Producer

Poggio al Tesoro

Country

ITALY

Region of production

TUSCANY

Appellations

Bolgheri Superiore, Bolgheri and Toscana

Founded

2001

Climate

Mediterranean, with abundant sun

Soil composition

Primarily clay-based soil with some sandy loam, red sand and gravel, as well as high concentrations of iron and magnesium in some plots

Vineyard

70 hectares used for production in four vineyards

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

216,000 bottles;
75% reds;
25% whites

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Merlot, Syrah, Vermentino

Ages of Vines

15 years, on average

Behind the Wines

Marilisa Allegrini

Marilisa comes from a family of winegrowers that have worked in the Valpolicella region since the 16th century. As CEO of Allegrini, she’s the sixth generation at the company. She founded Poggio al Tesoro with her brother Walter, a man with a true passion for the Bolgheri terroir.

Hill of treasure

Access the wines of this producer

The Poggio al Tesoro estate has four separate vineyards, all of which are within walking distance of one another. This human-scale outfit is nothing short of the Garden of Eden.

For the generations to come

Poggio al Tesoro, which literally means “hill of treasure,” was founded by Marilisa and her brother Walter. The estate’s name refers to the incredible potential of its geographic location and exceptional terroir. “We realized that this place would be an incredible asset to pass down to our descendants. The land is a true treasure,” says Marilisa. 

Welcome to paradise

Tuscany is already well known for its stunning landscape and outstanding terroirs, but the Bolgheri area is in a class unto itself. They say that Poggio al Tesoro’s vines are located in the region’s sunniest spot. In addition, the estate enjoys a steady breeze blowing off the nearby Tyrrhenian Sea and is protected from changes in climate by the hills of Castagneto Carducci village.

A dear treasure

For the estate’s founder, sustainable agriculture was an obvious choice. “We have the responsibility to preserve this little hillside oasis so that we can leave it to our children, who will in turn become its stewards.” Every year, agriculture students are invited to Poggio al Tesoro to see the growing methods used at the estate. “These practices also reduce our carbon footprint, both in the vineyard and in the cellar.”

Sumptuous Super Tuscans

The estate’s most important Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon vines passed the quarter-century mark several years ago. The cellar is dedicated to red wines that skillfully combine maturity with richness and complexity with elegance—just as you’d expect from remarkable Super Tuscans. This masterful balance can be credited to the estate’s talented winemakers, Luce d’Attoma and Lorenzo Fortini.

In memory of Walter

The Le Grottine vineyard is a particularly meaningful place for Marilisa and her family. There’s a chapel on site that was a favourite with Walter, who passed away in 2003. This is also where he identified the perfect soil for growing Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon. Today, the Cabernet Franc grown here is used for Dedicated to Walter, a special vintage that we represent. “I had the privilege of seeing his enthusiasm first-hand and helping make his dream come true; I think he’d be very pleased to see what we’ve accomplished since he left us.” 

One wine, so much emotion

The 2008 Sondraia brings back great memories for all of us,” says Marilisa. “I knew it was special when we bottled it, and my suspicions were confirmed a few months later when Wine Spectator listed it in their Top 100. After five years of work, getting this recognition was a wonderful feeling.”

Producteur

Poggio al Tesoro

Pays

ITALIE

Région

TOSCANE

Appellations

Bolgheri Superiore, Bolgheri et Toscana

Fondation

2001

Climat

Méditerranéen, abondance de soleil

Sol

En majorité argileux, avec présence de sables limoneux, de sable rouge, de gravier ainsi que d’une forte concentration de fer et de magnésium selon les parcelles

Vignoble

70 hectares en production répartis sur 4 vignobles

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

216 000 bouteilles;
75 % de vins rouges;
25 % de blancs

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Merlot, Syrah, Vermentino

Âge des vignes

15 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Marilisa Allegrini

Issue d’une famille de vignerons active dans la région de Valpolicella depuis le 16e siècle, Marilisa représente la sixième génération au sein de la société Allegrini dont elle est présidente-directrice générale. Elle a fondé Poggio al Tesoro avec son frère Walter, grand amoureux du terroir de Bolgheri.

La colline aux trésors

Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

Quatre vignobles composent le domaine Poggio al Tesoro, et tous sont situés à distance de marche les uns des autres. Un vignoble à échelle humaine qui n’en est pas moins un véritable éden.

Pour les générations à venir

Poggio al Tesoro, littéralement « colline aux trésors » a été fondé par Marilisa et son frère Walter. Le nom du domaine fait référence au potentiel incroyable de l’endroit, avec sa situation géographique et son terroir d’exception. « Nous avons vu que ces lieux représentaient un legs à transmettre à nos descendants. Cette terre est un véritable trésor », confie Marilisa.

Bienvenue au paradis

La Toscane évoque déjà les plus beaux paysages et les plus nobles terroirs, mais les environs de Bolgheri font classe à part. On dit des vignes de Poggio al Tesoro qu’elles sont situées où le soleil est favorable plus qu’ailleurs dans la région. Le vignoble est baigné par la brise de la mer Tyrrhénienne non loin, et protégé des changements de climats par les collines du village de Castagneto Carducci.

Chérir le trésor

Pour la fondatrice du domaine, le choix de la culture raisonnée s’est imposé. « Nous avons la responsabilité de préserver cette petite oasis côtière afin de la transmettre à nos enfants. Ils en seront plus tard les gardiens. » Chaque année, des étudiants en agriculture sont invités venir à Poggio al Tesoro afin d’observer les pratiques de culture raisonnée implantées par l’équipe. « Ces pratiques visent en outre à réduire notre empreinte carbone, autant dans les vignes que dans la cave. »

Somptueux Super Toscans

Les plus importantes vignes de cabernet franc et de cabernet sauvignon du domaine ont franchi le quart de siècle il y a plusieurs années. La cave est dédiée au développement des vins rouges qui marient de façon impeccable maturité et richesse, avec la complexité et l’élégance que l’on trouve dans les Super Toscans les plus remarquables. Cette magnificence, on la doit au talent des vinificateurs du domaine, Luce d’Attoma et Lorenzo Fortini.

À la mémoire de Walter

Le vignoble Le Grottine est chargé de sens pour Marilisa et sa famille : on y trouve une chapelle où Walter, décédé en 2003, adorait se rendre. C’est d’ailleurs sur cette terre qu’il a identifié le sol parfait pour la culture du cabernet franc et du cabernet sauvignon. Aujourd’hui, le cabernet franc qu’on y cultive est dévolu chaque année au millésime Dedicated to Walter, que nous représentons. « Je suis privilégiée d’avoir été témoin de son enthousiasme et d’avoir contribué à la réalisation de son rêve; je crois qu’il serait heureux de voir ce que nous avons accompli depuis son départ. »

Un vin et de grandes émotions

« Le Sondraia millésime 2008 nous rappelle à tous de bons souvenirs, poursuit Marilisa. Je savais qu’il s’agissait d’une cuvée spéciale dès la mise en bouteille; cela s’est avéré lorsque quelques mois plus tard, le Wine Spectator l’a sélectionné dans son Top 100. Cette reconnaissance, après cinq ans de travail, était un grand bonheur. »