Producer

ROLLAND & GALARRETA

Country

SPAIN

Region of production

RIBERA DEL DUERO, Rioja, Rueda

Appellations

Rioja, Rueda, Ribera del Duero

Founded

Partnership launched with 2010 vintage reds

Climate

High altitude plantings provide cooling influences to these sunny continental regions.

Soil composition

Rioja Alavesa: mainly calcareous clay Ribera del Duero: low-yielding calcareous soils rich in limestone Rueda: alluvial terraces with pockets of limestone

Agriculture

Sustainable precision viticulture

Production Volume

800 000 bottles

Varieties Grown

Merlot, Tempranillo Noir ,

Ages of Vines

35 – 40 years old on average

Behind the Wines

Michel Rolland

French winemaker and consultant Michel Rolland is famous for his skill in crafting elegant, seductive Bordeaux wines. His passion for fine wine terroir has taken him around the world, setting up joint ventures in South Africa and Argentina along the way. Spain long intrigued Michel. “The addition of different landscapes is one of the things I love most about this country. I also admire the incredibly diverse geography that is expressed in so many singular wines; wines that show great potential.” It was this potential that led Michel and partner Javier Galarreta to seek out grapes from superior, old vine sites in Rioja Alavesa, Ribera del Duero, and Rueda for their Rolland & Galarreta wines.

THE ESSENCE OF SPAIN

In 2010, renowned French oenologist Michel Rolland joined forces with Javier Galarreta, one of the driving forces behind the reputed Rioja wine producer Araex. They shared a common vision: to craft fine Spanish wines from a range of exceptional terroirs. Their aim was to bring these wines to the international market, offering impeccable quality and great value to draw a new generation of wine lovers to Spain.
Access the wines of this producer

“Ours is a collaboration between two cultures, France and Spain, with one vision: to create elegant wines that offer the quality and value, depth and breadth of what Spain can offer to the world,” - Javier Galarreta

A Marriage of Two Cultures

According to Javier Galarreta, the Rolland & Galarreta range is the result of “a dialogue between two cultures”. The two partners are a perfect fit, with Michel Rolland bringing his wealth of fine winemaking experience, and Javier Galarreta supplying his knowledge of top Spanish vineyards and his access to international markets.

Singular Terroir

Michel Rolland is a firm believer that fine wine can only be made from high quality grapes grown in vineyards that bestow a sense of place. Rolland & Galaretta’s old vine Verdejo is sourced from vineyards at 700 metres altitude surrounding the village of La Seca. The poor rocky soils here are laced with pockets of limestone that impart lovely minerality and freshness to the wine. The grapes for Rolland & Galarreta’s Ribera del Duero and Rioja cuvées are also grown at high altitudes, where varying micro-climates bring balance and complexity.

Precision Viticulture

Rolland & Galarreta employ precision viticulture techniques in many of the vineyards from which their grapes are sourced. This practice consists of carefully monitoring vine health, soil conditions, and weather patterns to ensure that each intervention (such as treating against pests and diseases, pruning, applying fertilizers, determining harvest dates) is performed optimally. State-of-the-art technology like GPS, weather stations, and soil sensors are used. These tools allow them to reduce the impact of climate change, improve soil vitality, and lower their carbon footprint. Moreover, the aromatic and flavour complexity of their grapes has significantly increased using these methods.

International Dimension

Rolland & Galarreta strive not only to craft top quality Spanish wine reflective of their roots, but also to ensure that they appeal to wine lovers around the globe. Their mission is to make wine to “travel the world and conquer palates”. The Rolland & Galarreta range is seductive, with vibrant fruit, great structure, and a rounded mouthfeel

Producteur

ROLLAND & GALARRETA

Pays

ESPAGNE

Région

RIBERA DEL DUERO, Rioja, Rueda

Appellations

Rioja, Rueda, Ribera del Duero

Fondation

Partenariat lancé avec les rouges du millésime 2010

Climat

Ces régions continentales ensoleillées bénéficient des effets rafraîchissants que lui procure la haute altitude à laquelle les vignes sont plantées.

Sol

Rioja Alavesa : sols principalement composés d’argile calcaire Ribera del Duero : sols à faible rendement riches en calcaire Rueda : terrasses alluviales avec poches de calcaire

Agriculture

Viticulture raisonnée et de précision

Production

Environ 800 000 bouteilles

Cépages

Merlot, Tempranillo noir ,

Âge des vignes

De 35 à 40 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Michel Rolland

Le vinificulteur et consultant français Michel Rolland est réputé pour son adresse à réaliser d’élégants et séduisants vins de Bordeaux. Sa passion pour les terroirs d’exception l’ont conduit aux quatre coins du monde et à la fondation de coentreprises en Afrique du Sud et en Argentine. L’Espagne a longtemps intrigué Michel. « La succession de paysages différents est l’une des choses que j’aime le plus dans ce pays. J’admire également l’incroyable diversité géographique qui s’exprime dans un si grand nombre de vins distinctifs, des vins qui ont un grand potentiel. » C’est ce potentiel qui a amené Michel et son partenaire Javier Galarreta à dénicher, pour leurs vins Rolland & Galarreta, des cépages issus d’anciens vignobles de qualité supérieure des régions de Rioja Alavesa, Ribera del Duero et Rueda.

L’ESSENCE DE L’ESPAGNE

En 2010, Michel Rolland, œnologue français renommé, s’est associé à Javier Galarreta, l‘une des forces motrices d’Araex, producteur réputé de vins Rioja. Les deux hommes partageaient la même vision : réaliser des vins fins espagnols à partir d’une variété de terroirs exceptionnels. Leur objectif était d’amener sur le marché international ces vins de qualité impeccable offrant un excellent rapport qualité-prix afin de faire découvrir l’Espagne à une nouvelle génération d’amateurs de vins.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

« Notre collaboration en est une qui s’appuie sur deux cultures, celles de la France et de l’Espagne, unies par une seule vision : créer des vins élégants qui possèdent la qualité, la valeur, la profondeur et la diversité de ce que l’Espagne peut offrir au monde. »  - Javier Galarreta

Mariage de deux cultures

Selon Javier Galarreta, la gamme Rolland & Galarreta est le résultat d’un « dialogue entre deux cultures ». Les deux partenaires se complètent parfaitement, Michel Rolland avec sa riche expérience en réalisation de vins fins et Javier Galarreta avec sa connaissance des meilleurs vignobles espagnols et son accès aux marchés internationaux.

Terroir distinctif

Michel Rolland croit fermement qu’on ne peut réaliser un vin fin qu’à partir de raisins de haute qualité, cultivés dans des vignobles caractéristiques du lieu qu’ils occupent. Le Verdejo vielles vignes de Rolland & Galarreta provient de vignobles sis à 700 mètres d’altitude autour du village de La Seca. Les sols rocailleux et pauvres sont parsemés de poches de calcaire qui procurent au vin sa merveilleuse minéralité et sa fraîcheur. Les raisins utilisés pour les cuvées Ribera del Duero et Rioja de Rolland & Galarreta sont aussi cultivés à de hautes altitudes où les différents types de micro climat confèrent aux vins équilibre et complexité.

Viticulture de précision

Rolland & Galarreta emploie des techniques de viticulture de précision dans plusieurs des vignobles qui produisent ses raisins. Cette méthode consiste à surveiller étroitement la santé des vignes, l’état des sols et les tendances météorologiques afin que chaque intervention (comme le traitement contre les organismes nuisibles et les maladies, la taille, l’application de fertilisants et la détermination des dates de vendange) soit effectuée de manière optimale. Des technologies de pointe, telles que des GPS, des stations météorologiques et des sondes de sol, sont utilisées. Ces outils permettent à l’entreprise de réduire l’impact des changements climatiques, d’améliorer la vitalité des sols et d’amenuiser son empreinte carbone. De plus, le recours à ces méthodes a grandement accru la complexité des arômes et des flaveurs de ses raisins.

Dimension internationale

Non seulement Rolland & Galarreta s’efforce-t-elle de réaliser des vins espagnols de première qualité et fidèles à leurs origines, mais elle veut aussi que ceux-ci plaisent aux amateurs de vins partout dans le monde. Sa mission est de faire en sorte que le vin « voyage dans le monde et conquiert les palais ». Les vins de la gamme Rolland & Galarreta sont séduisants, avec une vibrante expression fruitée, une superbe structure et une belle rondeur en bouche.

Notre boutique de vins fins