Producer

M. Chapoutier

Country

AUSTRALIA, FRANCE, PORTUGAL, SPAIN

Region of production

ALSACE, Burgundy, RIBERA DEL DUERO, LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON, Douro, Rhône Valley

Appellations

More than 30

Founded

1808

Climate

Varies, depending on the region

Soil composition

Varies, depending on the region

Vineyard

360 hectares used for production on two continents

Agriculture

Organic and biodynamic techniques used for the vines on their properties

Production Volume

More than 10 million bottles; 90% reds, 10% whites

Varieties Grown

Grenache Noir , Marsanne, Syrah, Viognier

Ages of Vines

55 years old, on average

Behind the Wines

Michel Chapoutier

Michel is a seventh-generation Chapoutier winemaker at Tain-L’Hermitage, having acquired the family estate in 1990. He is known for being a generous person with a human approach to business. Not only does he support social and workforce reintegration initiatives, in 1996 he became the first in the industry to include braille on his product labels. Beyond that, Michel has also earned a reputation for producing wines that are highly representative of where they are grown, true “snapshots of the terroir.”

Terroir. Nothing but Terroir.

Access the wines of this producer

“A wine’s quality potential stems from the vine, not the cellar,” says Michel. “The work accomplished while on the vine establishes what the range of potential will be, and the winemaker can then work within that range, but never exceed it. In other words, our job is to realize that potential, not to create it.”

A simple philosophy

According to Michel, terroir is defined as “the confluence of soil, climate and human talent.” The fact that his wines differ from one year to another is proof of their authenticity. He doesn’t believe in “correcting” a vintage; a wine will either represent its terroir or it won’t. 

A self-proclaimed “lazy winemaker”

When Michel returned from California at age 26, he acquired the family estate, but he was critical of the standard style of the wines it produced. Wanting something more authentic, he questioned the “ancestral” methods, which in this case was an agronomic approach. Being a self-proclaimed “lazy winemaker,” he let the grapes grow in peace and allowed the wine to reach maturity in good time. The process suited him perfectly. “Agriculture, even biodynamic growing, is a struggle, and the winegrower a warrior.”

Casting the soils

Even though Michel owned the Ermitage plots—where some of France’s leading wines are grown—he wanted to grow the winery. The problem, however, was that well-known properties were prohibitively expensive. His solution was to become a “terroir-maker.” With help from French experts in the art of decoding soils, he acquired large, dormant plots in Europe and Australia that were waiting to prove their capabilities. The expression “soil casting” stuck. The Chapoutier estate, which had been on the verge of bankruptcy at the time it was purchased, would go on to earn international acclaim. 

One plot, one wine

“Plot selection is the exact opposite of wine blending. We harvest and vinify the grapes, but we never try to override the soil’s signature characteristics. And then, we wait.” That’s how wine is made at Maison M. Chapoutier. The statement on the estate’s coat of arms—Fac et spera—has also become its motto: Do and Hope.

Wine fit for a meal

Michel Chapoutier bemoans the fact that many oenologists don’t know how to make wines that complement food. “Wine’s purpose is to enhance a meal, and in order for a dish and a wine to pair well, they must have complementary features. The one thing winemakers should always keep in mind is: What will this wine be enjoyed with?” His commitment to the cause is so strong that, in 2009, he founded the Pâté-Croûte world championship event, arguing that “Wine and gastronomy are pillars of French culture, and we must constantly promote awareness and appreciation around the world.”

A love affair with Quebec

The relationship between Michel Chapoutier and Philippe Dandurand is 20 years strong. It makes sense, therefore, that his Sélections Parcellaires and prestige wines are represented by Galleon.

In fact, Michel has fallen in love with Quebec, its frigid winters and dynamic population. He even bought a house in Montreal instead of New York City, where he has his offices!

Producteur

M. Chapoutier

Pays

AUSTRALIE, ESPAGNE, FRANCE, PORTUGAL

Région

ALSACE, Bourgogne, , LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON, Douro, Vallée du Rhône

Appellations

Plus de 30

Fondation

1808

Climat

Variés selon les régions

Sol

Variés selon les régions

Vignoble

360 hectares en production sur deux continents

Agriculture

Biologique et biodynamique sur les vignes en propriété

Production

Plus de 10 millions de bouteilles; 90 % de vins rouges, 10 % de blancs

Cépages

Grenache noir , Marsanne, Syrah, Viognier

Âge des vignes

55 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Michel Chapoutier

Septième vigneron Chapoutier à Tain-L’Hermitage, Michel a repris le domaine familial en 1990. Généreux, humaniste (il prône la réinsertion et l’intégration, innovant en 1996 avec des étiquettes en braille) et maniant la métaphore mieux que quiconque, il s’applique à faire des vins racés qui se veulent « des photos du terroir ».

Le terroir. Rien que le terroir.

Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Le potentiel de qualité d’un vin se crée dans la vigne, jamais dans la cave », soutient Michel Chapoutier. « Grâce au travail dans les vignes, on crée la hauteur de l’échelle; le vinificateur y monte, mais n’ira jamais plus haut. Il peut transformer le potentiel en qualité réelle, mais jamais ne la créer. »

Une philosophie bien simple

Selon la définition Chapoutier, le terroir est « la conjonction des sols, des climats et du talent humain. » Que ses vins soient différents d’une année à l’autre est une preuve d’authenticité. Pas question de « corriger » un millésime : le vin sera représentatif de son terroir, ou ne sera pas.

Autoproclamé « vigneron paresseux »

À son retour de Californie, à 26 ans, Michel acquiert le domaine familial, dont il n’apprécie pas le style de vins standardisés. Ce qu’il cherche, c’est l’authenticité. Il remet donc en valeur les méthodes « ancestrales », c’est-à-dire l’approche agronomique. Comme il se dit « vigneron paresseux », laisser les raisins pousser en paix, puis laisser le vin arriver à maturité tranquillement, lui convient parfaitement. « L’agriculture, même biodynamique, demeure tout de même une lutte. Le vigneron est un guerrier. »

 Le casting des sols

Michel est propriétaire de parcelles d’Ermitage, dont sont issus certains des plus grands vins de France. C’est très bien, mais il veut faire croître son domaine. Or, les parcelles connues coûtent très cher. Il décide alors d’être un « créateur de terroirs » : grâce à l’expertise française dans l’art de décoder les sols, il tire profit en Europe et en Australie de vastes terres en dormance qui ne demandent qu’à se révéler. L’expression « casting des sols » est restée. La maison Chapoutier, au bord de la faillite au moment du rachat, deviendra mondialement connue.

Une parcelle, un vin

« La sélection parcellaire, c’est le contraire de l’assemblage. On rentre le raisin, on le vinifie, mais surtout, on ne prend pas le dessus sur la signature du sol. Puis on attend. » Voilà comment on fait du vin à la Chapoutier. Le blason de la maison est devenu une devise. Fac et spera. Fais et espère.

Les vignerons au service de la gastronomie

Michel Chapoutier déplore que tant d’œnologues ne sachent pas faire des vins dignes de s’accorder à un mets. « La raison d’être d’un vin, c’est d’être marié avec un plat, et pour que le mariage soit parfait, il faut de la complicité. Le vigneron doit toujours garder cela en tête lorsqu’il fait un vin : avec quoi le boira-t-on? » Il est à ce point convaincu qu’il fonde en 2009 le Championnat du monde de Pâté Croûte, arguant que « le vin et la gastronomie sont des piliers de la culture française et il faut les promouvoir sans cesse pour les faire connaître et apprécier à travers le monde. »

Une relation d’amour avec le Québec

Michel Chapoutier et Vins Philippe Dandurand, c’est une relation de confiance établie depuis plus de 20 ans. C’est donc tout naturellement que ses grandes Sélections Parcellaires et vins de prestige soient représentés par Galleon.

Amoureux de la Belle Province, stimulé par nos hivers froids, appréciant l’énergie des Québécois, il a préféré acquérir une maison à Montréal plutôt que dans la Grosse Pomme où il a des bureaux!