Producer

Kosta Browne

Country

UNITED STATES

Region of production

Sonoma County

Appellations

Russian River Valley
Sonoma Coast
Santa Lucia Highlands

Founded

1997

Climate

Mediterranean, influenced by ocean currents and rolling hills, resulting in diverse microclimates and a large diurnal temperature variation

Soil composition

Clay, sand or volcanic, depending on the plot

Vineyard

Grapes are sourced from several hundred hectares; the winery owns a few dozen hectares

Agriculture

Biodynamic and organic

Production Volume

25,000 bottles;
88% reds,
12% whites

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

20 years old, on average

Behind the Wines

Nico Cueva

For Nico Cueva, all roads lead… to wine. He spent his childhood among the vines and taught organic agriculture before branching out into the wine business. He honed his craft by visiting vineyards, ultimately becoming a seasoned winemaker. He has been working for Kosta Browne since 2011.

Dan Kosta and Michael Browne: fans of Pinot Noir

“We were just as drawn to the stories behind these two ex-sommeliers as we were to the wine. Without any formal training, Kosta and Browne followed their passion and palates, learning winemaking through trial and error. And they don’t disappoint—the fruit of their labour earned them Wine Spectator’s Wine of the Year for 2011.”
— Pierre-Adrien Fleurant, Director of Galleon
Access the wines of this producer

Sonoma Coast

When people think of California wineries, they see vast, sunlit vineyards... and it's generally true. But this side of the coast has mountains, valleys and fog from the Pacific; temperatures fluctuate between hot and cold, which has a positive effect on the grapes. The resulting wines are remarkably diverse.

One of the region’s flagship vineyards is none other than Gap’s Crown. Kosta Browne has been sourcing their grapes from the property since 2006 (they were used for the 2009 vintage, selected as Wine Spectator’s 2011 Wine of the Year). The vines, planted to encourage even sunlight exposure, also benefit from a late-season fog that allows the grapes to ripen slowly, resulting in more balanced and evolved flavours.

Russian River Valley

While the vineyards in this small appellation may differ one from the other, most of them share a common influence—the cool air from the Pacific Coast that rolls inland along the Russian River. The resulting fog cools down the vines at night, offering them a respite from hot daytime temperatures. This is the heartland of California Pinot Noir.

Santa Lucia Highlands

East of the coast, Santa Lucia Highlands is relatively new—its first vineyards were developed in the 1970s. The vines are generally above an elevation of 300 m, so they can benefit from the ocean breezes and fog coming in from Monterey Bay. Pinot Noir excels on these hillsides, which is what led Kosta Browne to the region.

CIRQ: It’s showtime!

We discovered CIRQ, the estate’s latest label, at the New York Wine Experience in October 2015. The name CIRQ is inspired by the time its founder, Michael Browne, spent in the circus as a child. Browne developed two Pinot Noirs with grapes from two vineyards that he found and cultivated himself. Both sites are west of the Russian River Valley and are above the fog line at an elevation of 230 m. But their personalities set them apart: Treehouse has volcanic soil and receives more sunlight than surrounding areas, while Bootlegger’s Hill, surrounded by redwood and fir trees, produces a more red-fruited wine. We were drawn to Treehouse’s intensity as much as we were to Bootlegger’s elegance.

Our fine wine Boutique

Producteur

Kosta Browne

Pays

ÉTATS-UNIS

Région

Sonoma County

Appellations

Russian River Valley
Sonoma Coast
Santa Lucia Highlands

Fondation

1997

Climat

Climat méditerranéen influencé par les courants océaniques et les reliefs vallonnés, offrant une diversité de microclimats et de grandes amplitudes thermiques

Sol

Argileux, sablonneux ou volcanique selon les parcelles

Vignoble

Plusieurs centaines d’hectares en achat, quelques dizaines d’hectares en propriété

Agriculture

Biodynamique et biologique

Production

25 000 bouteilles;
88 % de vins rouges,
12 % de vins blancs

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

20 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Nico Cueva

Pour Nico Cueva, tous les chemins mènent… au vin. Il a passé son enfance dans les vignes, puis il a enseigné l’agriculture biologique avant de bifurquer vers le commerce du vin. Les voyages vinicoles l’ont mené à parfaire ses connaissances jusqu’à ce qu’il devienne un vinificateur chevronné, en poste chez Kosta Browne depuis 2011.

Dan Kosta et Michael Browne : fous de pinot noir

« Nous avons été séduits autant par l’histoire humaine que par les vins de ces deux ex-sommeliers. Sans formation initiale en vinification, Kosta et Browne ont appris selon la méthode empirique, en suivant leur goût et leur passion. Cela les a conduits au tout premier rang du Wine Spectator en 2011. »
- Pierre-Adrien Fleurant, directeur de Galleon
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Sonoma Coast

On se fait des vignobles californiens l’image de vastes cultures gorgées de soleil. C’est vrai en général, mais sur cette partie de la côte, marquée par des montagnes et des vallées, le paysage est aussi enveloppé par le brouillard du Pacifique. Résultat : le climat oscille entre la chaleur et la fraîcheur, ce qui est bénéfique pour les vignes. Les vins qui y sont élaborés témoignent d’une remarquable diversité.

Un des vignobles-vedettes de la région n’est autre que Gap’s Crown, dont Kosta Browne achète le raisin depuis 2006 (ces fruits sont d’ailleurs entrés dans la composition du millésime 2009, élu vin de l’année en 2011 par le Wine Spectator). Les vignes, alignées selon la course du soleil, profitent également des brouillards tardifs qui favorisent une maturation lente; les raisins ayant ainsi des saveurs plus raffinées et équilibrées.


Russian River Valley

Si plusieurs aspects différencient les vignobles de cette petite appellation, la majorité d’entre eux partage la même influence : celle d’un courant frais qui vient de la côte Pacifique et pénètre l’intérieur des terres en suivant la rivière Russian. Le brouillard qui en résulte permet aux vignes de se reposer à la nuit tombée, avant de retrouver un regain d’énergie lorsque le soleil réchauffe les vallées. Nous sommes ici au cœur de la culture du pinot noir californien.


Santa Lucia Highlands

Située à l’est de la région côtière, Santa Lucia Highlands est une appellation récente, les premiers vignobles datant des années 1970. Ils sont généralement situés à plus de 300 m d’altitude, ce qui leur permet de tirer parti du brouillard et des courants frais qui émanent de la baie de Monterey. La culture du pinot noir y est excellente, ce qui a mené Kosta Browne à affectionner cette région.

 
CIRQ : place au spectacle!

C’est à la New York Wine Experience, en octobre 2015, que nous avons découvert CIRQ, dernière réalisation du domaine en date. C’est le projet personnel de Michael Browne, une évocation directe de son passé de fildefériste! Deux pinots noirs y sont produits, issus de deux parcelles de choix qu’il a dénichées et qu’il cultive lui-même, à l’ouest de la Russian River Valley. Ces deux parcelles sont situées à 230 m d’altitude, au-dessus du brouillard qui emplit la vallée. Leurs personnalités les différencient : Treehouse, au sol volcanique, profite du plus généreux ensoleillement de la région; Bootlegger’s Hill, protégée de séquoias et de sapins, favorise la croissance de raisins bien rouges. La puissance du premier vignoble nous a séduit, tout autant que l’élégance du second.