Producer

Marimar Estate

Country

UNITED STATES

Region of production

Sonoma County

Founded

First vines planted in 1986; winery completed in 1992.

Climate

Mediterranean, with cooling morning fog.

Soil composition

Light, well drained sandy loam (Goldridge Series)

Vineyard

261 acres owned; 80 acres planted.

Agriculture

261 acres owned; 80 acres planted.

Production Volume

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir , Syrah, Tempranillo Noir

Ages of Vines

From 10 to 30 years-old

Behind the Wines

Marimar Torres

In 1975, Marimar Torres, of the Torres winemaking dynasty, moved to the USA to promote her family’s Spanish wines. Ten years later, her dream of making top quality Californian wine came true. The Sonoma-based Marimar Estate is truly a family affair. The winery’s top Pinot Noir is named after Marimar’s daughter Cristina. Even Marimar’s two dogs, Chico and Bonita, have their role to play as winery mascots. Marimar Torres is a woman of many talents. She holds a degree in Business and Economics, speaks 6 languages, and is the author of two highly regarded cookbooks: “The Spanish Table” and “The Catalan Country Kitchen”.

Spain meets California

Marimar Estate began as a passion project. After carefully analysing the region’s vineyards, Marimar Torres settled in the cool Russian River Valley. She self-financed her initial vineyard purchase and made the wines at an outside facility. It wasn’t until Marimar’s family tasted her first Chardonnay that they fully understood the tremendous potential of her Californian pursuit.
Access the wines of this producer

“We grow grapes the way they do in Europe… The high density reduces vigour…the grapes have greater concentration of flavour and better balance. They simply taste better”. – Marimar Torres

Cool Climate California

The vineyards of Marimar Estate are located in some of the coolest appellations of Northern California. The Don Miguel Vineyard lies in the Green Valley sub-zone of the Russian River Valley. The chilling early morning fog is particularly dense here. The Doña Margarita Vineyard, in Sonoma Coast, sits just seven miles from the Pacific Ocean.

European Savoir-Faire

One of the secrets to Marimar Estate’s rich, refined style lies in its rigorous vineyard management. Vines are planted at four times the density usually seen in California to lower yields and concentrate fruit flavours. Vertical trellises are used to maximize sun exposure and fruit aeration. Hedging, leaf pulling, and shoot thinning are all practiced to further aide in grape ripening. Grape clusters hang low to the ground to absorb the warmth of the earth.

Sustainable Success

While Marimar Estates was certified sustainable in 2017, the vineyards have been farmed using organic and biodynamic growing methods since 2003. This long-term commitment to eradicating chemical entrants has led to far healthier, higher quality grapes. According to Marimar Torres, the improvement in grape flavours, combined with the benefits to the environment, her vineyard workers, and her customers, make sustainability a winning strategy.

Perfect Food & Wine Pairings

Finding the ideal dish to compliment the fine wines of Marimar Estate is easy with a culinary expert like Marimar Torres at the helm. Her Spanish-themed cook books offer scores of delicious recipes. Marimar recommends serving her citrus, spice infused Pato con Higos (Duck Breast with Figs) with the estate’s flagship “Cristina” Pinot Noir.

Producteur

Marimar Estate

Pays

ÉTATS-UNIS

Région

Sonoma County

Fondation

Premières vignes plantées en 986; vinerie achevée en 1992.

Climat

Méditerranéen, avec une brume matinale rafraîchissante.

Sol

Loam sableux, léger et bien égoutté (Goldridge)

Vignoble

261 acres appartenant au domaine; 80 acres en viticulture.

Agriculture

Viticulture raisonnée certifiée durable

Production

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir , Syrah, Tempranillo noir

Âge des vignes

De 10 à 30 ans

En lumière

Marimar Torres

En 1975, Marimar Torres, de la dynastie vinicole Torres, est allée s’établir aux États-Unis pour promouvoir les vins espagnols de sa famille. Dix ans plus tard, son rêve de produire un vin californien de première qualité s’est réalisé. Marimar Estate, situé dans la région de Sonoma, est véritablement une affaire de famille. Le meilleur Pinot Noir du domaine porte le nom de Cristina, la fille de Marimar. Même les deux chiens de Marimar, Chico et Bonita, ont un rôle à jouer en tant que mascottes de la maison. Marimar Torres est une femme aux talents multiples. Diplômée en commerce et en économie, elle parle six langues et est l’auteur de deux livres de recettes très prisés : « The Spanish Table » (La table espagnole) et « The Catalan Country Kitchen » (Cuisine de la campagne catalane).

Rencontre entre l'Espagne et la Californie

Dès le départ, Marimar Estate est un projet né d’une passion. Après avoir soigneusement analysé les vignobles de la région, Marimar Torres s’est établie dans la région fraîche de Russian River Valley. Elle a autofinancé l’achat de son premier vignoble et produit les vins dans une vinerie externe. Ce n’est qu’après que les membres de la famille de Marimar aient goûté à son premier Chardonnay qu’ils ont pris l’entière mesure de l’énorme potentiel de son projet californien.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Nous cultivons le raisin comme ils le font en Europe… La forte densité réduit la vigueur… les raisins ont une plus grande concentration de flaveurs et un meilleur équilibre. Ils ont tout simplement meilleur goût. » – Marimar Torres


Frais climat californien

Les vignobles de Marimar Estate sont sis dans certaines des appellations les plus fraîches du nord de la Californie. Le vignoble Don Miguel se trouve dans la sous-zone Green Valley de la Russian River Valley. La brume rafraîchissante des petits matins y est particulièrement dense. Le vignoble Doña Margarita, sur la côte de Sonoma, est situé à onze kilomètres à peine de l’océan Pacifique.  


Savoir-faire européen

L’un des secrets du style riche et raffiné de Marimar Estate tient à la rigueur avec laquelle le vignoble est géré. La densité des plants de vigne est quatre fois celle habituellement constatée en Californie afin de réduire le rendement et de concentrer les flaveurs des fruits. La conduite des vignes sur treillis vertical permet de maximiser l’exposition au soleil et l’aération des fruits. La plantation de haies, l’effeuillage et l’écimage des rameaux sont autant d’opérations qui aident au mûrissement des raisins. Les grappes sont suspendues à basse hauteur pour absorber la chaleur de la terre.


Succès durable

Même si le mode de viticulture du domaine Marimar n’est certifié durable que depuis 2017, les vignobles sont exploités à l’aide de méthodes de culture biologique et biodynamique depuis 2003. Cet engagement de longue date envers l’éradication des intrants chimiques a mené à la production de raisins beaucoup plus sains et de qualité supérieure. Selon Marimar Torres, l’amélioration des flaveurs des raisins, combinée aux avantages pour l’environnement, les travailleurs de ses vignobles et ses clients, font des pratiques de culture durable une stratégie gagnante.


Parfaits accords mets et vins

Il est facile de trouver le plat idéal pour accompagner les vins fins de Marimar Estate quand le domaine est dirigé par une experte culinaire de trempe de Marimar Torres. Ses livres de cuisine espagnole proposent une multitude de recettes délicieuses. Marimar recommande de servir son Pato con Higos, unmagret de canard aux figues au goût d’agrumes et d’épices infusées, avec le « Cristina », Pinot Noir phare du domaine.

Notre boutique de vins fins