Producer

Miguel Torres

Country

CHILE

Region of production

Founded

1979

Climate

Mediterranean, with cooling breezes from the Andes Mountains

Soil composition

Curicó vineyards: volcanic, clay loam, sandy loam, and stony parcels Maule vineyards: clay loam, and slate parcels

Vineyard

Over 600 hectares planted on six sites; with a further 200 hectares of land for future plantations, and two properties in Patagonia.

Agriculture

Organic

Production Volume

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Sauvignon , Carmenere Noir, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer , Merlot, Muscat Blanc à Petits Grains, Pinot Noir , Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Syrah, Viognier

Ages of Vines

Wide range, from recent plantings to 100-year old vine stocks.

Behind the Wines

Miguel Torres Maczassek

In 2010, Miguel Torres Maczassek, 5th generation of the Torres winemaking dynasty, moved to Chile to head up the family’s vineyard holdings. A passion for the land, as well as its people, led him to restore forgotten grape varieties and ensure growers of them were paid fair prices wages. Marrying tradition, innovation, and sustainability is fundamental to the The Torres’ Chilean winemaking philosophy. Miguel will always feel a special bond with the Curicó Valley, where 2 of his 3 children were born.

Tradition, innovation, and sustainability

After their Penedès winery was nearly lost to bombings in 1939 during the Spanish Civil War, the Torres family began to search for vineyards elsewhere. Forty years later, their dream became a reality. In the Curicó Valley, the Torres found an ideal climate and terroir. They were the first foreign producer to invest in Chile, and remain a major force, dedicated to high quality, sustainable winemaking.
Access the wines of this producer

 

“Chile really is a paradise to grow vines, not only because of the impressive and unique regionality, but also because of its natural climate conditions, with very dry summers, which makes Chile ideal for organic viticulture.” - Miguel Torres Maczassek, President of Miguel Torres Chile

Restoring Forgotten Grapes

País vines are the oldest in Chile, brought to the country over 500 years ago. With the influx of international grape varieties, País had fallen out of favour, and growers struggled to make a living. The Torres family were eager to restore this historic grape and so created a sparkling wine: Santa Digna Estelado. Their efforts were justly rewarded. Their País bubbly won best sparkling wine at the Annual Wines of Chile Awards for two consecutive vintages.

Embracing Innovation

Seduced by Chile’s potential for high quality grape growing, the Torres family began acquiring vineyards in the Curicó Valley in 1979. Eager to embrace local winemaking traditions, but also use top-quality winemaking equipment, Miguel Torres Chile were the first to introduce stainless steel tanks and French oak barrels to the region. Continuous innovation is a concept that defines Torres. The winery places particular emphasis on creating projects that express the identity of a singular spot, vineyard or region that are unique and special.

Fighting for Fair-Trade

In 2010, one of the worst earthquakes of Chile’s history rocked the country. The Torres family wanted to help the local community, and thus began a series of social projects that number over 30 today. Committed to long-term change, the Torres decided to take a step further and certify their winery as Fair Trade with the Swiss certifier IMO. They also created the first Fair Trade association in Chile: the Asociación Chilena por el Comercio justo. All Torres suppliers are guaranteed a fair price for their grapes; sometimes up to three times more than the regional market price.

Cultivating an Organic Spirit

“More and more we are conscious that our decisions and choices have a great impact on our planet” asserts Miguel Torres Maczassek. The philosophy of Miguel Torres Chile is to maximize soil fertility and biological activity via natural means. The use of non-renewable resources are kept to a strict minimum, and synthetic fertilizers and pesticides are avoided in order to protect the environment and human health. The Torres family use the Global Reporting Initiative’s model to communicate their sustainability plan according to international standards.

 

Our fine wine Boutique

Producteur

Miguel Torres

Pays

CHILI

Région

Appellations

Curicó Valley, Maule Valley

Fondation

1979

Climat

Méditerranéen, avec de fraîches brises descendant des Andes.

Sol

Vignobles de la vallée du Curicó : parcelles volcaniques, argilo-limoneuses, sablo-limoneuses et pierreuses Vignobles de la vallée du Maule : parcelles argilo-limoneuses et d’ardoise

Vignoble

Plus 600 hectares de vignes réparties en six emplacements, avec 200 autres hectares cultivables dans l’avenir et deux propriétés en Patagonie.

Agriculture

Biologique

Production

Cépages

Cabernet sauvignon , Carmenère noir, Chardonnay, Gewurztraminer , Merlot, Muscat à petits grains blancs, Pinot noir , Riesling, Sauvignon blanc, Syrah, Viognier

Âge des vignes

Très varié, depuis les vignes nouvellement plantées jusqu’aux pieds de vigne centenaires.

En lumière

Miguel Torres Maczassek

En 2010, Miguel Torres Maczassek, qui appartient à la 5e génération de la dynastie de viniculteurs Torres, est allé s’établir au Chili pour diriger les vignobles que sa famille possède dans ce pays. Sa passion pour cette terre et pour les gens qui l’habitent l’a amené à restaurer des cépages oubliés et à s’assurer que ceux qui les cultivent soient décemment payés. Le mariage de la tradition, de l’innovation et de la culture responsable est un élément fondamental de la philosophie des Torres pour la vinification chilienne. Miguel sera toujours étroitement lié à la vallée de Curicó où deux de ses trois enfants ont vu le jour.

Tradition, innovation et culture responsable

Après avoir failli perdre leur domaine du Penedès sous les bombardements de 1939, pendant la guerre civile espagnole, la famille Torres s’est mise à la recherche de vignobles ailleurs dans le monde. Quarante ans plus tard, leur rêve est devenu réalité. Dans la vallée du Curicó, les Torres ont trouvé un climat et un terroir idéaux. Ils ont été le premier producteur étranger à investir au Chili où ils sont encore une force majeur consacrée à une viniculture responsable de haute qualité.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

 « Le Chili est un paradis pour la culture des vignes, non seulement à cause de son régionalisme impressionnant et unique, mais aussi à cause de ses conditions climatiques naturelles, notamment de ses étés très secs qui en font un lieu idéal pour la viticulture biologique. »  – Miguel Torres Maczassek, président de Miguel Torres Chile

Restauration de cépages oubliés

Les vignes de país sont les plus anciennes du Chili où elles ont été apportées il y a plus de 500 ans. Le país n’était plus apprécié et ne faisait plus vivre ceux qui le cultivaient. Déterminée à restaurer ce cépage historique, la famille Torres créa un vin effervescent, le Santa Digna Estelado. Leurs efforts furent dûment récompensés puisque leur País mousseux a remporté le prix du meilleur vin effervescent au concours annuel des vins du Chili pour deux millésimes consécutifs.

Innovateurs dans l’âme

Séduite par la possibilité de cultiver du raisin de haute qualité au Chili, la famille Torres a commencé à acheter des vignobles dans la vallée du Curicó en 1979. La maison Miguel Torres Chile, dans son désir de puiser dans les traditions vinicoles locales tout en ayant recours à de l’équipement de toute première qualité, a été la première de la région à utiliser des cuves d’inox et des barriques de chêne français. L’innovation continue est un concept qui définit Torres. Le domaine met particulièrement l’accent sur la création de projets qui expriment l’identité d’une parcelle, d’un vignoble ou d’une région qui est à la fois unique et spécial.

Défenseurs du commerce équitable

En 2010, un des pires tremblements de terre de l’histoire du Chili a ébranlé le pays. La famille Torres a voulu aidé la collectivité locale et a ainsi lancé une série de projets dont le nombre dépasse aujourd’hui la trentaine. Fermement engagés dans le changement à long terme, les Torres ont décidé d’aller encore plus loin en obtenant pour leur vinerie le label de commerce équitable de l’organisme de certification suisse IMO. Ils ont aussi créé la première association de commerce équitable au Chili, soit la Asociación Chilena por el Comercio justo. Torres garantit à tous ses fournisseurs un prix équitable pour leurs raisins, qui peut parfois atteindre le triple du prix du marché local.

Travailler dans un esprit de culture biologique

« Nous sommes de plus en plus conscients que nos choix et nos décisions ont un grand impact sur notre planète »,a déclaré Miguel Torres Maczassek. La philosophie de Miguel Torres Chile est d’optimiser la fertilité du sol et l’activité biologique par des moyens naturels. L’utilisation de ressources non renouvelables est réduite au minimum et on évite d’avoir recours à des fertilisants et des pesticides synthétiques pour protéger l’environnement et la santé humaine. La famille Torres s’inspire du modèle de la Global Reporting Initiative pour communiquer son plan d’agriculture responsable selon les normes internationales.

 

Notre boutique de vins fins