Producer

Peter Lehmann

Country

AUSTRALIA

Region of production

Appellations

Barossa Valley, Eden Valley

Founded

1979

Climate

Mediterranean

Soil composition

Rich soil diversity, from low vigour clay loam to sandy soils

Vineyard

Grape sourcing from a close community of long-time grower partners

Agriculture

Sustainable viticulture

Production Volume

N/A

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Sauvignon , Chardonnay, Grenache Noir , Riesling, Semillon, Syrah

Ages of Vines

Over 35 years on average (up to 125 years-old)

Behind the Wines

Peter Lehmann

Due to the great fruit surplus of 1977, the winery Peter worked for cancelled a number of agreements with long-term growers. Peter knew this would be detrimental to the growers and the future of the whole wine region would be compromised. Doing business on a handshake, and with his word as his bond, Peter led the charge. He took the grapes himself and agreed to sell the wine on a “pay now and we’ll deliver in two years” arrangement called ‘The Futures’. This raised enough money to buy the growers’ fruit and process it into what became the first ever vintage of Peter Lehmann wine.

The best of Barossa

Located in South Australia, approximately 70 kilometres north-east of Adelaide, Barossa enjoys a vital culture of generational winemaking, pioneering European influence, and exceptional old vine terroirs. The wines of Peter Lehmann epitomize the outstanding quality for which Barossa is famous.
Access the wines of this producer

Optimal Grape Growing Conditions

The Barossa region consists of the Barossa and Eden Valleys. The Barossa Valley is warm and dry, with long daily sunshine hours; the ideal climate for making full flavoured, robust Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon. The Eden Valley is higher in altitude. The cooler temperatures allow for excellent acid retention; the key to Peter Lehmann’s sleek, racy Rieslings.

A Treasure Trove of Old Vines

The Barossa Valley is home to some of the oldest grape vines in the world. At well over 100 years in age, these venerable plantings give minute quantities of grapes revered for their highly concentrated, complex flavours. Peter Lehmann’s pinnacle wine “Stonewall Shiraz” is a testament to these noble vineyards.

“In winter, pruned vineyards expose a bare landscape, with cool mists greeting the first rays of sunshine; in summer the vines provide a verdant green contrast to golden paddocks; the setting sun giving off a warm and amber glow”.

– Peter Lehmann Winery (on the unique beauty of Barossa)

A Dynamic Grape Growing Community

Working closely with over 140 growers that have worked with Peter Lehmann Wines for many generations, the quality of Peter Lehmann wines are a testament to the strong relationships forged, allowing us access to the regions most unique and finest fruit.

Each year, they honour these valued partners at their Grower’s Day event. Another long-held tradition takes place during harvest. When the growers arrive to deliver their grapes, they are greeted with refreshments to restore their energy after a hard day’s harvest.

A Culinary Delight

Barossa is renowned for its gastronomic excellence. With mixed British and German roots, and the subsequent arrival of settlers from across the globe, the cuisine is varied and flavourful. At the Peter Lehmann cellar door, the crisp, honeyed Wigan Riesling pairs beautifully with their gourmet antipasto ‘Weighbridge’ platter of local cheeses and charcuterie.

Producteur

Peter Lehmann

Pays

AUSTRALIE

Région

Appellations

Barossa Valley, Eden Valley

Fondation

1979

Climat

Méditerranéen

Sol

Riche diversité des sols, d’argilo-limoneux à sableux

Vignoble

Raisins fournis par une étroite collectivité de vignerons, partenaires de longue date

Agriculture

Viticulture raisonnée

Production

N/A

Cépages

Cabernet sauvignon , Chardonnay, Grenache noir , Riesling, Sémillon, Syrah

Âge des vignes

Plus de 35 ans en moyenne (pouvant atteindre 125 ans)

En lumière

Peter Lehmann

À cause de la grande surabondance de fruits en 1977, la vinerie pour laquelle Peter Lehman travaillait a annulé plusieurs ententes d’approvisionnement avec des fournisseurs de longue date. Peter savait que ceci nuirait aux vignerons et mettrait en péril l’avenir de toute la région viticole. En ne s’appuyant que sur des poignées de mains et la parole donnée, Peter mena la charge. Il acheta les raisins lui-même et, pour la vente du vin, conclut des ententes de type « payez maintenant et nous livrerons dans deux ans » que l’on appelle la « vente en primeur ». Ceci lui a permis d’encaisser suffisamment d’argent pour acheter les fruits des vignerons et les transformer en ce qui allait devenir le tout premier millésime de Peter Lehmann Wines.

Le meilleur de la Barossa

Située dans le sud de l’Australie, à environ 70 kilomètres d’Adelaïde, la région de Barossa possède une culture de vinification à la fois générationnelle et très vibrante qui s’appuie sur une influence européenne et d’exceptionnels terroirs de vieilles vignes. Les vins de Peter Lehmann incarnent la qualité remarquable qui fait la renommée de la Barossa.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

Conditions optimales pour la culture du raisin

La région de Barossa est composée des vallées de la Barossa et de l’Eden. La vallée de la Barossa est chaude et sèche, avec de longues heures d’ensoleillement quotidien; le climat est idéal pour la réalisation de Shiraz et de Cabernets sauvignons robustes et goûteux. La vallée de l’Eden est plus haute en altitude. Les températures plus fraîches permettent une excellente rétention de l’acidité, le secret des Rieslings élégants et racés de Peter Lehmann.

« En hiver, les vignes taillées laissent apparaître un paysage dépouillé où la bruine fraîche accueille les premiers rayons de soleil; en été, les vignes fournissent une masse verte qui contraste avec les pacages dorés; le soleil couchant baigne le tout d’une lumière chaude et ambre. » Peter Lehmann Winery (à propos de la beauté unique de la Barossa).

 Un trésor de vieilles vignes

La vallée de la Barossa abrite certaines des plus vieilles vignes du monde. Plus que centenaires, ces vénérables plants ne produisent que d’infimes quantités de raisins vénérés pour leurs flaveurs hautement concentrées et complexes. Le Shiraz Stonewall, vin phare de Peter Lehmann, fait honneur à ces nobles vignobles. 

Une collectivité dynamique de vignerons

Grâce l’étroite collaboration de plus de 140 vignerons qui travaillent avec Peter Lehmann Wines depuis plusieurs générations, la qualité des vins de la maison témoignent des solides relations qui se sont ainsi forgées et de l’accès que celles-ci nous procurent aux fruits les meilleurs et les plus uniques de la région.

Chaque année, Peter Lehmann honore ces précieux partenaires à l’occasion de la Journée des vignerons. Une autre tradition bien établie a lieu pendant les vendanges.  Quand les vignerons viennent livrer leurs raisins, ils sont accueillis avec des rafraîchissements pour se revigorer après une dure journée de récolte. 

Un plaisir culinaire

La Barossa est renommée pour son excellence en gastronomie. Sa cuisine, aux racines britanniques et allemandes et influencée par la suite par les nouveaux arrivants venus des quatre coins du globe, est variée et savoureuse. À l’entrée de la cave Peter Lehmann, le Riesling Wigan, vif et mielleux, se marie merveilleusement avec le plateau d’antipasto « Weighbridge » garni de charcuteries et de fromages locaux.

Notre boutique de vins fins