Region

NIAGARA

Country

CANADA

Producer

Domaine Queylus

A diverse terroir

Stretching across the southern part of the province, Ontario’s Vineyards are located near three of the Great Lakes – Lake Ontario, Lake Erie and Lake Huron. The lakes temper the cold winter temperatures and cool the vineyards during Ontario’s hot summers. The soils in the Great Lake basin vary from sand to clay to rock, with a high concentration of limestone form an ancient seabed that was exposed over a long period of glacial activity. Limestone is the same basic soil type also shared by Burgundy and other regions of northern France. Some of the vineyards lie flat on former seabed areas; others are perched on hills and benches that formed the ancient shoreline. The topography is ideal for water drainage–since too much water can dilute flavours–and provides nutrients and minerality to the grapes.

Situated on the north shore of Lake Ontario, Niagara has a diverse terroir of sheltered slopes, lakeside vineyards, mixed soils with a limestone base, and a world of character in its wines. The Niagara Escarpment–a limestone bluff that runs the length of the Peninsula – catches the on-shore moderating air from Lake Ontario and circulates it back down over the vineyards, enhancing the ripening of the grapes. Variations in the height of the escarpment and distance from the lake have resulted in the identification of 10 district sub-appellations with varying total heat units over the growing season, measured in degree-days.

The classic cool climate grapes such as Chardonnay, Riesling, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Franc and Gamay Noir flourish here, and the region now boasts over 32 thriving varieties. The Niagara Peninsula continues to shape a rapidly expanding premium wine segment in Canada as the home to approximately 65% of Ontario’s VQA wineries.

 

 

Source: Wine Country Ontario

Région

NIAGARA

Pays

CANADA

Producteur

Domaine Queylus

La péninsule du Niagara offre un terroir diversifié

Répartis un peu partout au sud de la province, les vignobles ontariens se trouvent près de trois des Grands Lacs : le lac Ontario, le lac Érié et le lac Huron. Les lacs modèrent le froid hivernal et rafraîchissent les vignes au plus chaud de l’été. Les sols du bassin des Grands Lacs passent du sable à l’argile et au roc, avec une forte concentration de calcaire provenant d’anciens fonds marins exposés par les périodes glaciaires. Le calcaire est essentiellement le même type de sol que l’on retrouve en Bourgogne et dans d’autres régions du nord de la France. Certains vignobles sont sur le plat des anciens fonds marins, d’autres sont perchés à flanc de collines ou sur les rives anciennes que sont les escarpements. La topographie est idéale pour permettre un bon drainage (puisqu’un apport en eau excessif peut diluer les saveurs) et fournir nutriments et minéralité aux raisins.

Située sur la rive sud du lac Ontario, la péninsule du Niagara offre un terroir diversifié de pentes bien protégées, de vignobles de bord de lac, avec des sols mixtes sur une base calcaire, et des vins qui offrent tout un monde de possibilités. L’escarpement du Niagara – une falaise de calcaire qui traverse toute la péninsule – retient l’air venu du lac, avec ses effets modérateurs, et le renvoie au-dessus des vignobles, ce qui favorise le mûrissement des raisins. Les variations d’altitude de l’escarpement et la distance avec le lac ont donné lieu à l’identification de 10 sous-appellations distinctes marquées par des variations des unités thématiques de croissance, mesurées en degrés-jours.

Les cépages classiques des régions de climat frais comme le chardonnay, le riesling, le pinot noir, le cabernet franc et le gamay noir s’y trouvent particulièrement à l’aise. Au total, la région produit plus de 32 cépages.  La péninsule du Niagara joue un rôle de premier plan dans le développement d’une industrie de vins de qualité au Canada : on y trouve 65 % des producteurs VQA de tout l’Ontario.

 

 

Source: Wine Country Ontario

Nos producteurs de la région du Niagara