Producer

Quinta Vale D. Maria

Country

PORTUGAL

Region of production

Appellations

Douro Valley

Founded

1868

Climate

Hot, dry summers and cold winters

Soil composition

Schist

Vineyard

90 hectares (45 hectares in Quinta Vale D. Maria in the Cima Corgo and 45 hectares in the Douro Superior)

Agriculture

Sustainable viticulture

Production Volume

Just over 175 000 bottles; 10% Port, 90% still red & white wine

Varieties Grown

Ages of Vines

At Quinta Vale D. Maria - Average of 60-year-old vines In the Douro Superior – Average of 20 year-old vinces

Behind the Wines

Cristiano & Joana Van Zeller

When Cristiano Van Zeller and his wife Joana took over the management of Joana’s family winery in 1996 the vineyards were all but abandoned. Only the 10-hectare plot surrounding the estate was in good condition. Cristiano and Joana worked tirelessly to restore the quinta’s former glory. They were among the first estates to diversify their range into top quality red and white table wines. Their efforts were soon rewarded. Quinta Vale D. Maria was the first Portuguese red wine to receive over 95 points from Robert Parker. Cristiano is a founding member of the Douro Boys – a group of 5 estates that work together to communicate, educate, and promote the excellence of the Douro region and its fine wines all around the world.

Unique, award-winning Douro wines

Quinta Vale D. Maria is an ancient estate in the heart of the Douro Valley. Established in 1868, the quinta was named for Queen Dona Maria II of Portugal. The grapes were the base of Graham’s Port for many years. Since 1996, in the hands of Cristiano van Zeller, the estate produces fine Ports as well as award-winning red and white wines.
Access the wines of this producer

“Our efforts are about innovation. Our wines are about personality, character, excitement, pleasure, fun, reliability, innovation, people, and life.” - Cristiano Van Zeller

A Unique Location

The majority of Quinta Vale D. Maria’s vineyards are located in the Torto river valley of the Cima Corgo. This affluent of the Douro river is sharply curved making the valley unique in terms of its constant changes in sun exposures and altitudes over a small space. The estate’s vineyards face 5 points of the compass (S, SE, SW, E, W) and vary in altitude from 150 to 250 meters. Since 2017, following the merge with Aveleda, 45 hectares in the Douro Superior are added. These grapes are the base fruit for our aged tawny Ports, and for our Rufo and VVV Valleys Douro reds.

Diversity & Tradition

The vineyards of Quinta Vale D. Maria are planted according to centuries’ old, traditional custom. A wide variety of indigenous grapes are co-planted in the same vineyards. The mixture of 41 different varieties creates an impressive diversity of aromas and textures. High density planting is also employed to reduce yields and increase complexity and concentration of flavours.

Sustainable Practices

The vineyards of the estate are principally treated with natural, organic compounds like Seaweed, Great Horsetail, and Stinging Nettle. Horse-drawn ploughs are used through-out the wet winter months. The grapes are hand harvested, and all red wines and Port wines are foot trodden in traditional granite lagares (shallow stone tanks).

A Wintry Hunter’s Stew

Cristiano Van Zeller is an avid hunter, shooting only what he eats. His main prey is small birds. Cristiano’s daughter Francisca recalls regularly seeing him bring in partridges to be plucked and prepared by the cook. The meat was then simmered for many hours in Port wine. Francisca recommends pairing this flavourful dish with Quinta Vale D. Maria Douro red. The rich structure, spicy aromas, and fine tannins of this full-bodied red harmonize perfectly with the succulent partridge.

Producteur

Quinta Vale D. Maria

Pays

PORTUGAL

Région

Appellations

Vallée du Douro

Fondation

1868

Climat

Étés chauds et secs et hivers froids

Sol

Schiste

Vignoble

90 hectares (45 hectares de la Quinta Vale D. Maria dans le Cima Corgo et 45 hectares dans le Haut Douro)

Agriculture

Viticulture raisonnée

Production

Un peu plus de 175 000 bouteilles dont 10 % de porto et 90 % de rouges et de blancs tranquilles

Cépages

Âge des vignes

À la Quinta Vale D. Maria – 60 ans en moyenne Dans le Haut Douro – 20 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Cristiano & Joana Van Zeller

Quand Cristiano Van Zeller et son épouse Joana ont pris la direction du domaine familial de Joana, en 1996, les vignes avaient pratiquement été laissées à l’abandon. Seule la parcelle de 10 hectares entourant le domaine était en bon état. Cristiano et Joana ont travaillé sans relâche pour restaurer la quinta à sa gloire des jours passés. Leur domaine fut l’un des premiers à diversifier sa production pour offrir des vins de table rouges et blancs de premier choix. Leurs efforts ont rapidement été récompensés. Le Quinta Vale D. Maria a été le premier vin rouge portugais à se voir accorder plus de 95 points par Robert Parker. Cristiano est l’un des membres fondateurs des Douro Boys (garçons du Douro) – un groupe de cinq domaines qui travaillent dans un effort conjoint pour renseigner et éduquer les gens partout dans le monde sur l’excellence de la région du Douro et de ses vins fins, et en faire la promotion.

Vins du Douro, primés et uniques

Quinta Vale D. Maria est un ancien domaine au cœur de la vallée du Douro. Fondée en 1868, la quinta a été nommée en honneur de la reine Dona Maria II du Portugal. Ses raisins ont servi de base au porto Graham pendant de nombreuses années. Depuis 1996, sous la direction de Cristiano van Zeller, le domaine produit des portos fins ainsi que des vins rouges et blancs primés.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Nos efforts se portent sur l’innovation. Quand il est question de nos vins, il est question de personnalité, de caractère, d’enthousiasme, de plaisir, de joie, de fiabilité, d’innovation, de gens et de vie. » - Cristiano Van Zeller

Géographie unique

Les vignobles de la Quinta Vale D. Maria sont pour la plupart situés dans la vallée du Rio Torto, dans le Cima Corgo. Cet affluent du fleuve Douro est très sinueux, avec une fluctuation constante d’altitude et d’exposition au soleil dans un espace restreint qui rend cette vallée absolument unique. Les vignobles du domaine ont cinq orientations géographiques différentes (S, SE, SO, E et O) et leur altitude varie de 150 à 250 mètres. Depuis 2017, suite à la fusion avec Aveleda, le domaine s’est agrandi de 45 hectares dans le Haut Douro. Ces raisins constituent le fruit de base de nos portos vieillis de type tawny et nos douros rouges Rufo et VVV Valleys.

 

Diversité et tradition

Les vignobles de la Quinta Vale D. Maria sont cultivés selon une tradition vieille de plusieurs centaines d’années. Plusieurs cépages indigènes différents sont cultivés dans les mêmes vignobles. La combinaison de 41 cépages crée une diversité impressionnante d’arômes et de textures. La plantation en haute densité est aussi utilisée pour réduire le rendement et accroître la complexité et la concentration des flaveurs.

 

Méthodes d’agriculture raisonnée

Les vignobles du domaine sont principalement traités à l’aide de composés biologiques naturels tels que les algues de mer, la prêle géante et la grande ortie. Des charrues tirées par des chevaux sont utilisées tout au long des mois pluvieux de l’hiver. Les raisins sont vendangés à la main et tous ceux destinés aux vins rouges et aux portos sont foulés aux pieds dans des lagares de granit traditionnels (cuves en pierre peu profondes).

 

Ragoût hivernal de chasseur

Cristiano Van Zeller est un grand amateur de chasse qui n’abat que ce qu’il mange. Le petit gibier à plumes est sa cible de prédilection. Francisca, la fille de Cristiano, se souvient des perdrix qu’il ramenait souvent et que la cuisinière plumait et préparait. La viande mijotait ensuite plusieurs heures dans le porto. Francisca recommande d’accompagner ce plat savoureux d’un douro rouge Quinta Vale D. Maria. La riche structure, les arômes épicés et les tanins fins de ce vin rouge corsé se marient parfaitement à la perdrix succulente.