Producer

JEAN LEON

Country

SPAIN

Region of production

Penedès

Appellations

Penedès

Founded

1963

Climate

Mediterranean.

Soil composition

Gravel, calcareous clay, sand.

Vineyard

70 hectares under vine; 150 hectares in total.

Agriculture

Certified organic.

Production Volume

60% red wine, 30% white wine, 10% rosé.

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Chardonnay, Merlot, Petit Verdot Noir, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

From new plantings to over 50-year-old vines.

Behind the Wines

Jean Leon

Born in the Basque region of Spain, Jean Leon emigrated to America at the end of the 1940s. While working as a waiter in Frank Sinatra’s Villa Capri restaurant, Leon hobnobbed with Hollywood’s elite. This would stand him in good stead upon opening his own Beverly Hills-based Italian eatery. Leon’s La Scala was a celebrity hotspot throughout the late 1950s and 1960s. In 1963, Leon decided to follow another cherished dream; to produce his own fine wines. After scouring the vineyards of Europe, Leon settled on the Penedès region. A long and successful winemaking career followed. Before his death in 1996, Jean Leon entrusted his estate to the Torres Family.

Spanish wines with personnality

Jean Leon changed the face of Penedès wines. Upon acquiring his estate, he stunned local winegrowers by uprooted native grape varieties. Leon replanted his land with vine cuttings from the most prestigious estates of France. He was the first winemaker in Spain to produce a Cabernet Sauvignon dominant wine.
Access the wines of this producer

“Four Jean Leon wines are Single Vineyard Wine certified. Each vineyard has a singular personality and characteristics. They are a bottled expression of their terroir.” - Mireia Torres, head winemaker and Jean Leon Director

A Presidential Seal of Approval

Jean Leon’s Penedès wines rapidly met with critical acclaim in the United States. The intense, ripe-fruited character of Spain, paired with the noble grapes of Bordeaux, proved a winning combination. The 1975 vintage of Vinya La Scala Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva was chosen for Ronald Reagan’s inaugural dinner at the White House.

The Single Vineyard Designation

Jean Leon was the first winery in Penedès to receive the Vi de Finca (Single Vineyard Wine) designation. This is the highest distinction a wine can obtain in Catalonia. The certification acknowledges the unique character of certain vineyard sites. More specifically, it highlights the rare combination of a particular variety, a certain type of soil, and a favourable microclimate that produce exceptional wine.

Old Vines and Organic Viticulture

The first Cabernet Sauvignon vineyards were planted in 1963. Sourced from among the finest wineries of France, a portion of these noble vines still exist today. They produce minute quantities of highly concentrated, flavourful grapes. The entire estate was converted to organic viticulture in 2008, and officially certified in 2012. The team works exclusively with natural fertilizers, integrated pest management techniques, and chemical-free herbicides. These natural practices have lead to balanced, healthy vineyards.

The Ultimate Jean Leon Food & Wine Pairing

Jean Leon’s Director, Mireia Torres, loves paella. Torres swears by her grandmother’s special recipe which combines sausage and seafood (monkfish, mussels, squid, cuttlefish, shrimp and langoustines). “It is very important to cook the rice in freshly prepared fish stock and really let the saffron shine”. Torres recommends the Vinya Gigi Chardonnay with this dish. The wine’s vibrant acidity, bright citrus flavours, and complex toasty finish make for an extraordinary match.

Producteur

JEAN LEON

Pays

ESPAGNE

Région

Penedès

Appellations

Penedès

Fondation

1963

Climat

Méditerranéen.

Sol

Gravier, argile calcaire, sable.

Vignoble

70 hectares en viticulture; 150 hectares au total.

Agriculture

Certifiée biologique.

Production

60 % vin rouge, 30 % vin blanc, 10 % rosé

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Chardonnay, Merlot, Petit verdot noir, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

Des nouvelles plantations jusqu’aux vignes de plus de 50 ans.

En lumière

Jean Leon

Né au Pays basque, en Espagne, Jean Leon a émigré aux États-Unis à la fin des années 1940. Alors qu’il travaillait comme garçon de table au restaurant Villa Capri de Frank Sinatra, il a côtoyé les grands noms hollywoodiens. Cela a contribué au succès de La Scala, son propre restaurant de cuisine italienne qu’il a ensuite ouvert à Beverly Hills et qui est devenu un lieu de fréquentation populaire auprès des célébrités tout au long des années 1950 et 1960. En 1963, Leon a décidé de réaliser un autre rêve qui lui tenait à cœur : produire ses propres vins fins. Après avoir parcouru les vignobles d’Europe, Leon a choisi la région du Penedès, marquant le début d’une longue et fructueuse carrière en vinification. Avant son décès en 1996, Jean Leon a confié son domaine à la famille Torres.

Des vins espagnols avec de la personnalité

Jean Leon a transformé les vins du Penedès. À l’achat de son domaine, il a sidéré les viticulteurs locaux en arrachant les vignes des cépages indigènes pour les remplacer par des boutures de vignes provenant des domaines français les prestigieux. Il a été le premier vinificateur en Espagne à produire un vin composé principalement de cabernet sauvignon.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Quatre vins Jean Leon portent la certification “vin de domaine”. Chaque vignoble a une personnalité et des caractéristiques qui lui sont propres. Les vins qui en sont issus sont l’expression embouteillée de leur terroir. »
- Mireia Torres, vinificatrice en chef et directrice générale de Jean Leon 

Sceau d’approbation présidentiel

Les vins du Penedès de Jean Leon ont rapidement été acclamés par la critique aux États-Unis. Le mariage entre l’expression intense de fruits mûrs propre aux vins espagnols et les nobles cépages de Bordeaux s’est révélé une combinaison gagnante. Le millésime 1975 du Vinya La Scala Cabernet Sauvignon Gran Reserva a été servi à la Maison Blanche, au banquet d’investiture de Ronald Reagan.


La désignation « vin de domaine »

Jean Leon a été le premier domaine du Penedès à recevoir la désignation Vi de Finca (vin de domaine), la plus haute distinction qu’un vin peut obtenir en Catalogne. Cette attestation reconnaît le caractère unique de certains sites de vignoble. Plus précisément, elle souligne la rare combinaison d’un cépage particulier, d’un certain type de sol  et d’un microclimat favorable qui produit un vin exceptionnel.


Vieilles vignes et viticulture raisonnée

Les premières vignes de cabernet sauvignon ont été plantées en 1963. Provenant de certains des plus grands domaines de France, une partie de ces vignes nobles existent encore aujourd’hui. Elles produisent de minimes quantités de raisins extrêmement concentrés et savoureux. Tout le domaine a été converti à la viticulture biologique en 2008 et a été officiellement certifié en 2012. L’équipe travaille exclusivement avec des fertilisants naturels, des techniques intégrées de lutte parasitaire et des herbicides sans agent chimique. Ces méthodes naturelles ont mené à des vignobles sains et équilibrés.  


Le parfait accord pour les vins Jean Leon

Mireia Torres, directrice générale de Jean Leon, raffole de la paella. Elle ne jure que par la recette spéciale de sa grand-mère, qui combine saucisses et fruits de mer (baudroie, moules, pieuvre, seiche, crevettes et langoustines). « Il est très important de faire cuire le riz dans un bouillon de poisson fraîchement préparé et de laisser le safran s’exprimer. » Mireia recommande le Vinya Gigi Chardonnay pour accompagner ce plat. La vive acidité du vin, ses éclatantes flaveurs d’agrume et sa finale complexe au goût grillé rendent ce mariage extraordinaire.

 

Notre boutique de vins fins