Producer

José Maria da Fonseca

Country

PORTUGAL

Region of production

, ,

Appellations

Península de Setúbal, Alentejo, Douro Valley

Founded

1834

Climate

Península de Setúbal: Mediterranean with maritime influences Alentejo: Mediterranean Douro Valley: Continental

Soil composition

Península de Setúbal: Sandy soils with clay-limestone Alentejo: Granite Douro Valley: Schist

Vineyard

650 hectares owned. Sourced grapes from selected suppliers.

Agriculture

Sustainable viticulture

Production Volume

45% white wine, 55% red wine

Varieties Grown

Ages of Vines

Average of 30-year-old vines

Behind the Wines

Domingos Soares Franco

Born in 1956, Domingos Soares Franco is the 6th generation of his family to manage the José Maria da Fonseca winery. Domingos made a name for himself as the first Portuguese winemaker to graduate from the prestigious University of California, Davis winemaking program. Domingos comes from a long line of innovators. His studies and his passion for excellence in winemaking led him to establish a team of hand-picked oenologists to work on a wide range of research projects and experiments at the winery.

Winemaking pioneers of Portugal

In the 1850s, to the surprise of fellow wine producers, José Maria da Fonseca began bottling his Periquita range of wines. At that time still wine was sold in bulk, by the barrel, throughout Portugal. According to José Maria “it was the civilized way of presenting things”.
Access the wines of this producer

“The search for quality is key. Our yields are relatively low… and our vineyards are on average older than other vineyards in the same areas. We focus on quality rather than producing large quantities.” - António Soares Franco

 

ENVIRONMENTAL INNOVATORS

José Maria da Fonseca pioneered drip irrigation in Portugal, implementing the system in their vineyards as early as 1993. They were also among the first to grow cover crops between vine rows to retain moisture and enhance biodiversity. The soils are fertilized with grape stems and organic matter from pruning. The goal of the winery is to find a balance between technology and the preservation of natural resources.

HIGHLY PRIZED, OLD VINE VINEYARDS

While the majority of José Maria da Fonseca’s vineyards were replanted in the late 1980s to early 1990s, the estate boasts several old vine vineyards. In the warm plains of Alentejo, in southern Portugal, lies one of the winery’s most cherished vineyards. The Monte da Ribeira plot, in Reguengos de Monsaraz, was planted in the 1950s. It was the first trellised vineyard in Portugal using granite poles.

TRADITIONAL CLAY POT VINIFICATION

Local grape varieties Trincadeira, Aragonez and the exquisite Grand Noir grow in the Monte da Ribeira vineyard. The ancient technique of fermenting in clay pots is used here to craft authentic wines expressing a unique character typical of the region. This vinification method preserves wonderful freshness in the wine. With age, complex aromas of dates, chocolate, leather and earth develop in these exceptional wines.

 

A TREASURED FAMILY RECIPE

The traditional sweet pastries of Azeitão are a favourite of the Soares Franco family. This recipe of eggs, sugar, flour and cinnamon has been passed down from one generation of the family to next. The delicate, flaky texture and soothing sweetness pairs perfectly with José Maria da Fonseca’s Moscatel de Setúbal. This sweet, fortified Muscat is very fresh, with complex flavours derived from ageing in traditional cellars.

Producteur

José Maria da Fonseca

Pays

PORTUGAL

Région

, ,

Appellations

Península de Setúbal, Alentejo, Douro Valley

Fondation

1834

Climat

Península de Setúbal : Méditerranéen avec des influences maritimes Alentejo : Méditerranéen Vallée du Douro : Continental

Sol

Península de Setúbal : Sableux et argilo-calcaire Alentejo : Granit Vallée du Douro : Schiste

Vignoble

650 hectares appartenant au domaine. Approvisionnement supplémentaire en raisins auprès de fournisseurs sélectionnés.

Agriculture

Viticulture raisonnée

Production

45 % de vins blancs et 55 % de vins rouges

Cépages

Âge des vignes

30 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Domingos Soares Franco

Né en 1956, Domingos Soares Franco appartient à la 6e génération de la famille qui dirige le domaine José Maria da Fonseca. Domingos est reconnu dans le milieu comme étant le premier vinificateur portugais diplômé du programme de vinification du campus Davis de la prestigieuse University of California. Ses études et sa passion pour l’excellence en vinification l’ont amené à constituer une équipe d’œnologues triés sur le volet, qui travaillent à une vaste gamme de projets de recherche et d’expérimentation au domaine.

Pionniers de la vinification au Portugal

Dans les années 1850, au grand étonnement des autres producteurs de vins, José Maria da Fonseca a commencé à embouteiller sa gamme de vins Periquita. À cette époque, le vin tranquille était encore vendu en vrac, en barriques, partout au Portugal. Selon José Maria « c’était la façon civilisée de présenter les choses ».
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« La recherche de la qualité est cruciale. Nos rendements sont relativement faibles… et nos vignes sont généralement plus vieilles que celles des autres vignobles. Nous axons nos efforts sur la qualité plutôt que sur la production de grandes quantités. »
- António Soares Franco

 
Innovateurs en matière d'environnement

José Maria da Fonseca fut un pionnier de l’irrigation goutte-à-goutte au Portugal en implantant ce système dans ses vignobles dès 1993. Le domaine a aussi été l’un des premiers à pratiquer la culture de couverture entre les rangs de vignes pour retenir l’humidité et augmenter la biodiversité. Les sols sont fertilisés avec les rafles de raisin et la matière organique issue de la taille des vignes. Le domaine cherche ainsi à trouver l’équilibre entre la technologie et la conservation des ressources naturelles.

 
Vieilles vignes très prisées

Bien que la majorité des vignobles du domaine José Maria da Fonseca aient été replantés entre la fin des années 1980 et le début des années1990, le domaine s’enorgueillit encore de nombreux vignobles de vieilles vignes. Les plaines chaudes de l’Alentejo, dans le sud du Portugal, accueillent les plus précieux vignobles du domaine. La parcelle de Monte da Ribeira, à Reguengos de Monsaraz, a été plantée dans les années 1950. C’était le premier vignoble portugais de vignes treillissées sur tige de granit.

 
Vinification traditionnelle en amphores d'argile

Les cépages locaux que sont le trincadeira, l’aragonez et l’exquis grand noir sont cultivés au vignoble Monte da Ribeira. La technique séculaire de fermentation en amphores d’argile est utilisée ici pour réaliser des vins authentiques qui expriment le caractère unique et typique de la région. Cette méthode de vinification préserve la merveilleuse fraîcheur de ces vins exceptionnels qui, en vieillissant, développent des arômes complexes de dates, chocolat, cuir et terre.


Précieuse recette familiale

Les traditionnelles tortas de Azeitão sont parmi les gâteaux favoris de la famille Soares Franco. Cette recette à base d’œufs, de sucre, de farine et de cannelle se transmet de génération en génération. La texture délicatement feuilletée et la douceur réconfortante de cette pâtisserie se marie parfaitement au Moscatel de Setúbal du domaine José Maria da Fonseca. Ce muscat doux et fortifié est très frais, avec des flaveurs complexes acquises par un vieillissement en caves traditionnelles.

Notre boutique de vins fins