Producer

Familia Torres

Country

SPAIN

Region of production

Conca de Barberà , Penedès

Founded

1870

Climate

Penedès: Mediterranean, with a wide variety of micro-climates depending on altitude and proximity to the sea.

Soil composition

Penedès: low vigour, well-drained soils of mostly Miocene sediments

Vineyard

More than 800 hectares

Agriculture

Organic & sustainable

Production Volume

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Chardonnay, Grenache Noir , Merlot, Pinot Noir , Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Syrah, Tempranillo Noir

Ages of Vines

30 – 50 years old on average

Behind the Wines

Miguel A. Torres

In 2017 Miguel A. Torres was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by The Drinks Business and the Institute of Masters of Wine. In his speech, Torres spoke about a subject dear to his heart; defending the importance of wine. “Wine is something special; it’s culture and something that you share at the table with your family.” Miguel A. Torres headed Familia Torres during many years as General Manager and now as President and was instrumental in elevating the quality of Penedès wines and bringing them to the world stage.

A multi-generational pursuit of excellence

For almost 150 years, the Torres family has worked tirelessly to craft high quality wines in their native Penedès and beyond. They believe in preserving their cultural heritage; working to restore ancient grapes and traditional winemaking practices. They are also dedicated to sustainable practices in all their endeavours, farming their vineyards organically and adhering to a strict policy of fair prices for all grape suppliers.
Access the wines of this producer
 “Our winery is a dream that started almost 150 years ago and that has been passed on from generation to generation…we focus on the long-term…creating projects that express the identity of a place/vineyard that are unique and special.” - Miguel Torres Maczassek, General Manager of Famila Torres

Five Dedicated Generations

Jaime and Miguel Torres founded the winery in 1870. Each subsequent generation has contributed their passion and dedication to the family`s bodega. Third generation, Miguel Torres Carbó, was the first in the region to bottle wine. Quality reached new heights in the fourth generation with the creation of fine, single vineyard wines. Current managers Miguel Torres Maczassek, and his sister Mireia, are the 5th generationand want to have an even bigger focus on single vineyards and unique wines that express the landscape of each wine region that they are passionate about.

Over-Delivering on Quality

The Torres family holds themselves and their wines to the highest possible quality standards. When they are not traveling, Miguel Torres senior, along with his son, daughter, and their winemaking team, meet every Tuesday to taste each blend of every new wine to determine when to bottle. Many might find this “old-fashioned” but the Torres feel they have a responsibility to provide their consumers with the best possible quality of every wine, in every vintage.

Spanish Fine WinePioneers

In 1970, Spain was not known for single vineyard wines. Miguel Torres senior, recently returned from studying oenology and viticulture in Burgundy, convinced his sceptical father to allow him to plant Cabernet Sauvignon. He believed that their Penedès vineyard was of world-class calibre, and that Cabernet would express this most effectively. Mas La Plana was the result. The wine was widely acclaimed; triumphing over many of the best French wines at the famous Gault Millau 1979 Paris tasting. This gave new energy to a whole generation of winemakers who saw that with an innovative spirit and perseverance there were new paths for Spanish wines.

Viticultural Archeologists

The Penedès has a rich viticultural tradition dating back over 2700 years. Before phylloxera ravaged the vineyards, the region was home to a wide range of wine grapes. Miguel and Mireia Torres Maczassek are committed to continue bringing back ancestral varieties and thus restoring their viticultural heritage.
Research by the family during the past 30 years led to the rediscovery of almost 50 “forgotten” varieties, but only a handful have the potential for making top quality wine. You can actually find 2 of them - Garró and Querol - in the single vineyard wine Grans Muralles. The rest are still in an experimenting phase, but the results are very promising.

Producteur

Familia Torres

Pays

ESPAGNE

Région

CATALUNYA, Conca de Barberà , Penedès , RIBERA DEL DUERO, Rioja, Rueda, Rías Baixas

Fondation

1870

Climat

Penedès : méditerranéen, avec une grande variété de microclimats, selon l’altitude et la proximité de la mer.

Sol

Penedès : sols peu vigoureux et bien drainés composés principalement de sédiments miocènes.

Vignoble

Plus de 800 hectares

Agriculture

Biologique et durable

Production

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Chardonnay, Grenache noir , Merlot, Pinot noir , Riesling, Sauvignon blanc, Syrah, Tempranillo noir

Âge des vignes

De 30 à 50 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Miguel A. Torres

En 2017, Miguel A. Torres s’est vu décerner un Lifetime Achievement Award par The Drinks Business et l’Institute of Masters of Wine. Dans son discours, Torres a abordé un sujet qui lui tient à cœur : défendre l’importance du vin. « Le vin est quelque chose de spécial. Il fait partie de la culture et on le partage à table avec notre famille. » Miguel A. Torres a dirigé Familia Torres pendant de nombreuses années en tant que directeur général et maintenant président, et a joué un rôle crucial pour accroître la qualité des vins du Penedès et leur assurer une place sur la scène mondiale.

Une poursuite de l'excellence multigénérationnelle

Depuis près de 150 ans, la famille Torres a travaillé sans relâche à l’élaboration de vins de grande qualité dans leur Penedès natal et ailleurs. Ils s’investissent dans la préservation de leur patrimoine culturel en travaillant à restaurer des cépages ancestraux et des pratiques de vinification traditionnelles. Ils se sont aussi engagés à adopter des pratiques durables dans l’ensemble de leurs activités, pratiquant l’agriculture biologique dans leurs vignobles et adhérant à une politique stricte en matière de tarification équitable pour tous leurs fournisseurs de raisins.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur
« Notre vignoble est un rêve qui a commencé il y a près de 150 ans et a été transmis de génération en génération… Nous nous concentrons sur le long terme en créant des projets qui expriment l’identité d’un lieu, d’un vignoble, qui sont uniques et spéciaux. » - Miguel Torres Maczassek, directeur général de Famila Torres


Cinq générations dévouées

Jaime et Miguel Torres ont fondé la cave en 1870. Les générations suivantes ont tour à tour contribué à l’entreprise familiale avec leur passion et leur dévouement. Miguel Torres Carbó, de la troisième génération, a été le premier de la région à embouteiller le vin. La qualité a atteint de nouveaux sommets au cours de la quatrième génération avec la création de vins fins issus d’un vignoble unique. Miguel Torres Maczassek et sa sœur Mireia, les dirigeants actuels, sont la cinquième génération et souhaitent se concentrer encore davantage sur les vins uniques et issus d’un seul vignoble qui expriment le paysage de chaque région viticole qui les passionne.


Une qualité toujours supérieure

La famille Torres et leurs vins respectent les normes de qualité les plus élevées qui soient. Lorsqu’ils ne voyagent pas, Miguel Torres père, son fils, sa fille et leur équipe de vinificateurs se rencontrent tous les mardis pour goûter chaque assemblage de chacun des nouveaux vins pour déterminer le moment de l’embouteillage. Certains pourraient trouver ce rituel démodé, mais les Torres considèrent qu’il est de leur responsabilité d’offrir à leurs clients la meilleure qualité possible pour chaque vin, à chaque millésime.


Pionniers espagnols du bon vin

En 1970, l’Espagne n’était pas connue pour ses vins issus d’un vignoble unique. Miguel Torres père, revenu récemment de ses études en œnologie et en viticulture en Bourgogne, a convaincu son père sceptique de lui permettre de planter du cabernet sauvignon. Il croyait que leur vignoble du Penedès était de calibre mondial, et que le cabernet serait le meilleur pour l’exprimer. C’est ainsi qu’est né Mas La Plana. Le vin a été largement acclamé, l’emportant sur quelques-uns des meilleurs vins français lors de la célèbre dégustation de Gault & Millau à Paris en 1979. Cet exploit a été un point tournant pour une génération entière de vignerons qui ont compris qu’avec un esprit innovateur et de la persévérance, de nouvelles avenues attendaient les vins espagnols.


Archéologues viticoles

Le Penedès possède une riche tradition viticole remontant à plus de 2700 ans. Avant que le phylloxéra ne ravage les vignobles, la région comptait un large éventail de raisins de cuve. Miguel et Mireia Torres Maczassek se sont engagés à continuer à ramener les cépages ancestraux et, ainsi, à restaurer leur patrimoine viticole.
Les recherches de la famille au cours des 30 dernières années ont mené à la découverte de quelque 50 cépages « oubliés », mais seule une poignée d’entre eux ont le potentiel de produire des vins de qualité supérieure. Deux de ces cépages – le garró et le querol – se retrouvent dans l’assemblage du Grans Muralles, un vin issu d’un vignoble unique. Les autres sont encore à la phase expérimentale, mais les résultats sont très prometteurs.

Notre boutique de vins fins