Producer

Fontanafredda

Country

ITALY

Region of production

PIEDMONT

Appellations

Langhe, Roero

Founded

1858, by Italian King Vittorio Emanuele II

Climate

Continental

Soil composition

Layers of clay, calcareous marl, blue marl, tufa, sand, and sulphur-bearing chalk.

Vineyard

120 hectares owned; 800 hectares total vinified.

Agriculture

Sustainable. Currently undergoing organic certification. Process to be completed by the 2018 harvest.

Production Volume

8 million bottles. 85% red, 15% white.

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Muscat Blanc à Petits Grains, Nebbiolo, Pinot Noir , Riesling, Syrah

Ages of Vines

Average of 15-year-old vines

Behind the Wines

Danilo Drocco

The arrival in 1999 of Head Winemaker, Danilo Drocco, heralded a renewed era of excellence at Fontanafredda. Born in the local village of Rodello, near Alba, Danilo Drocco studied winemaking at the University of Turin. He is committed to crafting the purest expression of Barolo, from the exceptional vineyards of the estate. Danilo loves the simple things in life; a plate of pane e salami and watching his beloved football club, Juventus, score the winning goal

Noble heritage, regal wines

Recently hailed “European Winery of the Year” by Wine Enthusiast, Fontanafredda has long been a leading light of the Barolo region. While the estate’s majestic origin and enviable vineyard holdings may have once been their greatest pride, today their commitment to sustainable practices and top-quality winemaking sets them apart.
Access the wines of this producer

A Royal Beginning

Until the mid 19th century, the current day Fontanafredda estate was a hunting ground. In 1858, it was purchased by Italian King Vittorio Emanuele II as a gift for his mistress, “La bela Rosin”. The production of fine red wines from the native Nebbiolo, Barbera, and Dolcetto grapes soon followed.

“Just like great Burgundies, Barolo should reveal itself little by little, rather than all at once”. 

-       Danilo Drocco, Head Winemaker

The Finest Terroirs

The Fontanafredda estate boasts the largest contiguous vineyard in the Langhe. Over 100 hectares form a natural amphitheatre, spanning the prized terroirs of Serralunga d’Alba, Barolo, and Diano d’Alba. The well-oriented, hilly terrain is blessed with warm days, and cool nights ensuring long, slow ripening. The resultant wines possess great elegance, with highly nuanced aromatics, powerful structure, and fine tannic grip.

 

Leaders in Sustainability

In 2016, Fontanafredda begun the process of converting their entire estate to organic farming. As of 2019, they will be the largest certified organic producer in Piedmont. They have reduced their water consumption by over 20% in recent years, reusing waste water to irrigate green spaces around the winery, and installing a phytodepuration plant.

 

A Modern Traditionalist

Danilo Drocco believes in marrying classic and modern ageing techniques for his Barolo. The wines spend one year in small French oak barrels, before being transferred to large, seasoned casks for a second year. According to Drocco, the barrels intensify the fruit, while the large casks ensure that the tannic structure and oak expression are subdued.

Our fine wine Boutique

Producteur

Fontanafredda

Pays

ITALIE

Région

PIÉMONT

Appellations

Langhe, Roero

Fondation

1858, Vittorio Emanuele II, roi d’Italie

Climat

Continental

Sol

Couches d’argile, de marne calcaire, de marne bleue, de tuf, de sable et de craie sulfureuse.

Vignoble

800 hectares consacrés à la vinification dont 120 appartenant au domaine.

Agriculture

Responsable. Certification biologique en cours qui devrait être obtenue pour les vendanges de 2018.

Production

8 millions de bouteilles.
85 % rouge, 15 % blanc.

Cépages

Chardonnay, Muscat à petits grains blancs, Nebbiolo, Pinot noir , Riesling, Syrah

Âge des vignes

15 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Danilo Drocco

L’arrivée en 1999 de l’œnologue en chef Danilo Drocco a marqué le début d’une nouvelle ère d’excellence à Fontanafredda. Né dans le village local de Rodello, près d’Alba, Danilo Drocco a étudié la vinification à l’université de Turin. Il est déterminé à créer un Barolo dans sa plus pure expression à partir des vignobles exceptionnels du domaine. Danilo aime les plaisirs simples de la vie, comme déguster un plat de pane e salami en regardant son club de foot favori, le Juventus, marquer le but gagnant.

Noble héritage, vins dignes d’un roi

Récemment sacré « vinerie européenne de l’année » par Wine Enthusiast, le domaine Fontanafredda est depuis longtemps le producteur phare de la région de Barolo. Si les origines royales du domaine et l’étendue enviable de ses vignobles étaient autrefois sa plus grande fierté, c’est aujourd’hui par son engagement envers des pratiques de culture responsable et par la qualité supérieure de ses vins qu’il se distingue.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Une naissance royale

Jusqu’au milieu du 19e siècle, ce qui constitue aujourd’hui le domaine Fontanafredda était un territoire de chasse. En 1858, il fut acheté par Vittorio Emanuele II, roi d’Italie, en guise de cadeau pour sa maîtresse « La bela Rosin ». La production de vins rouges fins à partir des cépages indigènes nebbiolo, barbera et dolcetto débuta peu après.

« Tout comme les grands bourgognes, le Barolo doit se révéler peu à peu et non d’un seul coup ». - Danilo Drocco, œnologue en chef

Les meilleurs terroirs

Le domaine Fontanafredda possède le plus grand vignoble contigu de la région de Langhe dont les plus de 100 hectares forment un amphithéâtre naturel qui s’étend aux terroirs très prisés de Serralunga d’Alba, Barolo et Diano d’Alba. Ce terrain vallonné et bien orienté profite de journées chaudes et de nuits fraîches qui assurent un long et lent mûrissement. Les vins qui en sont issus sont dotés d’une grande élégance, avec des arômes très nuancés, une structure puissante et une trame tanique fine.


Leader en culture responsable

En 2016, Fontanafredda a entrepris la conversion du domaine tout entier à la culture biologique. En 2019, il sera le plus important producteur certifié bio du Piedmont. Le domaine a réduit sa consommation d’eau de plus de 20 % au cours des dernières années en réutilisant les eaux usées pour irriguer les espaces verts autour de la vinerie et en installant une usine de phytodépuration.

 
Un traditionnaliste moderne

Danilo Drocco croit dans le mariage des techniques de maturation classiques et modernes pour son Barolo. Les vins passent un an en petites barriques de chêne français avant d’être transférés dans de grands fûts plus anciens pour une seconde année. Selon Drocco, les barriques intensifient le fruit, tandis que les grands fûts permettent de maîtriser la structure tanique et l’expression du chêne.

 

Notre boutique de vins fins