Producer

Patz & Hall

Country

UNITED STATES

Region of production

Sonoma County

Appellations

Russian River Valley
Sonoma Coast

Founded

1988

Climate

Mediterranean, strongly influenced by ocean currents (early morning fog) and rolling hills, resulting in diverse microclimates and a large diurnal temperature variation.

Soil composition

Clay, sand or volcanic, depending on the plot. Gravel in places.

Vineyard

Grapes are sourced from several hundred hectares; the winery owns a few dozen hectares

Agriculture

Biodynamic and organic

Production Volume

40,000 cases or 480,000 bottles per year
50 % Chardonnay and
50 % Pinot Noir

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

Between 15 and 50 years

Behind the Wines

James Hall

James discovered the world of fine wines on a trip to Europe in the late 1960s. He began studying wine growing and œnology a few years later, and by 1983 he had become a vintner. All this led him to found Patz & Hall with three other partners. Today, he is recognized for his expertise and gives talks on traditional wine-making methods.

The best grapes in Sonoma and Napa

“We’re honoured to represent Patz & Hall, a true icon of Pinot Noir. When Robert Patz visited Montréal, we were equally charmed by his personality and his wines. We were pleasantly surprised by the white plot selections, like Dutton Ranch, which combines power, tension and elegance. A smashing success!”
— Pierre-Adrien Fleurant, Managing Director, Galleon Wines

A company built on friendship

The Patz & Hall story is one of friendship, the kind that warms our hearts at Galleon. It’s the coming together of two professionals – Patz, the sales manager, and Hall, the winemaker – and their shared philosophy about wine. They have also developed close friendships with the Sonoma and Napa growers who have been their loyal business partners for nearly 30 years.

Small vineyards, great wines

For Patz & Hall, there’s just one way to make great wine: it’s a matter of selecting the best grapes from the most exceptional plots. Over the years, the company has forged strong relationships built on trust and friendship with small-scale independent growers and select family estates that only use traditional methods to grow Chardonnay and Pinot Noir.

Impressive names in red…

Each lot of Patz & Hall wine bears the name of its originating vineyard, just as each Burgundy wine displays the name of its plot. These include some very prestigious names, evidence that Patz & Hall only works with the best. Look for

Larry Hyde, the local legend acclaimed by Wine Spectator who created the celebrated Hyde-Calera Pinot Noir. There’s also Charlie Chenoweth, the remarkable winegrower who supervised the vine planting (Dijon clones) at Jenkins Ranch, a former apple orchard now dedicated to Pinot Noir. The wines produced here are known for their exceptional balance of concentration and complexity.

…and white

Say the Dutton name and you’ll immediately be taken to one of the most prestigious vineyards in Sonoma. Founded in 1969 and managed according to the traditional family model, this estate provides Patz & Hall with grapes grown on different types of old Chardonnay vines. Dutton Ranch’s 2014 Russian River Valley Chardonnay releases aromas of white flowers and jasmine, elevated by notes of mango, papaya and green apple. This deeply textured wine reveals the charm and complexity of its vines, which are some of the oldest in the county.

Producteur

Patz & Hall

Pays

ÉTATS-UNIS

Région

Sonoma County

Appellations

Russian River Valley
Sonoma Coast

Fondation

1988

Climat

Climat méditerranéen très influencé par les courants océaniques (brouillard matinal) et les reliefs vallonnés, offrant une diversité de microclimats et de grandes amplitudes thermiques

Sol

Argileux, sablonneux ou volcanique selon les parcelles. Graves par endroits

Vignoble

Plusieurs centaines d’hectares en achat

Agriculture

Biodynamique et biologique

Production

40 000 caisses ou
480 000 bouteilles par année
50 % Chardonnay et
50 % Pinot Noir

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

Entre 15 et 50 ans

En lumière

James Hall

C’est lors d’un voyage en Europe à la fin des années 1960 que James a découvert le monde des vins fins. Des années plus tard, il entreprit des études en viticulture et œnologie, et devint vinificateur en 1983 avant de fonder Patz & Hall avec trois autres partenaires. Aujourd’hui, son expertise l’amène à donner des conférences sur les méthodes traditionnelles de vinification.

Sublimer les meilleurs raisins de Sonoma et de Napa

«C’est un honneur pour nous que de représenter Patz & Hall, une véritable icône du pinot noir. Lors de la visite de Robert Patz à Montréal, nous avons été charmés autant par le personnage que par ses vins. Les sélections parcellaires en blanc nous ont agréablement surpris, dont Dutton Ranch, qui offre à la fois puissance, tension et élégance. Une vraie réussite!»
— Pierre-Adrien Fleurant, directeur de Galleon
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

Une entreprise fondée sur l’amitié

Patz & Hall, c’est une histoire de complicité comme Galleon les aime. C’est la rencontre de deux professionnels ­ — Patz, directeur des ventes, et Hall, vinificateur ­— qu’une même philosophie pour le vin a réunis. Ils ont également développé des liens solides d’amitié avec les vignerons de Sonoma et de Napa, partenaires fidèles de leur entreprise depuis près de 30 ans.

De petits vignobles et de grands vins

Pour Patz & Hall, il n’y a qu’une seule façon de vinifier de grands vins, et c’est en sélectionnant d’abord les meilleurs raisins issus de parcelles d’exception. Au fil des ans, l’entreprise a noué des liens solides de confiance et d’amitié avec de petits producteurs indépendants triés sur le volet, des vignobles familiaux où les méthodes traditionnelles de culture du chardonnay et du pinot noir sont mises en valeur.

Des noms impressionnants en rouge…

Chaque cuvée Patz & Hall porte le nom du vignoble d’où elle est issue, comme en Bourgogne chaque vin porte le nom de sa parcelle d’origine. Et des noms prestigieux y sont associés, preuve que Patz & Hall ne s’entoure que des meilleurs. Parmi ceux-ci, Larry Hyde, une légende de la région encensée par Wine Spectator, qui a développé le fameux pinot noir Hyde-Calera. On peut également évoquer Charlie Chenoweth, le vigneron renommé qui a supervisé la plantation des vignes (clones de Dijon) au vignoble Jenkins Ranch, une ancienne pommeraie où l’on produit désormais un pinot noir dont l’équilibre entre concentration et complexité fait exception.

… et en blanc

Prononcer le nom de Dutton, c’est se transposer dans l’un des vignobles les plus prestigieux de Sonoma. Établi en 1969 et conduit selon le modèle de gestion familial traditionnel, il procure à Patz & Hall des raisins issus de vieilles vignes de chardonnay de différentes variétés. Le Dutton Ranch 2014 Russian River Valley Chardonnay exprime des arômes de fleurs blanches et de jasmin, rehaussés par des notes de mangue, de papaye et de pomme verte. Un vin profondément texturé qui évoque tout le charme et la complexité des vignes dont il est issu, parmi les plus anciennes du comté.