Producer

Thunevin - Château Valandraud

Country

FRANCE

Region of production

BORDEAUX

Appellations

8, including Saint-Émilion 1er Grand Cru Classé

Founded

1992

Climate

Temperate oceanic

Soil composition

Clay-limestone

Vineyard

45 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Sustainable

Production Volume

350,000 bottles;
90% red,
10% white

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Carmenere Noir, Malbec, Merlot, Sauvignon Blanc, Semillon

Ages of Vines

35 years old, on average

Behind the Wines

Jean-Luc Thunevin and Murielle Andraud

This visionary couple with a passion for elegant wines has carved out a spot for themselves among the Bordeaux aristocracy and turned their small winery into an internationally renowned business. The name of the estate and its star plot is a combination of the French word vallon (which means “small valley”) and Murielle’s last name.

The “bad boy” of Bordeaux

Access the wines of this producer

In the mid-1980s, a free spirit wandered into the village of Saint-Émilion, first selling postcards, then opening wine bars and restaurants before learning how to make wine from his friends. And it wasn’t long before he came up with some excellent results!

A rebel among the vines

Jean-Luc Thunevin isn’t your classic winemaker who inherited the family operations and an ancestral chateau. He wasn’t born among Bordeaux’s vineyards, nor did he study oenology—far from it. In fact, Jean-Luc was born on a farm in Algeria and he trained to be a woodcutter. And yet, he found his niche among the vines.

Sumptuous garage wine  

The term “garage wine” usually conjures up images of Italian immigrants making homemade wine in America. But for wine lovers, it means something else altogether: a wine that is both exquisite and rare. The expression was coined specifically for a wine that Jean-Luc made in the days when he was still a bar owner in Saint-Émilion. He had crafted it in his garage using grapes grown on his small plot. The entire batch was just 1,300 bottles. But much to everyone’s surprise, this Château Valandraud proved outstanding thanks to its exceptional concentration. Critics like Robert Parker raved about it and the expression, though mocking at first, quickly became an “uncontrolled” appellation!

About the bad boy

Having heard about this unlikely rising star, Robert Parker described him as the bad boy of Bordeaux. This label also stuck and was even adopted by Jean-Luc himself, who freely applied it to the name of some of his products.

Not bad at all!

That’s the story behind Bad Boy (classic Bordeaux), Baby Bad Boy (Merlot and Grenache under the Vin de France appellation) and Bad Girl (Crémant de Bordeaux, available as a blush or white). This line was highly acclaimed and appealed to new consumers who were drawn to its informal attitude, embodied by the black sheep on the bottle labels.

Climbing the rungs

Jean-Luc and Murielle surrounded themselves with a highly qualified team. Together, they worked very hard and in 2012 Château Valandraud ascended from a Grand Cru to a 1er Grand Cru Classé. “We produce remarkable wines from a ‘cold’ terroir that is conducive to perfectly ripe fruit with exceptional freshness.” —  Jean-Luc Thunevin

Producteur

Thunevin - Château Valandraud

Pays

FRANCE

Région

BORDEAUX, LANGUEDOC-ROUSSILLON

Appellations

8, dont Saint-Émilion 1er Grand Cru Classé

Fondation

1992

Climat

Tempéré océanique

Sol

Argilo-calcaire

Vignoble

45 hectares en production

Agriculture

Raisonnée

Production

350 000 bouteilles;
90 % de vins rouges,
10 % de blancs

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Carmenère noir, Malbec, Merlot, Sauvignon blanc, Sémillon

Âge des vignes

35 ans en moyenne

En lumière

Jean-Luc Thunevin et Murielle Andraud

Ce couple visionnaire, amoureux de vins élégants et souhaitant se tailler une place parmi l’aristocratie de Bordeaux, a fait de sa petite entreprise un vignoble mondialement connu. Le nom du domaine et de sa parcelle vedette est une contraction du mot vallon et du patronyme de Murielle.

Le Bad Boy de Bordeaux

Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

Au village de Saint-Émilion arrive au milieu des années 1980 un électron libre qui vend des cartes postales, puis ouvre des bars à vins et des restos, avant d’apprendre grâce à des amis comment faire du vin et de produire au final d’excellents crus!

Un esprit rebelle dans les vignes

Jean-Luc Thunevin n’a pas le profil du vigneron typique qui a hérité d’une exploitation familiale et d’un château ancestral. Il n’est pas né dans les vignes du Bordelais, mais sur une ferme agricole d’Algérie, n’a pas fait l’École d’œnologie, mais l’École des bûcherons; pourtant, le vin lui réussit. Portrait.

Luxueux vin de garage

Si le vin de garage réfère dans l’imaginaire commun au vin domestique fabriqué par les Italiens d’Amérique, pour l’œnophile, il s’agit de toute autre chose : un vin aussi sublime que rare. L’expression a été créée pour qualifier un vin que Jean-Luc Thunevin, propriétaire de bar à Saint-Émilion, s’était amusé à bricoler dans son garage avec des raisins provenant de sa petite parcelle, duquel il a tiré même pas 1300 bouteilles. Surprise! Ce Château Valandraud avec son exceptionnelle concentration, s’est avéré divin. Les critiques, dont Robert Parker, l’ont encensé, et l’expression, si elle était moqueuse au début, est devenue une appellation d’origine « incontrôlée »!

À propos du Bad Boy

Constatant la réussite de ce nouveau venu un peu rebelle dans le paysage bordelais, Robert Parker y est allé d’une autre formule imagée : Thunevin est le Bad Boy de Bordeaux. Encore une fois, l’expression est restée, et a même été reprise par le principal intéressée, qui ne s’est pas gêné pour en baptiser certains de ses produits.

La famille Bad, pas mauvaise du tout!

Ainsi sont nés Bad Boy (Bordeaux classique), Baby Bad Boy (merlot et grenache, sous l’appellation Vin de France) et Bad Girl, un crémant de Bordeaux offert en rosé et en blanc. Très bien reçue par la critique, la gamme plaît aux néo-consommateurs grâce à son côté démocratique, en font foi les étiquettes des bouteilles figurant des moutons noirs très Thunevin dans l’attitude.

Grimper les échelons

Jean-Luc et Murielle se sont entourés d’une équipe hyper qualitative avec qui ils ont travaillé d’arrache-pied pour qu’en 2012, Château Valandraud passe de Grand Cru à 1er Grand Cru Classé. « On y produit des vins d’exception à partir d’un terroir “froid” qui nous permet d’avoir une parfaite maturité avec une belle fraîcheur. » — Jean-Luc Thunevin