Producer

Kracher

Country

AUSTRIA

Region of production

BURGENLAND

Appellations

Neusiedlersee

Founded

1959

Climate

Humid continental climate that is typical of the Pannonian Plain and promotes the development of noble rot

Soil composition

Sand and gravel

Vineyard

40 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

120,000 bottles; 90% whites, 10% reds

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Sauvignon , Chardonnay, Merlot, Pinot Gris

Ages of Vines

25 years

Behind the Wines

Gerhard Kracher

The grandson of founder Alois Kracher Sr., Gerhard took the helm of the winery in 2007, replacing his father Alois Jr., (“Luis”). Known for his natural curiosity, Gerhard keeps the family tradition alive while introducing the industry’s most recent advancements.

Austria’s best sweet wines

Access the wines of this producer

The Kracher estate was first founded in 1959 by a visionary winemaker, and within decades it had become one of the world’s leading producers of dessert wines.

From mushroom to liquid gold

When controlled, noble rot can be a tremendous gift from nature—particularly for makers of sweet wines. The Krachers leverage this fungus to transform their grapes into precious gems and their juice into sublimely sweet wine.

The perfect terroir for sweet wines

The Weinlaubenhof Kracher estate is located on the Seewinkel Plain. Barely 20 kilometres across, it is peppered with shallow ponds that release moisture into the air and cloak the land with a dense fog, creating a hauntingly beautiful effect. When heated by the hot mid-day sun, these airborne water droplets promote the proliferation of Botrytis cinerea. A disaster? Not at all! This fungal growth on the grapes is actually a blessing, as it helps concentrate the sugars and makes it possible to produce sweet wines. This is something that Alois Kracher Sr. understood back when he founded his estate—which happened to be the same year his son was born.

Plot division and the Nouvelle Vague

Alois Jr. (Luis) was a pioneer in the region. Before him, no other winegrower had worked his vines with such careful attention to detail. In fact, he was the first to create separate plots for botrytised wines, working on the principle that the grapes would only be harvested when the fruit on each plot had reached the perfect level of maturity. This pursuit of perfection is also seen in the Nouvelle Vague line, in which wines are numbered from 1 to 12, depending on their level of sweetness. This collection was rated best in Austria by Robert Parker.

Fond memories of smiles and sunshine

We met Gerhard Kracher in 2014 at the New York Wine Experience. We joined him at the wine bar owned by his compatriot Aldo Sohm (with whom he founded the Kracher and Sohm vineyard). During our conversation, we told Gerhard how we had come across one of his most well-known wines, Trockenbeerenauslese No. 5, after a friendly soccer game between winegrowers in Sao Paolo. The memory of that sunny afternoon spent tasting wines, combined with the fabulous soirée that we had with Gerhard, strengthened our ties with the Austrian winemaker.

TBA Welschriesling vs. Château d’Yquem: May the best wine win!

Of all the estate’s products, Gerhard says the 1981 TBA Welschriesling is the one he treasures most. Not only was it made by his grandfather the same year that he was born, but this vintage also won an epic duel in 1994. Back then, few people were familiar with Austrian wines, much to the chagrin of the Kracher family. To raise international awareness of his estate, Alois Jr. held a blind taste test at the London Wine Fair, pitting his 1981 TBA Welschriesling against the legendary 1983 Château d’Yquem. Not only did his wine win the battle, but Alois was named White Wine Producer of the Year. This proved to be a historic moment for the Kracher business, thrusting it into the spotlight and onto the path to success.

Sweets for the sweet

It goes without saying that Kracher wines are the perfect pairing for sumptuous Austrian desserts like Sachertorte, a decadent chocolate cake, or homemade crepes filled with apricot jam. Simply superb!

Producteur

Kracher

Pays

AUTRICHE

Région

BURGENLAND

Appellations

Neusiedlersee

Fondation

1959

Climat

Climat continental humide typique de la plaine de Pannonie favorisant la pourriture noble

Sol

Sable et gravier

Vignoble

40 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

120 000 bouteilles; 90 % de vins blancs; 10 % de rouges

Cépages

Cabernet sauvignon , Chardonnay, Merlot, Pinot gris

Âge des vignes

25 ans

En lumière

Gerhard Kracher

Petit-fils du fondateur Alois Kracher Sr, Gerhard a pris en 2007 le relai de son père Alois Jr, dit Luis, à la gestion du domaine. Curieux de nature, il perpétue la tradition familiale tout en mettant en pratique les dernières innovations de l’industrie.

Les meilleurs vins liquoreux d’Autriche

Établie en 1959 par un vigneron visionnaire, la maison Kracher ne mit que quelques décennies à devenir une référence mondiale dans le domaine des vins de dessert.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

 

De champignon à or liquide

La pourriture noble, pour peu qu’on la contrôle, est un vrai cadeau de la nature dont tirent profit les producteurs de vins doux. Chez les Kracher, on sait y faire avec ce champignon qui transforme le raisin en bijou et son jus, en un sublime vin doux.


Un terroir idéal pour des vins doux

Le domaine Weinlaubenhof Kracher est situé dans la Seewinkel, une plaine large d’à peine 20 km constellée de points d’eau peu profonds qui génèrent énormément d’humidité, enrobant le paysage d’une brume dense qui contribue à la beauté mystérieuse des lieux. Cette eau en suspension, réchauffée au milieu de la journée par un soleil ardent, favorise sur les vignes la prolifération du Botrytis cinerea. Une calamité ? Non, une bénédiction ! Car c’est grâce à ce champignon croissant sur les grains de raisins et qui en concentre les sucres que la production de vins doux est possible. Alois Kracher Sr, ce visionnaire, l’avait bien compris lorsqu’il fonda son domaine la même année où naquit son fils.


Parcellisation et Nouvelle Vague

Dans la région, Alois dit Luis fait figure de précurseur. Aucun vigneron avant lui n’a travaillé ses vignes avec autant de minutie. Il est d’ailleurs à l’origine de la parcellisation des vins botrytisés, ayant pour principe de vendanger uniquement lorsque le niveau de maturité des raisins de chaque parcelle est à son apogée. Cette recherche de la perfection se reflète notamment dans la gamme La Nouvelle Vague, où les vins sont numérotés de 1 à 12 selon leur niveau de sucre. Cette collection est la mieux notée en Autriche par Robert Parker.


Quand la complicité est au rendez-vous

Nous avons rencontré Gerhard Kracher en 2014 dans le cadre de la New York Wine Experience, précisément au bar à vins de son compatriote Aldo Sohm (avec qui, pour la petite histoire, il a fondé le vignoble Kracher and Sohm). Au fil de la conversation, nous avons raconté à Gerhard comment nous avons découvert un de ses vins phares, le Trockenbeerenauslese No. 5, à Sao Paulo, après un match de football amical entre producteurs vinicoles. Le souvenir de cet après-midi ensoleillé de dégustation, combiné à l’excellente soirée que nous étions en train de passer, a soudé nos liens avec le producteur autrichien.


TBA Welschriesling vs Château d’Yquem : que le meilleur gagne!

Parmi l’éventail des produits de la maison, Gerhard cible le TBA Welschriesling 1981 comme LE vin le plus cher à sa mémoire. Non seulement il a été élaboré par son grand-père l’année de sa naissance, mais cette cuvée remporta les honneurs lors d’un duel épique. C’était en 1994, à l’époque où peu de gens s’intéressaient aux vins autrichiens, au grand dam des Kracher. Afin de mieux faire connaître sa maison au monde entier, Alois Jr profita du London Wine Fair pour tenir une dégustation à l’aveugle opposant son TBA Welschriesling 1981 au mythique Château d’Yquem 1983. Non seulement son vin remporta le duel, mais Alois fut nommé Producteur de vin blanc de l’année. Cet évènement marqua d’une pierre blanche le chemin de la maison Kracher vers la popularité et le succès.


Vins doux et douceurs

On ne s’étonnera pas que les vins Kracher s’accordent parfaitement avec les succulents desserts autrichiens, tels que le sachertorte, un décadent gâteau au chocolat, ou des crêpes maison à la confiture d’abricots. Un délice.