Producer

Domaine Vico - Clos Venturi

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

CORSICA

Appellations

Vin de Corse

Founded

1901

Climate

Continental and harsh (45°C in summer, –10°C in winter)

Soil composition

Sandstone and blueschist

Vineyard

79 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Clos Venturi : 29 hectares with biodynamic and Haute Valeur Environnementale certification
Domaine Vico: 50 hectares with Haute Valeur Environnementale certification

Production Volume

255 000 bouteilles;
40% reds,
35% rosés,
25% whites

Varieties Grown

Syrah, Vermentino

Ages of Vines

35 years old, on average

Behind the Wines

Manu Venturi

Emmanuel, more affectionately known as Manu, took over from his father Jean-Marc in 2005. The vineyard manager and winemaker describes his work as farming that requires keen observation skills, humility and patience. He has been described as one of the most promising members of the new generation of grape producers in Corsica.

In the heart of Corsica

This vineyard’s wines are known for their richness, character and complexity. Manu Venturi succeeds in coaxing the maximum from his native soil and produces very particular, uniquely Corsican wines.
Access the wines of this producer

A vineyard in the sky

A unique location and exceptional soil set the Domaine Vico – Clos Venturi vineyard apart. This is not only the sole winery in central Corsica, but it is also the highest on the island at more than 350 metres above sea level. Could its lofty location have something to do with the vineyard’s consistently high quality?   

Native varieties

Aleatico, Bianco Gentile, Carcajolo Neru, Genovese, Minustellu, Niellucciu, Sciaccarellu, Vermentinu and many other grape varieties with musical names can be found in Manu Venturi’s vineyard, but rarely in continental France. These are all native, or indigenous, Corsican varieties. Thirty years ago, the Venturis and other Corsican wine-producers replaced French vines with native ones in a bid to create uniquely Corsican vintages. Manu has simultaneously fought to ensure the survival of native vines while producing very distinct, world-class wines.

Clos Venturi, our favourite plot

We agree with Manu that the best plot on the estate is Clos Venturi. The white wine produced here ages very well and continually earns awards. It pairs beautifully with grilled fish, balancing fat and firmness. The perfectly-aged Clos Venturi red is mature and pure, with aromas of blackberry and spices and complex end notes.  

Innovative practices

Manu Venturi owes much of his knowledge to his father, but he also constantly seeks to innovate. His admirable wine-making experiments including producing his Chiesa Nera in egg-shaped cement tanks and embracing environmentally sustainable practices to showcase the best of the terroir. Hats off to a young but accomplished wine master.

A return to roots

Clos Venturi vineyard was founded in 1901 by Jean Vico, a visionary who was the first to plant vines at such a high elevation in the mountains. The estate was managed by the Vico family until 1986, when it was bought by Jean-Marc Venturi and his cousin François Acquaviva. Manu joined the team in 2003 and took over from his father two years later. He now has 10 vintages under his belt.

Producteur

Domaine Vico - Clos Venturi

Pays

FRANCE

Région

CORSE CONTINENTALE

Appellations

Vin de Corse

Fondation

1901

Climat

Continental et rude (45 °C en été, –10 °C en hiver)

Sol

Grès et schistes bleus

Vignoble

79 hectares en production

Agriculture

Clos Venturi : 29 hectares en biodynamie et Haute Valeur Environnementale
Domaine Vico: 50 hectares en Haute Valeur Environnementale

Production

255 000 bouteilles;
40 % de vins rouges,
35 % de rosés,
25 % de blancs

Cépages

Syrah, Vermentino

Âge des vignes

35 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Manu Venturi

Emmanuel, dit Manu, a succédé à son père Jean-Marc en 2005. Directeur des exploitations et vigneron, il considère son métier comme un travail d’agriculteur exigeant observation, humilité et patience. Il est cité parmi les plus brillants représentants de la nouvelle génération de viticulteurs corses.

Au cœur de la Corse

Nous aimons ce vignoble pour la richesse, la typicité et la complexité de ses produits. Manu Venturi sait tirer le maximum du terroir pour obtenir les vins les plus racés possible, très typés de la Corse.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Un vignoble près du ciel

Le Domaine Vico – Clos Venturi profite d’une situation géographique unique et d’un terroir exceptionnel. Il est le seul vignoble situé au centre de l’île, et celui le plus haut perché dans les montagnes, niché à plus de 350 m d’altitude. Pas étonnant que les splendides vins qu’on y élabore soient au sommet de la qualité!


Des cépages autochtones

Aleatico, bianco gentile, carcajolo neru, genovese, minustellu, niellucciu, sciaccarellu, vermentinu… autant de cépages aux sonorités musicales qui sont cultivés sur les terres de Manu Venturi, mais qu’on risque bien peu de trouver dans une autre partie de la France. Ce sont des cépages indigènes — ou autochtones — propres à la Corse. Il y a bien 30 ans que les producteurs de l’île, dont les Venturi, ont remplacé les vignes continentales par des vignes insulaires afin de donner au vignoble corse une vraie typicité. Si la culture des vignes autochtones n’est pas la chasse gardée de Manu, il en élabore des vins absolument distinctifs parmi les meilleurs au monde.


Clos Venturi, issu des meilleures parcelles

Notre parcelle préférée du domaine est la même que celle identifiée par Manu : Clos Venturi, dont on produit un vin blanc de grande garde qui ne cesse de récolter les honneurs. À déguster avec un poisson grillé, pour l’équilibre gras et fermeté. Le Clos Venturi se fait aussi en rouge, dont on apprécie les notes de fruits noirs et d’épices, la belle pureté des arômes et la parfaite maturité qui débouche sur une grande complexité.


Des pratiques novatrices

Manu Venturi tient peut-être son savoir-faire de son père, mais il est habité par l’innovation, et cela nous plaît. Il ne cesse d’améliorer les techniques de vinification (la cuvée Chiesa Nera est vinifié dans un œuf de ciment) et de renouveler toutes les pratiques d’intérêt environnemental permettant d’exprimer au mieux le terroir. Chapeau bas sur un (jeune) grand maître du vin.


Retour aux sources

Le vignoble en montagne a été créé en 1906 par Jean Vico, un être particulièrement visionnaire qui a planté les vignes en hauteur alors que personne ne le faisait. Le domaine est demeuré au sein de la famille Vico jusqu’en 1986, lors du rachat par Jean-Marc Venturi et son cousin François Acquaviva.  Manu est venu les rejoindre en 2003 avant de prendre la suite de son père en 2005. Il en est à son 10e millésime.