Producer

Nino Negri

Country

ITALY

Region of production

LOMBARDY

Appellations

Valtellina Superiore and Sforzato di Valtellina

Founded

1897

Climate

Continental climate

Soil composition

Alluvial, gravelly, well drained and rich in silica.

Vineyard

31 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

800,000 bottles;
97% reds,
3% whites

Varieties Grown

Sangiovese

Ages of Vines

45 years on average.

Behind the Wines

Casimiro Maule

Originally from Trentino, Casimiro Maule has been supervising the harvest at his Lombard estate since 1971. As the uncontested master of Nebbiolo, the star varietal of Vatellina, Casimiro is considered one of Italy’s leading oenologists. Gambero Rosso magazine named him winemaker of the year in 2007.

A superb estate in Lombardy

Established in 1897 in the province of Sondrio, Nino Negri can boast that is one of the oldest wineries in the region. Its plots are located on the most prestigious terroirs in the Valtellina region, and produce highly tannic, yet very elegant, Nebbiolo wines.
Access the wines of this producer

A vineyard carved into a mountain  

Grapes have been cultivated in the Valtellina for at least 2,000 years. In the 15th century, when farmers figured out that grapes grew well at high altitude, the land was cleared of trees and rocks to create a spectacular tiered vineyard. The dry stone support walls are a testament to man’s triumph over an unruly nature, and the strength of character of the region’s vintners.

Nebbiolo, King of Valtellina

The black variety is known by many names: Chiavennasca within the region, but Picotener, Spanna or Melasca in the other areas where it grows. It’s easy to become confused! Producing wines with a garnet robe and notes of rose, dried fruit and exotic spices, this variety contributes to all of Nino Negri’s reds.

The name says it all

Nino Negri’s 31 hectares are spread out across four distinct areas in the Valley: Sassella, Grumello, Valgella and the aptly named Inferno, which features steep terraces and intense heat pockets that can be suffocating in summer. The important thing is that grapes love these conditions, despite the challenging soil conditions that force the roots to cling to rock instead of soil and that cause water to run off quickly, leaving the area parched. Fortunately, the vines are refreshed each morning by fog, known as nebbia in Italian, hence the name Nebbiolo.

Helicopter lifting – now that’s different!

You have to wonder, when you harvest grapes on a mountainside, where the terracing is hard to access by mere mortals and nearly impossible by vehicles, how do you get the fruit to the cellar? By helicopter, of course! Leonardo da Vinci, who loved the region’s wines more than 500 years ago, would be delighted by the sight of it!

A five-star wine

The Nino Negri estate produces some 20 vintages aged in French oak barrels, including the outstanding 5 Stelle Sfursat di Valtellina. This is their most widely acclaimed product, crafted only during the best years. Made from 100% Nebbiolo that’s dried for three months to concentrate the sugars, this wine is the perfect complement to Bitto, a local cheese, which is best when aged for three or four years.

Producteur

Nino Negri

Pays

ITALIE

Région

LOMBARDIE

Appellations

Valtellina Superiore et Sforzato di Valtellina

Fondation

1897

Climat

Continental

Sol

Alluvionnaire, graveleux, bien drainé avec une forte concentration de silice

Vignoble

31 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

800 000 bouteilles;
97 % de vins rouges,
3 % de blancs

Cépages

Nebbiolo

Âge des vignes

45 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Casimiro Maule

Originaire du Trentin, il supervise les vendanges dans ce domaine lombard depuis 1971. Maître incontesté du nebbiolo, le cépage vedette de Valtellina, Casimiro Maule est considéré comme l’un des plus réputés œnologues d’Italie. La revue Gambero Rosso lui a attribué en 2007 le titre de vigneron de l’année.

Un domaine splendide en Lombardie

Établi en 1897 dans la province de Sondrio, Nino Negri peut se vanter d’être le plus ancien producteur de vins de la région. De ses parcelles, situées dans les plus prestigieux terroirs de la Valtellina, sont issus des vins de cépage nebbiolo, bien structurés avec de beaux tanins, mais tout en élégance.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

Un vignoble sculpté dans la montagne

On cultive le raisin dans la Valtellina depuis au moins 2000 ans. Dès le 15e siècle, les terres ont été arrachées aux forêts et au roc des Alpes pour devenir un spectaculaire vignoble en espaliers, les cultivateurs ayant compris que les raisins aiment l’altitude. Les murs de soutènement en pierres sèches qui rythment les parois témoignent de la victoire de l’homme sur une nature difficile et de la force de caractère des vignerons de la région.

Nebbiolo, roi de Valtellina

Ce cépage noir se fait connaître sous plusieurs identités : chiavennasca dans la région, il devient tour à tour picotener, spanna ou melasca selon l’endroit où on le cultive. Facile d’en perdre son latin pour les non-initiés! Produisant des vins à la robe grenat et aux notes de rose, de fruits secs et d’épices exotiques, il entre dans la composition de tous les vins rouges de Nino Negri.

Des noms évocateurs

Les 31 hectares de Nino Negri sont répartis dans quatre zones de la vallée : Sassella, Grumello, Valgella et Inferno, la bien nommée avec ses terrasses casse-cou et ses poches de chaleur si intense qu’on y suffoque en été. Le raisin s’y plaît, lui, c’est l’important. Et ce, malgré un sol pas commode où les racines n’ont pas le choix de s’ancrer au roc à défaut de terre, et où l’eau s’écoule rapidement, laissant l’endroit aride. Heureusement qu’il y la brume du matin pour rafraîchir les vignes, brume qui se dit nebbia en italien, d’où le nom du cépage nebbiolo.

Une pratique particulière : l’hélitreuillage

La question se pose : quand on vendange à flanc de montagne, dans des terrasses difficiles d’accès aux communs des mortels et encore plus aux véhicules, comment fait-on pour transporter rapidement le raisin jusqu’au chai?  Par hélicoptère, tout simplement! C’est Leonard de Vinci, amoureux des vins de la région il y a plus de 500 ans, qui serait content!

Un vin cinq étoiles

Le prestigieux domaine Nino Negri produit une vingtaine de cuvées élaborées en nouvelles barriques de chêne français, dont l’exceptionnelle cuvée 5 Stelle Sfursat di Valtellina. De très grande notoriété, ce vin est le plus primé du domaine et est élaboré uniquement lors des meilleures années. Fait à 100 % de cépagenebbiolo, mis à sécher pendant trois mois pour en concentrer les sucres, il est à son meilleur lorsque vieilli troisans et plus. Il s’allie à merveille avec le Fontina ou le Bitto, un fromage italien local au lait de vache, issu de la vallée de la Valtellina.