,
15% Red Sancerre,
5% Rosé Sancerre

Varieties Grown

Pinot Noir , Sauvignon Blanc

Ages of Vines

30 years old, on average

Behind the Wines

Franck Millet

As a wine-grower, wine-maker and agricultural manager, Franck Millet oversees all viticultural production at the estate that bears his name. He is the third generation to operate a vineyard on this land, where he also produces AC Menetou-Salon reds and whites with his wife Betty.

A particularly tasteful setting

Access the wines of this producer

Domaine Franck Millet is located in Bué Commune, a small wine-growing village that dates back hundreds of years and offers the perfect conditions for producing outstanding wines. 

Abundant beauty

The diversity of the terroir is what gives the white Sauvignons their mineral notes and the red and rosé Pinot Noirs their impressive depth. The spectacular local terrain features numerous hills, slopes and even a natural crater that shelters the vines while providing exposure to sunlight. The area is characterized by a temperate oceanic climate, but warm winds send the mercury rising. Welcome to Sancerre!

A personal recommendation

How did we chance upon Domaine Franck Millet? We were introduced by Agnès Paquet, a Burgundy-based winemaker who is close friends with Betty Millet, the Sancerre producer in Bué. As with everything in life, nothing is better than a personal recommendation. We first met the Millets at a wine expo in 2015. This led to a visit to their winery, which we quickly concluded was one of the finest in the area.

A breathtaking site

The property owned by Franck and Betty Millet is exceptionally beautiful. One spot in particular caught our eye: a sun-drenched plot with Bué Village as its backdrop. As we wandered through it, we remarked that it would be impossible to make bad wine with grapes grown on such a magical site. To prove our point, their White Sancerre earned the gold medal at the Concours Général Agricole de Paris in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Distinguished wines

Franck Millet white Sancerre wines are tremendously precise, with pink grapefruit and white flowers on the nose and brisk, clean acidity. The minerality is a direct reflection of Bué's clay-limestone soil.

How to pair a Sancerre

What better combination than to pair a Sancerre with other locally grown products? Franck recommends his white Sancerre and a salad topped with Crottin de Chavignol (AC) goat cheese and Sancerre ham. That said, since the salinity of this vineyard's wines is reminiscent of the ocean, it is also an excellent match with breaded fish filets and shellfish.

Our fine wine Boutique

Producteur

Domaine Franck Millet

Pays

FRANCE

Région

Vallée de la Loire

Appellations

Sancerre et Menetou-Salon

Fondation

1991

Climat

Tempéré océanique

Sol

Calcaire

Vignoble

23 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

180 000 bouteilles;
80 % de sancerre blanc,
15 % de sancerre rouge,
5 % de sancerre rosé

Cépages

Pinot noir , Sauvignon blanc

Âge des vignes

30 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Franck Millet

Vigneron, responsable des vinifications et chef de culture, Franck Millet supervise absolument toute la production viticole du domaine qui porte aujourd'hui son nom, et dont il représente la troisième génération d'exploitants. Avec sa femme, Betty, il élabore également des vins AOC Menetou-Salon rouges et blancs.

Bu et vu à Bué

Le Domaine Franck Millet est situé dans la commune de Bué, petite bourgade vigneronne plusieurs fois centenaire. On y retrouve les conditions idéales pour la production de vins d'exception.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

 

La beauté d'un site

Un terroir diversifié, qui favorise autant la minéralité des vins blancs issus de sauvignon que la profondeur des vins rouges et rosés issus du pinot noir. Un site naturel incroyable, fait de collines, de coteaux et même d'un cirque naturel qui exposent les vignes tout en les protégeant. Un climat tempéré océanique réchauffé par des vents chauds. Bienvenue en Sancerre! 


Tes amis sont mes amis!

Comment avons-nous découvert le Domaine Franck Millet? Tout simplement par l'entremise d'une amie, Agnès Paquet, viticultrice en Bourgogne, elle-même très copine avec Betty Millet, productrice de Sancerre à Bué. Ici, l'expression « Tes amis sont mes amis » a pris tout son sens. Après avoir fait connaissance avec les Millet lors d'une exposition vinicole en 2015, nous sommes allés les visiter à leur vignoble, que nous classons volontiers parmi les plus grands domaines de la région.


Une parcelle à couper le souffle

L'exploitation de Franck et Betty Millet est d'une beauté rare. Une parcelle du vignoble revêt un charme particulier à nos yeux : celle qui est exposée au soleil, face au village de Bué. En la parcourant, il nous est venu à l'esprit qu'il était impossible de faire de mauvais vins avec des raisins issus d'un tel site. Les récompenses le prouvent : le domaine a remporté, pour son Sancerre blanc, trois médailles d'or au Concours Général Agricole de Paris en 2012, 2013 et 2014.


Des vins racés

On trouve beaucoup de précision dans le Sancerre blanc de Franck Millet. Ce vin possède des arômes de pamplemousse rose et de fleurs blanches; une acidité très tendue, franche et droite; une minéralité très typée des sols argilo-calcaires de Bué. 


Marier un Sancerre avec…

Y a-t-il mariage plus parfait que celui composé de purs produits du pays? Pour Franck, c'est une évidence : son Sancerre blanc ira parfaitement avec une salade de crottin de Chavignol (AOC) et de jambon de Sancerre. Cela dit, comme la salinité présente dans les vins du domaine évoque l'océan, l'alliage sera tout aussi heureux avec des poissons en friture, des coquillages et des crustacés.  ​