Producer

Frescobaldi

Country

ITALY

Region of production

TUSCANY

Appellations

6

Founded

1308

Climate

Varies, depending on the plot

Soil composition

Varies, depending on the region

Vineyard

The number of hectares in production varies in accordance with changes in the estate’s planting schedule

Agriculture

Organic and sustainable

Production Volume

85% reds, 15% whites

Varieties Grown

Sangiovese

Ages of Vines

25 years

Behind the Wines

The Frescobaldi family

As part of Florence’s aristocracy, this family has been dedicated to making Tuscan wines for more than 30 generations. The Frescobaldis believe in respecting the terroir, aim for excellence in their grapes and invest in promoting their region’s local culture.

The Marquises of Frescobaldi, the Princes of Tuscan wine

We’re proud to have the Frescobaldi family in our circle. Having owned one of Tuscany’s most widely known wineries for more than 700 years, they have always passed down a spirit of creativity and a quest for excellence from one generation to another.
Access the wines of this producer

Reigning throughout the ages

Their powerful and elegant wines tempted the palates of Europe’s leaders long before Canada had even been discovered. Since the 13th century, the Frescobaldi family has been planting vineyards around sublime castles. Along the way, they acquired vines for their Super Tuscans, considered some of the most prestigious wines in the world. Welcome to a whole new universe. 

The first steps of the Super Tuscans

The Frescobaldis didn’t just settle for being elite bankers and prosperous merchants; they also established themselves as visionary winemakers. In the mid-19th century, they added some grape varieties that were less “Italian,” such as Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, like in Burgundy, and Cabernet and Merlot, like in Bordeaux. One hundred years later, other Tuscan growers did the same to improve the quality of their wines. What emerged were some interesting hybrids combining local Sangiovese with French varieties, vinified in the strictest Bordeaux tradition. This new genre would be called the Super Tuscans by the specialized press, which was completely dumbfounded by the development.

The Gorgona project

During the Renaissance, the Frescobaldi family already enjoyed a reputation for their patronage activities. Since then, their name has not only been synonymous with viticulture, but also arts and culture. To this day, the family continues to be involved in Tuscan society, especially on Gorgona Island, where the estate’s agronomists and winegrowers share their knowledge with inmates—at the request of the authorities—as part of rehabilitation programs at the end of their sentences. They say that the white wines produced in Gorgona “taste like freedom.”

Choice vineyards and plots

The Frescobaldi winery owns six properties located from northern Tuscany right through to the region’s south, from Florence to Siena to Maremma. Given the range of exceptional terroirs and picturesque landscapes, it’s hard to prefer one over the other, but if we had to choose… In Castiglioni, the Pomino and Giramonte plots are known for their excellent wines; in Castelgiocondo, Ripe al Convento and Lamaione are spectacular; and in Nipozzano, we have a soft spot for Montesodi and Mormoreto, both of which produce wines that are true to the style of their respective terroirs.

Producteur

Frescobaldi

Pays

ITALIE

Région

TOSCANE

Appellations

6

Fondation

1308

Climat

Varié selon les parcelles

Sol

Varié selon les parcelles

Vignoble

Le nombre d’hectares est toujours en évolution, selon le programme de plantation du domaine

Agriculture

Biologique et raisonnée

Production

85 % de vins rouges, 15 % de blancs

Cépages

Sangiovese

Âge des vignes

25 ans

En lumière

Famille Frescobaldi

Faisant partie de l’aristocratie florentine, cette famille est dévouée à la production de vins de la Toscane depuis plus de trente générations. Elle croit au respect du terroir, vise l’excellence de ses raisins et investit dans le rayonnement de la culture de sa région.

Les marquis de Frescobaldi, princes du vin toscan

Nous sommes fiers de compter parmi les nôtres la famille Frescobaldi, qui règne sur un des plus réputés vignobles toscans depuis plus de 700 ans et ne cesse depuis de transmettre la créativité et la quête de l’excellence à ses héritiers.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Régner à travers les âges

Leurs vins puissants et élégants ont ravi les plus grands souverains d’Europe à une époque où le Canada n’était pas encore découvert. Depuis le 13e siècle, les Frescobaldi ont érigé des vignobles autour de châteaux forts qui frappent l’imaginaire, et acquis des vignes desquelles ils tirent des Super Toscans, des vins parmi les plus prestigieux au monde. Bienvenue dans un monde à part.


Les balbutiements des Super Toscans

Banquiers d’élites, commerçants prospères, les Frescobaldi ont aussi été des vignerons visionnaires. Au milieu du 19e siècle, ils ont intégré dans leurs plantations des cépages moins « italiens » que chez leurs voisins : du pinot noir et du chardonnay comme en Bourgogne, du cabernet et du merlot comme à Bordeaux. Une centaine d’années plus tard, d’autres producteurs toscans suivront l’exemple pour rehausser la qualité de leurs vins et se mettront à produire de surprenants métissages de sangiovese local et de cépages français, vinifiés dans la plus pure tradition bordelaise. Ces vins nouveau genre seront baptisés les Super Toscans par une presse spécialisée complètement époustouflée.


Le projet Gorgona

Déjà, à la Renaissance, la famille Frescobaldi était reconnue pour ses activités de mécénat, et elle est depuis toujours associée non seulement à la viticulture, mais aussi à l’art et à la culture. Elle continue de s’impliquer dans la société toscane, notamment sur l’île de Gorgona, où les agronomes et vignerons de la maison, à la demande des autorités, partagent leurs connaissances avec des détenus en vue de leur réhabilitation à la fin de leur peine. On dit volontiers du vin blanc issu de Gorgona qu’il a « un goût de liberté ».


Des vignobles et des parcelles de choix

Frescobaldi, c’est un vignoble sur six domaines disséminés du nord au sud de la Toscane, de Florence à la Maremme en passant par Sienne. Difficile de préférer une parcelle à une autre devant un tel éventail de terroirs d’exception et de paysages de carte postale. Pourtant, on y arrive! À Castiglioni, les noms de Pomino et de Giramonte sont associés à de grands vins; à Castelgiocondo, l’émotion naît de Ripe al Convento et de Lamaione; à Nipozzano, on admire Montesodi et Mormoreto, qui fournissent des vins célèbres pour être fidèles au style de leur terroir.