Producer

Domaine Nathalie et Gilles Fèvre

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

Burgundy, Chablis

Appellations

Chablis, Chablis 1er Cru, Chablis Grand Cru

Founded

2004

Climate

Semi-continental

Soil composition

Kimmeridgian clay-limestone marl, with small fossilized oysters and mussels

Vineyard

50 hectares under production

Agriculture

Sustainable, with Haute Valeur Environnementale certification

Production Volume

150,000 bottles,
100% white wine

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay

Ages of Vines

15 to 20 years, on average for the villages;
50 to 55 years for the Premier Crus and Grand Crus

Behind the Wines

Nathalie and Gilles Fèvre

Nathalie and Gilles met studying oenology at the University of Bourgogne, in Dijon. Nathalie spent 10 years as the oenologist at La Chablisienne, where she had the chance to produce various Premier Crus and Grand Crus. She and Gilles have since established their own winery, where she is in charge of winemaking and he takes care of grape growing.

Five generations of winemakers

Access the wines of this producer

The pride of the winery is the Chablis 1er Cru Vaulorent. Marcel Fèvre, Gilles’ great-grandfather, planted the vines here in 1955. Adjacent to the Grand Crus, this plot is considered exceptional terroir, and yields generous and well-developed wines with outstanding character and finesse.

A long family tradition

The Fèvre line stretches as far back as 1745, and each generation counts at least one family member working in the field of winemaking: winegrowers, oenologists, nursery managers, agricultural engineers—even a barrel-maker! Let’s take a closer look at this celebrated family of wine producers from Chablis and their superb estate.

Paradise in Chablis

The estate dates back to the 1900s, long before it carried Nathalie and Gilles Fèvre’s names. Marcel Fèvre established the vineyard and his successors expanded it by acquiring three prestigious plots. It’s a beautiful spot, and today it includes three Premier Crus (Fourchaume, Mont de Milieu and Vaulorent) and some Grand Crus vines at Les Preuses. As one of the seven Grand Crus of Chablis, it boasts some outstanding qualities, including its climate, hillside location with south-western exposure and deep soil that allows the vines grown deep roots and draw on the best of the terroir. Nathalie uses her skill to create wines with a powerful attack that are silky and creamy on the palate.

A great respect for the environment

Gilles started implementing sustainable agricultural techniques in a most unusual fashion: he peppered his vines with typhlodromus mites taken from cherry trees as a way of getting rid of spiders that were harming his crops. This was the beginning of a new style of agriculture at the Fèvre estate… and illustrates how important it is to innovate while preserving knowledge that’s been passed down from one generation to the next. Gilles and Nathalie’s daughter Julie, who is both an agricultural engineer and oenologist, brings new energy and ideas to the family operation. Since 2015, their combined efforts to implement environmentally responsible practices has earned the estate an Haute Valeur Environnementale certification.

Dedicated to the community

Galleon has a deep appreciation for people who are making a difference in the wine community, and the Fèvre family is an excellent example. Nathalie is a member of Femmes et Vins de Bourgogne, an association of women winemakers in Burgundy, and both she and Gilles are active in various organizations that aim to protect and develop the Chablis appellation, such as the Union des Grands Crus de Chablis.

Most memorable wine-tasting experience

“A 2005 Chablis 1er Cru Vaulorent. It’s one of the most exceptional vintages of the past 10 years—maybe even the most exceptional!” — Nathalie Fèvre

Producteur

Domaine Nathalie et Gilles Fèvre

Pays

FRANCE

Région

Bourgogne, Chablis

Appellations

Chablis, Chablis 1er Cru, Chablis Grand Cru

Fondation

2004

Climat

Semi-continental

Sol

Marnes argilo-calcaires du Kimméridgien, renfermant des fossiles de petites huîtres et de moules

Vignoble

50 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée, certification Haute Valeur Environnementale

Production

150 000 bouteilles;
100 % de vins blancs

Cépages

Chardonnay

Âge des vignes

15 à 20 ans en moyenne pour les villages;
50 à 55 ans pour les premiers et grands crus

En lumière

Nathalie et Gilles Fèvre

Nathalie et Gilles se sont rencontrés lors de leurs études d’œnologie à l’Université de Bourgogne, à Dijon. Nathalie a été pendant 10 ans œnologue à La Chablisienne, où elle a eu la chance de vinifier beaucoup de premiers crus et de grands crus. Elle et Gilles ont fondé leur propre domaine où elle est responsable des vinifications et lui, chef des cultures.

Cinq générations de vignerons

Chablis 1er Cru Vaulorent est la fierté du domaine; Marcel Fèvre, l’arrière-grand-père de Gilles, y a planté les vignes en 1955. Cette parcelle, qui jouxte les grands crus, est considérée comme un terroir d’exception : elle donne des vins d’une grande plénitude, dotés du charme et de l’élégance des vins racés.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

 

Une longue tradition familiale

La lignée Fèvre remonte à 1745; depuis, chaque génération compte dans ses rangs un artisan attaché au monde vinicole, qu’il soit vigneron, œnologue, pépiniériste, ingénieur agronome… ou même tonnelier! Plein feux sur une famille phare du vignoble chablisien et sur son splendide domaine.


Le paradis en Chablis

L’exploitation de Nathalie et Gilles Fèvre, avant qu’elle porte leurs prénoms, date du début des années 1900. Marcel Fèvre a développé le vignoble, et ses successeurs l’ont agrandi en acquérant des parcelles de prestige. Aujourd’hui, ce paradis est composé notamment de trois premiers crus (Fourchaume, Mont de Milieu et Vaulorent) et de vignes de grand cru à Les Preuses. Ce climat, l’un des sept grands crus de Chablis, possède des qualités plus qu’enviables : l’emplacement sur un coteau exposé au sud-ouest, et un sol profond dans lequel les vignes s’enracinent profondément et exploitent au mieux ce fabuleux terroir. Nathalie sait en tirer un vin puissant à l’attaque tout en étant gras et soyeux.


Un immense respect pour l’environnement

Gilles a commencé la lutte raisonnée en 1989 avec une technique originale : l’ensemencement dans les vignes de typhlodromes, des acariens prélevés sur des cerisiers et chargés de débarrasser les cultures des araignées néfastes. Cette expérience a pavé la voie à une nouvelle forme de culture chez les Fèvre. Elle montre en outre l’importance de l’innovation pour compléter un savoir-faire qui se transmet de génération en génération. La fille de Gilles et Nathalie, Julie, ingénieure agronome et œnologue, apporte aussi un nouvel élan au domaine familial. Depuis 2015, le respect des producteurs pour l’environnement leur a valu de recevoir la certification Haute Valeur Environnementale.


Des gens impliqués dans leur communauté

Galleon aime les gens impliqués qui font la différence dans le monde du vin. Les Fèvre en sont l’exemple parfait : Nathalie est membre de l’Association Femmes et Vins de Bourgogne, et le couple est engagé dans différents organismes de défense et de développement de l’appellation Chablis, dont l’UGCC (Union des Grands Crus de Chablis).

Un grand moment de dégustation

« Un Chablis 1er Cru Vaulorent 2005. Un des plus grands millésimes depuis les 10 dernières années, si ce n’est LE plus grand! » - Nathalie Fèvre

Notre boutique de vins fins