Producer

Errazuriz

Country

CHILE

Region of production

ACONCAGUA VALLEY

Appellations

Aconcagua Valley-Andes,
Aconcagua Valley-Entre Cordilleras,
Aconcagua Valley-Costa and Casablanca-Costa

Founded

1870

Climate

Mediterranean-style climate, characterized by sunny and dry conditions cooled by the Humboldt Current

Soil composition

Clay, stone, round pebbles, schist rocks and sand

Vineyard

427 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable, with Wines of Chile Sustainability Code certification

Production Volume

60 % reds,
40% whites

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Sauvignon , Carmenere Noir, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer , Grenache Noir , Merlot, Mourvedre , Pinot Noir , Sauvignon Blanc, Syrah, Tempranillo Noir , Viognier

Ages of Vines

10 to 25 years

Behind the Wines

Eduardo Chadwick Claro

The president of Viña Errázuriz is without a doubt one of the most enthusiastic proponents of Chilean wines. As an industrial engineer-come-oenologist (graduating in Bordeaux), he brilliantly guided the family estate into the 21st century and helped position Chile as a premier international wine producing country.

The best wines from the best terroir

Our favourites from Viña Errázuriz are the winery’s three “icon” products, Don Maximiano, Kai and La Cumbre, as well as the Blend Limited Edition. The latter, which is made from grapes harvested from the best hillside plots, is unique in that the blend changes with each vintage. It’s a true masterstroke.
Access the wines of this producer

The stunning Aconcagua Valley

The Aconcagua, affectionately called the Colossus of America, is the highest peak in the Andean cordillera. The deep valley on the Chilean side is home to awe-inspiring landscapes and a Mediterranean-style climate that’s perfect for growing Bordeaux grape varieties. Bodegas are few and far between here, but they offer great quality.

Errázuriz, a leading Chilean family

With Spanish Basque origins, the Errázuriz family has given Chile several notable individuals, including two presidents of the republic and two archbishops. Don Maximiano, who founded the bodega, was a mine owner. Upon returning from a trip to Europe, he saw to the planting of 300 hectares of vines in Panquehue. His son Rafael added another 400 hectares, making Viña Errázuriz the largest private winery in the world.

The Chilean wine boom

The first Chilean attempts at winemaking date back to approximately 1550, when dry wine was produced for use during mass. It wasn’t until the 19th century that more palatable wines were made here, thanks to the efforts of visionaries like Don Maximiano, who imported Bordeaux vines. What a fortunate turn of events! When many wineries were decimated by phylloxera, the only vineyards that were spared were those in Cyprus, New Zealand and Chile. This prompted French winegrowers to travel to South America and make imitation Bordeaux wines—an initiative that ultimately proved very successful.

The new El Dorado of wine

In the 1980s, Eduardo Chadwick Claro and his contemporaries organized the Chilean viticultural industry and made major investments in their operations. After Viña Errázuriz partnered with Robert Mondavi, the quality of the estate’s wines blossomed and eventually won a now-legendary blind taste test in Berlin in 2004. Since then, Viña Errázuriz—with its multiple-award winning iconic wines—has been considered one of the most prestigious wineries in the world. 

Carmenere, a miracle variety

This variety is a Bordeaux native, but it was completely wiped out in Europe by phylloxera. Carmenere survived in Chile, where an inspired aristocrat had imported a few vines before the crisis. For years, this variety was all but forgotten, until 1991, when growers noticed that a few Merlot plants in a certain vineyard were different from the rest. DNA tests revealed that Carmenere had been revived. Since then, this black grape known for its notes of chocolate, cherry and spice has become the standard-bearer of Chilean wine.

Rocking out in the vines!

Francisco Baettig has been the estate’s lead winemaker since 2003. In an interview with Wine-Searcher, this friendly and upbeat individual admitted that when working in the vineyard, he and his crew listened to Iron Maiden. “Harvest is a little bit like rock: very tense and energetic!”

Producteur

Errazuriz

Pays

CHILI

Région

VALLÉE DE L'ACONCAGUA

Appellations

Aconcagua Valley-Andes,
Aconcagua Valley-Entre Cordilleras,
Aconcagua Valley-Costa et Casablanca-Costa

Fondation

1870

Climat

Climat de type méditerranéen, ensoleillé et sec avec présence du courant froid de Humboldt

Sol

Argile, pierre, cailloux roulés, roche de schiste et sable

Vignoble

427 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée, certification du Wines of Chile Sustainability Code

Production

60 % de vins rouges,
40 % de blancs

Cépages

Cabernet sauvignon , Carmenère noir, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer , Grenache noir , Merlot, Mourvèdre , Pinot noir , Sauvignon blanc, Syrah, Tempranillo noir , Viognier

Âge des vignes

Entre 10 et 25 ans

En lumière

Eduardo Chadwick Claro

Le président de Viña Errázuriz est sans conteste l’un des plus enthousiastes promoteurs des vins du Chili. Ingénieur industriel doublé d’un œnologue (il est gradué de Bordeaux), il a brillamment fait entrer le domaine familial dans le 21e siècle, et contribué à positionner le Chili au premier plan des producteurs de grands vins au monde.

Les meilleurs vins issus du meilleur terroir

De Viña Errázuriz, nos coups de cœur sont les trois vins « icônes » de la maison (Don Maximiano, Kai et la Cumbre), ainsi que The Blend Limited Edition. Cette cuvée, élaborée à partir des raisins prélevés dans les meilleures parcelles en coteau, a la particularité de changer d’assemblage à chaque millésime. Un vrai travail d’orfèvre.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


La très belle vallée d’Aconcagua

L’Aconcagua, surnommé le Colosse de l’Amérique, est le plus haut sommet de la Cordillère des Andes. Du côté chilien, sa vallée profonde abrite de merveilleux paysages, et jouit d’un climat méditerranéen qui sied bien aux cépages bordelais implantés au Chili. Les bodegas y sont rares, mais de qualité.


Errázuriz, grande famille du Chili

D’origine basque espagnole, la famille Errázuriz a fourni de nombreuses personnalités au Chili, dont deux présidents de la république et deux archevêques. Don Maximiano, fondateur de la bodega, était quant à lui propriétaire minier. C’est au retour d’un voyage en Europe qu’il fit planter 300 hectares de vignes à Panquehue. Son fils Rafael ajouta 400 hectares, faisant du domaine le plus grand vignoble privé au monde.


L’essor du vignoble chilien

C’est vers 1550 que les premiers raisins ont été vinifiés en jus âpres destinés à la messe. Pour des vins dignes de ce nom, il faut attendre le 19e siècle et l’importation de cépages bordelais par des visionnaires comme Don Maximiano. Bien vu. Alors que les vignobles sont décimés par le phylloxéra, seules les vignes de Chypre, de Nouvelle-Zélande et du Chili sont épargnées. En mal de travail, des vignerons français se rendirent en Amérique du Sud élaborer des vins bordelais d’imitation, qui connurent un grand succès.


Le Chili, le nouvel eldorado du vin

Des producteurs de la trempe d’Eduardo Chadwick Claro ont organisé l’industrie viticole chilienne dans les années 80 et procédé à des investissements majeurs dans leurs domaines. Suite à un partenariat avec Robert Mondavi, les vins de Viña Errázuriz ont gagné en qualité jusqu’à rafler les honneurs lors d’une mythique dégustation à l’aveugle tenue à Berlin en 2004. Depuis, Viña Errázuriz, avec ses vins iconiques plusieurs fois primés, est classé parmi les plus prestigieux vignobles du monde.


Le carménère : un cépage miraculé

Né dans le Bordelais, complètement décimé en Europe par le phylloxéra, le carménère survécut au Chili où un aristocrate inspiré en avait importé quelques ceps avant la crise. Mais le rescapé tomba dans l’oubli. Or, en 1991, on découvrit dans un vignoble que des plants de merlot différaient des autres. Des test ADN ont révélé que le carménère avait bel et bien ressuscité. Depuis, ce cépage noir aux notes de chocolat, de cerise et d’épices est devenu le porte-étendard du vin chilien.

Du rock dans les vignes!

Francisco Baettig est vigneron en chef, en poste au domaine depuis 2003. Sympathique personnage, il a déjà confié en entrevue à Wine Searcher que, dans les vignes, sa brigade et lui écoutaient du… Iron Maiden! « Surtout pendant les vendanges, dont le travail ressemble au rock : tendu et dynamisant! »