Producer

Domaine Sébastien Magnien

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

Burgundy, Côte de Beaune

Appellations

12

Founded

2004

Climate

Continental

Soil composition

Clay-limestone

Vineyard

12.5 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable, including various organic techniques

Production Volume

50,000 bottles; 85% reds; 15% whites

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

Ranging from 3 to 90 years; 35 years, on average

Behind the Wines

Sébastien Magnien

At the age of 23, Sébastien Magnien became the owner of the estate that now bears his name. With talent beyond his years, he quickly gained the respect of Burgundy’s connoisseurs. Since 2004, he’s been overseeing operations in the vineyard, where highly sustainable growing methods are used, as well as in the cellar.

Renewal in Burgundy

Access the wines of this producer

In 2006, two years after his winery was founded, Sébastien Magnien was already receiving acclaim in industry media. La Revue du Vin, Bourgogne Aujourd’hui, and Le Point all praised his extraordinary talent and the exceptional quality of his wines.

Energetic and dynamic

It’s rare to meet a winemaker so driven to produce high-quality wines and break into the international market. The old ways of doing business are over and now the estate’s wines are bottled under his name—and they shine!

Wine in his veins

Sébastien Magnien’s winery draws its experience from a family operation established in 1900 by René Magnien, as well as from Domaine Parigot, an estate owned by his mother’s side of the family in Meloisey. With this inherited knowledge, grapes hold no mystery for Sébastien. Working with both precision and inspiration, he produces some distinguished Pommard and Meursault, as well as some notable Hautes-Côtes de Beaune, which can be hard to do well. He also succeeds in infusing his Clos de La Perrière with remarkable intensity.

He did it his way (and we loved it)

This winemaker didn’t waste time in ridding his operations of old traditions, like using pesticides and other chemical processes. His strategies included working the soil, leaving longer pruned vines and removing leaves and buds with exacting precision to prevent the development of vine diseases. He also lengthened the vinification process (18 to 25 days rather than 10 to 12 days) to ensure a slower extraction, and extended aging to 20 months. The result: more forthright and precise wines. 

It all started with a glass of wine

Sébastien had just set up his business when we met him for the first time. We were at Les Trois Glorieuses, a three-day wine event in Burgundy. With the celebrations well underway at Pickwick’s in Beaune, Sébastien approached us by saying, “I make Meursault. You must come and try it!” The invitation was most welcoming, just like the man extending it. The wine in question proved to be very pleasant, with a buttery mouthfeel and hints of hazelnut and toasted bread on the nose.

Most memorable wine-tasting experience

“The 2007 vintage is known for being a ‘small’ batch. However, we were very surprised by the Pommard Les Perrières that we tasted at Paulée de Meursault in 2014; it offered a complex, open nose followed by a powerful and dense attack, with notes of cherry pits and leather. It stood out from the Grands Vins (Premiers and Grands Crus) we tried at the same tasting event. These smaller batches sometimes reveal great winemakers; 2007 had been a very hard year for us, but our efforts ended up paying dividends.” — Sébastien Magnien

Producteur

Domaine Sébastien Magnien

Pays

FRANCE

Région

Bourgogne, Côte de Beaune

Appellations

12

Fondation

2004

Climat

Continental

Sol

Argilo-calcaire

Vignoble

12,5 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée, incluant plusieurs techniques biologiques

Production

50 000 bouteilles; 85 % de vins rouges; 15 % de blancs

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

De 3 à 90 ans, moyenne de 35 ans

En lumière

Sébastien Magnien

Devenu propriétaire d’un domaine éponyme à 23 ans, Sébastien Magnien est un vigneron au talent précoce qui s’est rapidement attiré le respect des connaisseurs de la Bourgogne. Depuis 2004, il gère de main de maître autant ce qui se passe dans les vignes, où il exerce une culture ultra raisonnée, que dans les caves.

Renouveau en Bourgogne

En 2006, deux ans après la fondation de son domaine, Sébastien Magnien est encensé par la presse spécialisée : de La Revue du Vin de France à Bourgogne Aujourd’hui, on vante son extraordinaire talent et la très grande qualité de ses vins.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

 

Fougue et dynamisme

On a rarement vu chez un vigneron un tel désir de réussite, autant dans la production de vins de grande qualité que dans la percée du marché international. Terminé, le négoce comme on le pratiquait avant lui; désormais, les vins issus du domaine seront embouteillés sous son nom. Et brilleront.


Tombé dans le vin quand il était petit

Sébastien Magnien a fondé son domaine en partie sur les bases de l’exploitation fondée en 1900 par René Magnien, et en partie grâce à un legs du côté maternel (Domaine Parigot, à Meloisey). Il sait y faire, avec le raisin. Travaillant avec précision et inspiration, il produit, entre autres, des Pommard et des Meursault racés, mais il se distingue aussi avec son Hautes-Côtes de Beaune. Car faire de très bons Hautes-Côtes est assez rare, alors que lui réussit à insuffler à son Clos de La Perrière une belle intensité.


Faire à sa manière (et obtenir d’excellents résultats)

Le vigneron n’a pas été long à secouer les traditions, dont celle d’utiliser pesticides et autres traitements chimiques. Sa stratégie : labourer les sols, allonger les baguettes de taille, effeuiller et ébourgeonner avec rigueur. Voilà ce qui limite le développement des maladies dans les vignes! Il a aussi augmenté la durée des vinifications (18 à 25 jours au lieu de 10 à12 jours) pour une extraction tout en douceur, et prolongé l’élevage jusqu’à 20 mois. Résultat : des vins plus droits et précis.


Tout a commencé autour d'un verre...

La première fois où nous avons rencontré Sébastien, il venait à peine de s’établir. C’était lors des Trois Glorieuses, les célèbres fêtes bachiques de Bourgogne. Au Pickwick’s, à Beaune, la fête battait son plein. Il s’est approché de nous : « Je fais du Meursault, vous viendrez goûter! ». Une invitation bien sympathique, à l’image du personnage. Le vin en question était effectivement très agréable, avec son côté beurré, ses arômes de noisettes et de pain grillé typiques.

Un grand moment de dégustation

« Le millésime 2007 a la réputation d’être un ‘petit’ millésime. Or, le Pommard Les Perrières dégusté à la Paulée de Meursault, en 2014, nous a réservé une belle surprise : un nez ouvert, complexe, avec une bouche puissante et dense où se mêlaient des arômes de noyaux de cerise et de cuir. Il se distinguait nettement au milieu des grands vins (premiers et grands crus) bus lors de cette dégustation. C’est dans ces petits millésimes qu’on voit les grands vignerons : l’année 2007 avait très dure pour nous, mais notre travail nous a payé de retour.» - Sébastien Magnien