Producer

Ferrari

Country

ITALY

Region of production

TRENTINO-ALTO ADIGE

Appellations

Trento

Founded

1902

Climate

Continental with microclimates; considerable temperature variations; south-western exposure for vines

Soil composition

Stony with sandy soil, gravel and clay

Vineyard

120 hectares

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

4.6 million bottles, of which 92% are whites and 8% are rosés

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

8 to 15 years old

Behind the Wines

Marcello Lunelli

Winemaker Marcello Lunelli manages his vineyard with the help of family members (Matteo, Camilla and Alessandro) and a squad of agronomists. Some 30 years ago, over 500 family-run vineyards began collaborating with Ferrari, a collective of several different vineyards. They all favour sustainable growing techniques as a means of producing excellent wines and preserving the region’s exceptional terroir.

The best sparkling wines in Italy—and the world

Access the wines of this producer

Giulio Ferrari’s perseverance and quest for quality has won him the recognition of sparkling wine aficionados. The Lunelli family kept the tradition alive and in 2015, Ferrari was crowned Sparkling Wine Producer of the Year in London.

From humble workshop to world-class producer

Ferrari sparkling wines are now synonymous with luxury in Italy and all over the world. The who’s who of Hollywood stars enjoyed Ferrari bubbly during the 2015 Emmy Awards. That’s pretty impressive for a business that started out in a little workshop in Trento.

An Italian who loves Champagne

Ferrari’s story is a beautiful, romantic one of an Italian dreamer who moved to France and fell in love with Champagne. When he returned home, he decided to produce his own sparkling Chardonnay using traditional Champagne methods. He would become the first to do so. Ferrari was dedicated to the pursuit of excellence and his wine was immediately met with glowing reviews by wine lovers.

In 1952, Giulio Ferrari chose Bruno Lunelli, a highly successful wine merchant, to take over the winery. During their partnership, Ferrari became a prestigious, world-renowned producer. Lunelli later handed over the management to his sons, who carried on the tradition.

A gem in the mountains

Maso Pianizza, a 12-hectare gem of a vineyard, was planted in 1960 by Mauri Lunelli, Bruno’s son. The vines on this plot, the soil and the climate resulted in the perfect Chardonnay. The plot is 600 metres above sea level, which favours the production of sparkling wine. The vineyard is also surrounded by forest, which creates a micro-climate in which vines flourish. The Giulio Ferrari Riserva del Fondatore vintage, which we distribute, comes from this plot.

A sparkling wine for every course

Making different sparkling wines to complement every course is a tall order. However, we discovered that it’s not impossible. While dining at the Michelin-starred Locanda Margon restaurant in 2014, we savoured Ferrari Perlé with a fish first course, elevated a mushroom risotto with Ferrari Perlé Nero and enjoyed Ferrari Riserva Lunelli with veal cheeks. As the meal drew to a close, Ferrari Maximum Demi-Sec perfectly complemented a slice of apple pie. Ferrari proved to be the perfect bubbly dinner companion!

An unforgettable evening of fine wine

“It was during the unveiling of the 1995 Giulio Ferrari Collezione Trentodoc at Larte restaurant in Milan in 2014. After 18 years of ageing on lees, the wine was elegant, fresh and possessed an unrivalled complexity. This prestigious vintage promised to be nothing short of a masterpiece and it did not disappoint.” — Marcello Lunelli

Producteur

Ferrari

Pays

ITALIE

Région

TRENTIN-HAUT-ADIGE

Appellations

Trento

Fondation

1902

Climat

Continental et présence de microclimats; variations de température importantes; exposition sud-ouest des vignes

Sol

Pierreux, avec présence de sols sablonneux, de graviers et d’argile

Vignoble

120 hectares

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

4,6 millions de bouteilles; 92 % de vins blancs, 8 % de rosés

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

De 8 à 15 ans

En lumière

Marcello Lunelli

Le vinificateur est entouré des membres de sa famille — Matteo, Camilla et Alessandro — pour gérer le domaine, ainsi que d’un bataillon d’agronomes pour veiller sur les vignes. Quelque 500 familles de vignerons collaborent depuis 30 ans avec Ferrari, qui regroupe plusieurs vignobles. Tous pratiquent la culture raisonnée, non seulement pour garantir de meilleurs vins, mais aussi pour préserver le majestueux terroir.

Les meilleures bulles en Italie… et au monde

C’est la persévérance et l’exigence de qualité qui a valu à Giulio Ferrari la reconnaissance des amateurs de bulles; ce sont également les valeurs de ses héritiers spirituels, la famille Lunelli. En témoigne le prix Sparkling Wine Producer of the Year remporté à Londres, en 2015.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


De modeste atelier jusqu’au firmament

Ferrari est lié à l’univers du luxe en Italie et à travers le monde. Le gratin hollywoodien s’est même régalé de ses bulles lors de la soirée des Emmy Awards, en 2015. Pas mal pour une entreprise qui a fait ses débuts dans un atelier d’une petite rue de Trento…


Un Italien amoureux de champagne

L’histoire de Ferrari est belle : celle d’un Italien rêveur qui, ayant vécu en France, s’était pris d’amour pour le champagne. De retour au pays, il a eu l’ambition de vinifier son propre chardonnay selon la méthode traditionnelle (et fut le premier à le faire, d’ailleurs). Ses vins mousseux, élaborés avec une obsession marquée pour la qualité, ont immédiatement été accueillis avec chaleur auprès des connaisseurs.

En 1952, Giulio Ferrari a trouvé en Bruno Lunelli, un marchand de vins incroyablement doué pour le commerce, l’héritier digne de poursuivre son œuvre. Sous sa gouverne, Ferrari a gagné ses lettres de noblesse, devenant la prestigieuse société que l’on connaît. Lunelli a transmis sa passion à ses propres enfants, qui en ont fait autant.


Un bijou dans les montagnes

Maso Pianizza est un joyau de 12 hectares, planté dans les années 1960 par Mauri Lunelli, fils de Bruno. Cette parcelle combine à la perfection le chardonnay, le climat et le terroir. En effet, en plus d’être situé à 600 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer, un atout pour la production de vins mousseux, le vignoble est encerclé par la forêt, ce qui génère un microclimat bénéfique aux vignes. La cuvée Giulio Ferrari Riserva del Fondatore, que nous représentons, en est issue.  


Des bulles, de l’entrée au dessert

Élaborer des vins effervescents qui s’accordent à tous les plats d’un repas tient de la haute voltige. Nous en avons fait l’extraordinaire expérience en 2014, lors de notre passage au Locanda Margon, le restaurant du domaine étoilé Michelin. Ferrari Perlé avec une entrée de poisson; Ferrari Perlé Nero avec un risotto aux champignons; Ferrari Riserva Lunelli avec de la joue de veau; Ferrari Maximum Demi-Sec avec de la tarte aux pommes. La magie faite bulles.


Mémorable soirée autour d’un très grand vin

« C’était lors d’une présentation du Giulio Ferrari Collezione 1995 Trentodoc, qui s’est tenue au restaurant Larte, à Milan, en 2014. Ce vin vieilli sur lies depuis 18 ans possède une élégance, une finesse et une force jamais égalées. De ce millésime prestigieux, nous ne pouvions attendre autre chose qu’un chef-d’œuvre. Et c’en était un.»  -  Marcello Lunelli