Producer

La Scolca

Country

ITALY

Region of production

PIEDMONT

Appellations

Cortese dei Gavi

Founded

1919

Climate

Temperate maritime, with cold mountain winds and abundant sun

Soil composition

Clay-limestone, volcanic and ferrous, with limestone veins

Vineyard

66 hectares under production

Agriculture

Organic

Production Volume

600,000 bottles;
95% white,
with reds and rosés making up the remainder

Varieties Grown

Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

5 to 60 years

Behind the Wines

Giorgio and Chiara Soldati

This father and daughter team work together at the family vineyard. Chiara is the fifth generation of winegrowers and follows in the footsteps of her great-grandfather while keeping her sights on the future.

Looking ahead, both near and far

Access the wines of this producer

La Scolca was the first winery established in Gavi, as well as one of the earliest producers of white wine in Italy. We visited this groundbreaking family-owned operation.

The vineyard is located some 50 kilometres from the sea, in the Rovereto Superiore area of Gavi. Planted on steep hills and caressed by the temperate Mediterranean climate, the Cortese vines—the oldest in the Piedmont region—produce complex wines and some of Italy’s best Grand Crus. 

Bold choices

How might we describe the winemakers at La Scolca? Daring and bold. Indeed, the vineyard’s founder, Giovanni Battista Parodi, charted his own unique course, planting nothing but Cortese on his land at a time when the other growers in the region cultivated nothing but red varieties!

Since then, the winery has implemented and perfected cryomaceration, a technique that involves cold fermentation and the use of natural yeast strains. This helps preserve the fruity quality of the grapes, as well as their minerality and acidity. As a result, La Scolca wines are complex and elegant, effectively showcasing their terroir.   

Simple, authentic, quality

Even though high-tech techniques are used to make the wines, only the most natural methods are employed to grow the grapes that go into them. At La Scolca, the vines are literally pampered for a simple reason: “We need excellent grapes if we want excellent wines,” says Chiara Soldati.

A symbolic tower

Several notable symbols are associated with La Scolca, such as its name, which means “Look carefully” in Italian. Indeed, the property once was an observation post for the neighbouring valleys. With this is mind, it’s no surprise that the winery’s villa is now flanked by a tower that not only offers an obstructed view of the vines, but also represents the visionary approach that made them one of the most modern wineries in the region. Also, the Soldati name is quite fitting for this army of winemakers who have been soldiering on for generations.

Most memorable wine-tasting experience

“We were overcome with excitement when we had the chance to try a bottle of the historic 1989 Gavi dei Gavi La Scolca. The winery’s artisans really put their knowledge to use and made bold choices, and the result is a wine with balanced acidity and minerality, a lingering palate of sweetness and fruit.” — Chiara Soldati

Producteur

La Scolca

Pays

ITALIE

Région

PIÉMONT

Appellations

Cortese dei Gavi

Fondation

1919

Climat

Maritime tempéré, avec des vents froids des montagnes et un ensoleillement généreux

Sol

Argilo-calcaire, volcanique et ferreux, avec présence de veines de calcaire

Vignoble

66 hectares en production

Agriculture

Biologique

Production

600 000 bouteilles;
95 % de vins blancs,
le reste en rouge et en rosés

Cépages

Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

De 5 à 60 ans

En lumière

Giorgio et Chiara Soldati

Père et fille travaillent de concert sur l’exploitation familiale. Chiara, représentante de la cinquième génération de vignerons, poursuit le travail de son arrière-grand-père tout en regardant vers l’avenir.

Regarder loin, et droit devant

Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

La Scolca est historiquement le tout premier producteur de Gavi, en plus d’être parmi les plus anciennes exploitations à fabriquer du vin blanc en Italie. Visite d’un domaine familial audacieux.

Le vignoble est situé à 50 km de la mer, dans la partie Rovereto Superiore de la commune de Gavi. Plantées sur des collines escarpées, bercées par un climat méditerranéen tempéré, les vignes de cortese, les plus vieilles du Piémont, donnent des vins complexes et des grands crus nommés parmi les meilleurs d’Italie.

Des choix à contre-courant

Une caractéristique propre aux gestionnaires du domaine La Scolca? L’audace. À preuve : Giovanni Battista Parodi, le fondateur, a osé planter uniquement du cortese sur ses terres, alors que les autres producteurs de la région ne cultivaient que des cépages de rouge!

L’une des pratiques les plus perfectionnées mises en place au domaine est la vinification basée sur la cryo-macération, la fermentation à froid et l’utilisation de levures naturelles. Ceci permet de conserver aux raisins leur côté fruité, leur minéralité et leur acidité. Il en résulte des vins complexes et élégants, qui se distinguent par leur terroir bien préservé.   

Simplicité, authenticité, qualité

Si la vinification tient de la haute technologie, la culture du raisin demeure la plus naturelle possible. À La Scolca, on bichonne littéralement les vignes, dans un but bien simple : « Obtenir un excellent vin à partir d’excellents raisins », comme le dit Chiara Soldati.

Une tour symbolique

Plusieurs symboles puissants gravitent autour de La Scolca, à commencer par son nom, dérivé d’une expression italienne signifiant « regardez bien » : l’ancienne propriété était en effet un poste d’observation sur les vallons environnants. Ce n’est donc pas un hasard si la villa du domaine est aujourd’hui flanquée d’une tour : elle offre bien sûr un point de vue imprenable sur les vignes, mais elle représente également le côté visionnaire des vignerons, qui ont fait de leur domaine le plus moderne de la région. Quant au nom Soldati, disons qu’il est plus qu’approprié à cette armée de soldats-vignerons au service de la vigne depuis des générations…

Un grand moment de dégustation

« Le vin historique Gavi dei Gavi La Scolca 1989 nous a fait vivre une grande émotion lors de sa dégustation. Les connaissances des artisans du domaine ont mené à des choix audacieux et il en a résulté un vin à l’acidité et à la minéralité équilibrées, avec une finale douce et fruitée longue en bouche. Presque de la magie. » — Chiara Soldati