Producer

Domaine Queylus

Country

CANADA

Region of production

NIAGARA

Appellations

Lincoln Lakeshore, Twenty Mile Bench and Vinemount Ridge

Founded

2008

Climate

Continental

Soil composition

Varies from one plot to another, including clay-limestone, loamy and clay conditions

Vineyard

11 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Organic

Production Volume

35,000 bottles; 75% reds, 25% whites

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Chardonnay, Merlot, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

8 to 16 years

Behind the Wines

Thomas Bachelder

This Montrealer learned about viticulture and oenology in the Beaune region in the early 1990s. He is a wine trader who produces eponymous wines in three countries simultaneously, a consultant for various growers, and lead winemaker and estate manager at Queylus since 2010.

Unmistakably a Burgundy, you say?

Access the wines of this producer

“As a winemaker and long-time partner of Domaine Queylus, one of my most memorable moments was when I served our 2010 Pinot Noir Reserve during a blind tasting to growers from Burgundy, and they thought it was a Volnay Premier Cru!”

— Thomas Bachelder

Suddenly, an idea…

There are 12 of them in all. Twelve friends from Quebec, all great lovers of Burgundy, were struck with the idea of producing their own wine. But instead of purchasing an estate in France, this group—which includes Gilles Chevalier, Gilles Bussière and the eminent Champlain Charest—decided to see what the Niagara Peninsula had to offer.

Terroir that stands its ground

The first investors in Domaine Queylus were already familiar with the potential of the Niagara Peninsula. On a mission to discover new terroirs, they had 30 samples taken from their new property, an orchard, analyzed in Bordeaux. The results were promising: the terroir proved exceptional for growing a magnificent vineyard.

Doing it right

A new estate is like a blank canvas. On the one hand, there’s no need to set it up conventionally, but on the other hand, the lack of history can be a disadvantage. This prompted the partners to call on experienced professionals, including a consultant tasked with identifying which varieties, clones and rootstocks were best for each terroir (half of the vineyard is dedicated to growing Pinot Noir). The process required making decisions that were difficult but beneficial for their future wines, such as relevelling the ground where the Chardonnay would be planted and then letting the land lie fallow for two years. In essence, this is what Domaine Queylus is all about: passion and patience.

French inspiration

Guided by a shared passion for Burgundian wines, the investors made several “French” decisions for their winery in Ontario. The winemaker they recruited was a graduate of the Beaune school (even though he’s a Montrealer, they say that Thomas brings an elegant European touch to the wines). They also adopted the winegrowing practices used by seasoned vintners who cherish the typicity of the terroir. Most of the estate’s vines were imported from Burgundy and their barrels are even made from oak grown in the northeast of France and assembled in Burgundian workshops.

A nod to New France

The Queylus name may seem like a bold Scrabble move, but it actually has much more historic and noble origins: It refers to the family name of Gabriel Thubières de Levy de Queylus, a Sulpician monk who lived in New France in the 17th century. He was the first to vinify the indigenous grapes growing on the shores of Lake Ontario. A fitting tribute.

Producteur

Domaine Queylus

Pays

CANADA

Région

NIAGARA

Appellations

Lincoln Lakeshore, Twenty Mile Bench et Vinemount Ridge

Fondation

2008

Climat

Continental

Sol

Varié selon les parcelles, incluant des sols argilo-calcaires, limoneux et argileux

Vignoble

11 hectares en production

Agriculture

Biologique

Production

35 000 bouteilles; 75 % de vins rouges, 25 % de blancs

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Chardonnay, Merlot, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

Entre 8 et 16 ans

En lumière

Thomas Bachelder

Ce Montréalais a fait ses classes en viticulture-œnologie à Beaune au début des années 1990. Négociant qui produit des vins éponymes dans trois pays simultanément, consultant pour différents producteurs, il met son expertise au service du Domaine Queylus depuis 2010, où il est vinificateur en chef et régisseur.

Vous avez dit signature bourgogne?

Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« En tant que vinificateur et associé de longue date du Domaine Queylus, je ne peux imaginer meilleur moment que celui où, lors d’une dégustation à l’aveugle, j’ai servi notre Pinot Noir 2010 Réserve à des producteurs de Bourgogne. Ils croyaient qu’ils avaient bu du Volnay premier cru! » - Thomas Bachelder


Soudain, l’idée de créer un vignoble…

Ils sont douze. Douze amis québécois, grands amateurs de Bourgogne, qui se sont mis à rêver de produire eux-mêmes du vin. Mais plutôt que d’acquérir un domaine en France, cette bande de copains dont font partie Gilles Chevalier, Gilles Bussière et l’incomparable Champlain Charest, a préféré découvrir ce que la péninsule du Niagara avait de beau à offrir… 


Un terroir qui n’a rien à envier à l’Europe

Les premiers investisseurs du Domaine Queylus connaissaient bien le potentiel de la péninsule du Niagara. Ils sont partis à la découverte de nouveaux terroirs, faisant analyser à Bordeaux une trentaine d’échantillons prélevés sur leur nouvelle propriété, un verger. Les résultats : le terroir s’est avéré exceptionnel pour la création d’un magnifique vignoble.


Faire les choses de la bonne façon

Un domaine pas encore constitué est une toile vierge. On peut l’aménager sans s’empêtrer dans les conventions, mais l’absence d’histoire sur laquelle s’appuyer peut être un désavantage. Les associés se sont donc entourés de gens d’expérience, dont un consultant qui a eu la tâche d’identifier les cépages, les clones et les porte-greffes destinés à chacun des terroirs (la moitié du vignoble est consacré au pinot noir). Et ils ont su prendre des décisions difficiles, mais profitables aux futurs vins, comme celle de reniveller le sol réservé au chardonnay, et ce faisant, de devoir laisser la parcelle en jachère pendant deux ans. C’est ça, le Domaine Queylus : de la passion et de la patience.   

Des pratiques inspirées de la France

Guidé par leur amour de la Bourgogne, les investisseurs ont fait plusieurs choix « français » pour leur vignoble ontarien. Ils ont recruté un vinificateur issu de l’école de Beaune (tout Montréalais qu’il soit, on dit de Thomas qu’il insuffle aux vins une touche d’élégance européenne), et valorisent des pratiques de viticulture chères aux vignerons d’expérience qui ne jurent que par la typicité du terroir. Les vignes ont été importées en majorité de Bourgogne, et même les tonneaux sont faits de chêne provenant des forêts du nord-est de la France, et assemblés dans des ateliers bourguignons.


Et des origines datant de la Nouvelle-France

Le nom Queylus n’est pas forgé de lettres pigées au Scrabble! Son origine est beaucoup plus noble et ancienne : il réfère au patronyme de Gabriel Thubières de Levy de Queylus, un frère Sulpicien ayant vécu en Nouvelle-France au 17e siècle. C’est à lui que l’on doit les premières vinifications des raisins indigènes sur les rives du lac Ontario. Un bel hommage.

Notre boutique de vins fins