Producer

Lar de Paula

Country

SPAIN

Region of production

Appellations

Rioja DOCa

Founded

1964, by Fernando Meruelo

Climate

Rioja has a continental climate. The Alavesa sub-region is located 100km south of the Basque coast, and thus benefits from cooling Atlantic breezes. Warm temperatures are carried up from the Mediterranean Sea via the Ebro river.

Soil composition

Clay-Limestone

Vineyard

Approximately 150 hectares

Agriculture

Sustainable viticulture in practice; not certified

Production Volume

95 % red wine, 5 % white wine 110 000 cases

Varieties Grown

Tempranillo Noir

Ages of Vines

Average of 40-year-old vines

Behind the Wines

Fernando Meruelo

Fernando Meruelo, born on February 11th, 1953, is the estate’s viticulturalist. He works alongside his younger brother José Antonio, who heads up the winemaking team. Fernando’s eldest daughter, Patricia, also works for the estate. The new cellar built in 2001 was named after Fernando’s other daughter, Paula. This is truly a family affair!

A Winery at the Top of its Game

From the high quality of their vineyard sites, to their innovative practices, Lar de Paula has worked tirelessly to attain their status as a leading producer in the Rioja Alavesa region.
Access the wines of this producer

“We have been working with our grower partners for over 30 years now. They are all based in the villages of Kripan, Elvillar and Laguardia. This close, social network is a source of great pride for us.”
-       Fernando Meruelo, grower

 

An Enviable Terroir

Old vine Tempranillo planted in clay-limestone soils at 600 metres above sea level yield wines of great elegance and freshness. The southern exposure allows the grapes to reach optimal maturity ensuring perfect balance and supple texture.

 

Innovative Practices

The winery has pioneered several exciting techniques, notably as concerns barrel toasting. One such practice involves toasting barrels on a horizontal axis by resistance. This allows a more homogenous toast level for the barrel. The estate is also working towards reusing the CO2 produced during the fermentation process.

 

Continuous Quality Improvement

Since completing construction of their new winery in 2001, Lar de Paula has been working on unique parcel selections. Smaller tanks allow them to vinify each plot individually. This project has particular merit going forward, as a new classification system is being put in place in the Rioja Alavesa. It will allow estates to highlight the specific origin of grapes. Javier Ruiz de Galarreta, CEO of ARAEX Grands (of which Lar de Paula is a 25-year member), was one of the chief campaigners behind this new classification.

 

A Love of the Land

The pairing of a wine with its regional dishes is a sacred pleasure. In winter, “Patatas al chorizo”, is the perfect accompaniment to the Lar de Paula Reserva du Vigneron. In summer, the Lar de Paula Terrazas is the ideal wine to serve with lamb chops grilled on a bed of vine cuttings.

Producteur

Lar de Paula

Pays

ESPAGNE

Région

Rioja

Appellations

Rioja DOCa

Fondation

1964 par Fernando Meruelo

Climat

Influence atlantique et méditerranéenne. Rioja Alavesa, située à 100 km au sud de la côte basque, est le carrefour de l’influence atlantique et des températures modérées qui remontent avec le fleuve Ebro depuis la méditerranée.

Sol

Argilo-calcaire

Vignoble

Environ 150 hectares

Agriculture

Agriculture raisonnée mais non certifiée

Production

95 % de rouge, 5 % de blanc 110 000 caisses

Cépages

Tempranillo noir

Âge des vignes

40 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Fernando Meruelo

Vigneron du domaine, Fernando Meruelo est né le 11 février 1953. Il œuvre au côté de son jeune frère Jose Antonio, qui est responsable des vinifications. Patricia, la fille aînée de Fernando travaille également sur le domaine. Tandis que la nouvelle cave construite en 2001 porte le nom de son autre fille Paula : une histoire de famille.  

Un domaine à la hauteur

De son emplacement géographique à ses pratiques innovantes, Lar de Paula a tout mis en œuvre pour devenir une référence dans les terroirs de la région de Rioja Alavesa.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Tous les vignerons avec lesquels nous travaillons depuis plus de 30 ans sont basés sur les villages de Kripan, Elvillar et Laguardia. Ce réseau « social » de proximité est notre grande fierté. » - Fernando Meruelo, vigneron

 

L’attrait géographique

De vieilles vignes de tempranillo s’enracinent dans un sol argilo-calcaire à plus de 600 mètres d’altitude, donnant au raisin toute sa fraicheur et son élégance. Les orientations plein sud permettent une maturation optimale des baies, produisant alors des vins équilibrés et souples.

 

Des pratiques novatrices

La cave a mené plusieurs projets pionniers dont la chauffe des barriques. Il s’agit entre autres de la chauffe horizontale par résistance qui offre l’avantage de définir plus précisément l’homogénéité des toastings de ses barriques. Le vigneron travaille également sur la réutilisation du CO2 produit pendant la vinification.

 

Une amélioration continuelle

Depuis la construction de sa nouvelle cave en 2001, Lar de Paula œuvre  sur une orientation plus parcellaire. De plus petites cuves servent à vinifier chaque sélection. Un travail qui porte ses fruits, puisque la nouvelle classification de Rioja Alavesa va permettre de prévaloir l’origine des raisins. Cette nouvelle classification a notamment été promue par Javier Ruiz de Galarreta, CEO de ARAEX Grands dont Lar de Paula est un membre depuis 25 ans.

 

Un grand amour du terroir

Le mariage du vin et des mets régionaux est un plaisir sacré, une réelle fierté. L’hiver, « Patatas al chorizo » se combine parfaitement au Lar de Paula Reserva du vigneron. L’été, le Lar de Paula Terrazas se conjugue à la perfection à des côtelettes d’agneau grillées sur sarments.

Notre boutique de vins fins