Region

Cachapoal Valley

Country

CHILE

Producer

Carmenere is now the area’s star grape

There are six Chilean winegrowing regions, all of which are located in the centre of the country:

Aconcagua, Casablanca, Maipo, Rappel, Maule and Bio-Bio. The first vines were planted here by 16th century conquistadores, first to produce wine for mass and eventually to drink with dinner. Things continued this way until the 19th century, when some inspired growers seized on the phylloxera crisis to make imitation Bordeaux from their vines, which had miraculously been spared. The results were highly lauded. In the 1980s, Chile began producing wines that would catch the attention of more discerning oenophiles, and today it is one of the top five wine exporting countries worldwide. 

Thanks to its position between the Pacific Ocean and the Andean mountains, Chile has a surprisingly Mediterranean climate, with hot, dry summers and mild, wet winters. The cool Humboldt Current blows off the water and up the mountainside. The grape vines, which are warmed by the day’s generous sun and cooled as the night falls, sink their roots firmly into the clay, stone and pebble soil.

 

Cachapoal Valley

Located between the cities of San Fernando and Santiago, this sub-region gets its name from the Cachapoal River, which runs through the valley. And yet, drip irrigation is used to hydrate the vines in the prevailing arid conditions. The temperature range in the valley is very broad, offering the perfect balance of summer sun and winter rain—ideal for growing exceptional red wines. Carmenere, a French variety that was believed to be wiped out by phylloxera, was resuscitated in Chile and is now the area’s star grape. 

Our producers in Cachapoal Valley

Région

Vallée de Cachapoal

Pays

CHILI

Producteur

Le carménère, est la vedette du terroir

Le Chili viticole se divise en six régions situées au centre du pays : Aconcagua, Casablanca, Maipo, Rappel, Maule et Bio-Bio. Les premières vignes y ont été plantées par les conquistadores au 16e siècle, d’abord pour produire des vins de messe, puis tranquillement, afin de combler les besoins de la table. Il en est allé ainsi jusqu’au 19e siècle, où des producteurs plus inspirés que d’autres ont tiré avantage de la crise du phylloxéra pour tirer de leurs vignes miraculeusement préservées des vins d’imitation bordelaise très prisés. Enfin, dans les années 1980, le Chili s’est mis à produire des vins propres à secouer les œnophiles les plus sélectifs : aujourd’hui, il compte parmi les cinq plus importants pays exportateurs de vins du monde.

Le Chili, baigné par l’océan Pacifique, jouit étonnamment d’un climat méditerranéen (étés chauds et secs, hivers doux et humides) grâce notamment aux sommets de la cordillère des Andes ainsi qu’au courant marin froid de Humboldt qui remonte la côte. Les vignes, chauffées par un soleil généreux le jour, au frais à la nuit tombée, s’enracinent dans un sol composé d’argile, de pierres et de cailloux roulés. 

 

Vallée de Cachapoal

Située entre les villes de San Fernando et Santiago, cette sous-région tire son nom de la rivière Cachapoal qui serpente dans la vallée, ce qui n’empêche pas l’irrigation au goutte-à-goutte dans les vignes soumises à des conditions arides. Néanmoins, la vallée jouit d’une grande amplitude thermique et d’un parfait équilibre soleil estival et pluie hivernale qui sont les conditions gagnantes pour la production de vins rouges mémorables. Le carménère, un cépage français qu’on croyait anéanti par le phylloxéra, ressuscité au Chili, est la vedette du terroir. 

Nos producteurs de la région de la Vallée de Cachapoal