Producer

Spring Valley Vineyard

Country

UNITED STATES

Region of production

Washington

Appellations

Walla Walla

Founded

1993

Climate

Arid, with cool mountain currents

Soil composition

Deep clay-limestone silt that retains moisture

Vineyard

44 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

60,000 bottles; 99.9% reds

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Malbec, Merlot, Syrah, Viognier

Ages of Vines

13 to 26 years, on average

Behind the Wines

Serge Laville

Originally from the Rhone Valley, Serge Laville was introduced to wines by his grandfather, a true connoisseur. He went on to study oenology and travelled to Spring Valley in 2002 as a wine tourist with a camera slung around his neck. Serge quickly fell in love with the region and decided to stay. He has been the winemaker at the Corkrum-Derby estate since 2004.

Vines in the desert

Access the wines of this producer

It may not be a real desert, but it certainly looks like one. In the Walla Walla Valley, wheat rules the landscape. The golden expanse is broken by an oasis of luxuriant vines that produce wines of rare elegance. Welcome to Spring Valley.

Love-struck in the desert

We drove more than an hour through this desert-like environment before we finally came upon the ranch. Located at the foot of a hill, it’s a unique place with incredible contrasts that instantly captured our hearts. We immediately understood why Serge Laville, who originally came to visit his friend Devin Corkrum in 2000, wanted to stay here permanently.

The Corkrum-Derby family: Farmers of the Far West

The family has been living in the region since 1865, farming their rolling land for generations. In 1993, they converted their fields into vineyards—a wise move made by Dean Derby and his wife Shari, who is the granddaughter of Uriah Corkrum, the man who founded the Spring Valley ranch, as it is still known today.

All in the family

Family and tradition are central to the way these new winegrowers operate. The estate’s first wine, a Merlot blend, was crafted by Devin, who named it Uriah after his great-grandfather. Since then, every wine extracted from the family land has been named after a member of the family: Nina Lee, Frederick, Katherine, etc.

Hand-crafted

At Spring Valley, traditional methods are used as much as possible. Each cluster is handled with great care and the vines are delicately surrounded with soil before the onset of winter to protect them from the cold as they await spring’s return to the valley.

Fine and authentic

Generally, hot-weather wine regions produce opulent, powerful reds. Those made at Spring Valley are fine and elegant, with an Old World signature that can be attributed to Serge. It’s especially noticeable in the Merlots and Cabernets. There’s no lab in the wine cellar, and no additives are used—authenticity has the last word here.

Producteur

Spring Valley Vineyard

Pays

ÉTATS-UNIS

Région

Washington

Appellations

Walla Walla

Fondation

1993

Climat

Aride, avec courants frais des montagnes

Sol

Sol composé d’un profond limon argilo-calcaire retenant l’humidité

Vignoble

44 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

60 000 bouteilles; 99,9 % de vins rouges

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Malbec, Merlot, Syrah, Viognier

Âge des vignes

Entre 13 et 26 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Serge Laville

Originaire de la Vallée du Rhône, initié aux vins par son grand-père connaisseur, œnologue de formation, Serge Laville est arrivé en tant qu’œnotouriste à Spring Valley en 2002, appareil photo au cou : amoureux de la région, il s’y est fixé. Il est vinificateur au domaine Corkrum-Derby depuis 2004.

Des vignes dans le désert

Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

Ce n’est pas tout à fait un désert, mais du ciel, ça en a tout l’air : dans la vallée de Walla Walla, le blé est roi. Se détachant de cette étendue dorée, une oasis de vignes luxuriantes dont on tire des vins d’une rare élégance. Bienvenue à Spring Valley.

En plein désert, l’amour

Il nous a fallu rouler plus d’une heure dans ce désert de couleur pour finalement arriver au « ranch ». Au détour d’une colline nous attendait un endroit unique, aux contrastes incroyables, pour lequel nous avons ressenti un véritable coup de cœur. On a vite compris pourquoi Serge Laville, venu visiter son ami Devin Corkrum en 2000, n’a jamais voulu en repartir…

Les Corkrum-Derby : cultivateurs au Far West

Établis dans la région depuis 1865, la famille s’est dévouée à l’agriculture sur leurs terres vallonnées pendant des générations. Ce n’est qu’en 1993 que les champs ont fait place au vignoble, sur l’inspiration de Dean Derby et de sa femme Shari, petite-fille d’Uriah Corkrum, le fondateur de ce qu’on appelle encore aujourd’hui « le ranch » Spring Valley.

Une histoire de famille

La famille et les traditions sont au cœur de la démarche des nouveaux vignerons. Le premier vin du domaine porte la signature de Devin, qui a rendu hommage à son arrière-grand-père en baptisant son assemblage à base de merlot du nom de son aïeul, Uriah. Depuis, chaque vin issu des terres ancestrales porte le nom d’un membre de la famille : Nina Lee, Frederick, Katherine…

Du travail à la main

Chez Spring Valley, on applique le plus possible les méthodes traditionnelles. Chaque grappe est manipulée avec soin, et avant l’hiver, les vignes sont délicatement enfouies dans la terre afin de les soustraire aux froids rigoureux… en attendant le retour du printemps dans la vallée.

Fins et authentiques

Généralement, les régions viticoles très chaudes produisent des rouges opulents, puissants. Ceux de Spring Valley sont fins et élégants, avec une signature « Ancien Monde » attribuable à Serge, perceptible notamment sur les merlots et les cabernets. Au chai, pas d’additifs, pas de labo : l’authenticité a le dernier mot.