Producer

Maison Joseph Drouhin

Country

FRANCE

Appellations

90, of which 60 belong to the winery

Founded

1880

Climate

Semi-continental temperate

Soil composition

Clay-limestone

Vineyard

80 hectares, 60% of which are Premiers and Grands Crus spanning from the Côte Chalonnaise through to the Chablisien, and passing through the historical heart of Burgundy, Côte de Beaune and Côte de Nuits

Agriculture

Biodynamic

Production Volume

60% whites, 40% reds

Ages of Vines

35 years, on average

Behind the Wines

Philippe Drouhin

Philippe Drouhin was born in 1961, a great year for wine in Burgundy. As the winery’s director and manager, he oversees its operations in Côte-d’Or, Chablis and Oregon. He is one of the four Drouhin heirs, along with his brother Frédéric, President of Maison Joseph Drouhin, brother Laurent, manager of the North American market, and sister Véronique, the winery’s oenologist in Oregon.

The biggest landowner in Burgundy

Access the wines of this producer

Maison Joseph Drouhin is both a wine trader and producer. It covers 90 appellations, of which two thirds are its own—and nearly all of these are Grands Crus or Premiers Crus. This exceptional establishment is a pioneer in many areas.

It all started with Clos des Mouches

In 1921, Maurice Drouhin, son of Joseph, purchased his first plot. He planted Chardonnay on the site and went on to become a full-fledged producer. Clos des Mouches, which enjoys enviable sun exposure and features various terroirs, is now split between reds and whites—but all of its wines are absolutely remarkable.

A woman among the men of the trade

For nearly 30 years, 1976 to 2006, Laurence Jobard was the winery’s oenologist, creating an exceptional pair with Robert Drouhin. Her arrival raised a few eyebrows in Burgundy, as she was one of the first female oenologists to work in a male-dominated field. The legacy continues with Véronique Drouhin-Boss, who has been in charge of vinification since 2005, working jointly with oenologist Jérôme Faure-Brac.

Early adoption of organic agriculture

In 1988, the vineyard’s management decided to shift all of its operations to organic agriculture. The decision would allow them to overcome a growing problem: the chemical products being used were no longer adequate for their needs and were ruining the soil. Even though the decision was met with some resistance, today many wine growers solicit advice from this forward-thinking winery, which now uses biodynamic growing methods.

The story behind the Beaune 1er Cru Cuvée Maurice Drouhin

For many years, Maurice was a board member at the Hospices de Beaune. Few people know that the hospital offered him refuge during World War 2; like many of his peers, this viticulturist resisted the German occupation in his own way by storing his wines under the city. To repay the hospital, Maurice gave the establishment 2.9 hectares of Premier Cru plots. Every year, the wine grown on this land is included in the well-known Hospices de Beaune auction.

A taste of 1896

“A family get-together was the perfect occasion for our father, Robert, to open an 1896 Clos Vougeot and take us back through time. We were all very emotional with the knowledge that this bottle had been selected by our great-grandfather, had survived two wars, and tempted many to open it along the way, and yet it had been stored in the same cellar for more than a century. The wine was the colour of pale roof tiles with a nose of dried roses, a wonderful finesse on the palate, and it expressed a whole range of aromas in an incredibly short time. Time stood still for 30 minutes while we enjoyed every last drop.” — Laurent Drouhin

Producteur

Maison Joseph Drouhin

Pays

FRANCE

Région

Bourgogne, Chablis, Bourgogne

Appellations

90, dont 60 appartiennent au domaine

Fondation

1880

Climat

Semi-continental tempéré

Sol

Argilo-calcaire

Vignoble

80 hectares en propriété, dont 60 % de premiers et grands crus couvrant de la Côte Chalonnaise au Chablisien en passant par le cœur historique de la Bourgogne, Côte de Beaune et Côte de Nuits.

Agriculture

Biodynamique

Production

60 % de vins blancs, 40 % de rouges

Cépages

Cabernet sauvignon

Âge des vignes

35 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Philippe Drouhin

C’est le grand maître d’œuvre du domaine et de sa gestion. Né en 1961, grand millésime en Bourgogne, il est en charge des domaines en Côte-d’Or, en Chablis et en Oregon. Il est l’un des quatre héritiers Drouhin, avec ses frères Frédéric, président de Maison Joseph Drouhin, Laurent, directeur du marché nord-américain, et sa sœur Véronique, œnologue du Domaine en Oregon.

Le plus grand propriétaire terrien de Bourgogne

Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

La Maison Joseph Drouhin est propriétaire-négociant éleveur : elle produit 90 appellations, dont les deux tiers appartiennent à sa propre exploitation. De celles-ci, presque la totalité est classée en grands crus ou premiers crus. Une maison d’exception, précurseur dans bien des domaines.

Une première parcelle : le Clos des Mouches

C’est en 1921 que Maurice Drouhin, fils de Joseph, acquit une première parcelle de vigne pour y planter du chardonnay, devenant ainsi propriétaire et producteur à part entière. Le Clos des Mouches, à l’exposition plus qu’enviable et à la pluralité des terroirs, est aujourd’hui partagé entre le blanc et le rouge… et ses vins sont tout simplement remarquables.

Une femme chez les vignerons

Pendant près de 30 ans, soit de 1976 à 2005, Laurence Jobard a été l’œnologue de la Maison, formant un tandem de choc avec Robert Drouhin. Laurence était l’une des premières femmes œnologues dans un monde très masculin : une révolution en Bourgogne! Depuis 2005, la vinification est assurée par Jérôme Faure-Brac en duo avec Véronique Drouhin-Boss.

Bio avant l’heure

En 1988, la décision a été prise de basculer l’intégralité du domaine en culture biologique : les produits de synthèse ne permettaient pas de respecter les sols et donc d’exprimer pleinement la diversité des terroirs. Une décision impopulaire à l’époque, comme on s’en doute. Aujourd’hui, beaucoup de viticulteurs viennent demander des conseils au producteur visionnaire, qui est depuis passé à la biodynamie.

L’histoire du Beaune 1er Cru Cuvée Maurice Drouhin

Maurice a longtemps été administrateur des Hospices de Beaune. Fait moins connu, durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’établissement hospitalier lui a offert un refuge : comme bien d’autres de ses pairs, Maurice Drouhin faisait de la résistance, entres autres en emmurant ses vins dans les souterrains de la ville. Après avoir été caché aux Hospices pour échapper aux Allemands, Maurice fit don de 2,9 hectares situés en Beaune Premier Cru. Le vin qui en est produit figure chaque année dans les célèbres enchères des Hospices de Beaune. C’est la Cuvée Maurice Drouhin.

Dégustation d’un millésime 1896

« Un repas en famille a été prétexte pour notre père Robert d’ouvrir un Clos Vougeot 1896, et l’occasion de faire un plongeon dans l’histoire. La dégustation s’est faite dans l’émotion, alors que nous pensions à cette bouteille qui avait été choisie par notre arrière-grand-père, avait survécu à deux guerres, avait suscité les tentations de la boire et avait finalement été stockée dans la même cave pendant plus d’un siècle. Le vin possédait une couleur tuilée très pâle, un bouquet de roses séchées, une finesse en bouche, un équilibre et une palette aromatique qui a défilé à une vitesse incroyable. Ce furent 30 minutes hors du temps avant que le vin s’éteigne définitivement. » — Laurent Drouhin