Producer

Villa Maria

Country

NEW ZEALAND

Appellations

North Island: Auckland, Gisborne, Hawkes Bay, Wairarapa | South Island: Marlborough, Nelson, Waipara, Central Otago

Founded

1961 par Sir George Fistonich

Climate

Globally sunny, temperate, maritime climates. Sea breezes bring a cooling influence. In Hawkes Bay: Warm, sunny, low rainfall. In Marlborough: Cool, abundant sunshine, low rainfall

Soil composition

Mainly alluvial, free draining, stony soil. In Hawkes Bay: A virtual kaleidoscope! From alluvial, with gravely subsoils in the plains to very stony soils in the famed Gimblett Gravels, with layers of sands and silt. In Marlborough: Ancient, glacial, free-draining soil (stony sandy loam over very deep, stony gravels). More clay in the southern vineyards, where Pinot Noir thrives.

Vineyard

The vineyard area allocated to these top-tier wines changes with the vintage to ensure consistent, high quality.

Agriculture

All owned vineyards are either certified organic or sustainable.

Production Volume

70% white, 30% red

Varieties Grown

Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon , Chardonnay, Chenin, Grenache Noir , Malbec, Merlot, Pinot Gris, Pinot Noir , Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Semillon, Syrah, Tempranillo Noir , Viognier

Ages of Vines

Between 15 and 18 years; over 25 years in some cases.

Behind the Wines

Sir George Fistonich, Ollie Powrie & Nick Picone

Villa Maria founder, Sir George Fistonich, strongly believes in having great people with a passion to grow and make great wine. And so he put together a talented, dedicated team including Ollie Powrie and Nick Picone.

Exceptional Sites for Extraordinary Wines

Soil-climate combinations perfectly suited to crafting top quality wines, environmentally friendly production techniques, and the unmatched dedication of their team characterizes Villa Maria. Together, these qualities give rise to extraordinary Reserve and Single Vineyard wines.
Access the wines of this producer

The Value of Great People

At Villa Maria, the human aspect of terroir is fundamental. From what (and where) to plant, to when to pick, the choices made in the vineyards are essential for top quality grapes. Likewise, the decisions made in the winery are key to crafting consistently excellent wines from one vintage to the next. Sir George Fistonich’s highly skilled team is up to the task.

 

Strength in the Face of Adversity

The 1980s was a crucial period for the vineyard. Newcomers had sparked a price war bringing Villa Maria to the brink of foreclosure. The firm was saved thanks to the winery’s international acclaim, and the broad support of its staff, backed by the Save Villa Maria campaign, launched by contract wine producers and the general public.

 

Specialized Techniques and Organic Vineyards

All of Villa Maria’s vineyards are grown under Biogro certified organic production or Sustainable Winegrowers New Zealand (SWNZ). Subsurface irrigation, along with the use of a pressure chamber to monitor vine stress, allows Villa Maria to target water applications precisely. Silt-rich sites are increasingly being dry farmed. Careful canopy management techniques are employed through-out the year. All in an effort to produce more concentrated wines, with riper, more expressive fruit.

 

Pushing the Boundaries of Excellence

The team at Villa Maria is always learning and innovating to further their already in-depth knowledge of each vineyard, and each vine. Their practices evolve over time in pursuit of ever better and more complex wines. Ollie Powrie experienced this first hand, tasting 2013 Merlot grapes from the organic Joseph Soler Vineyard. They had such purity, and incredibly flavour. The resultant wine: Villa Maria Single Vineyard Braided Gravels Merlot 2013 remains an all-time favourite for Ollie.

 

“The greatest wine in my career so far would have to be the 2014 Ngakirikiri Cabernet Sauvignon. It has the potential to be one of the greatest red wines yet produced from New Zealand. The fragrance, purity and richness found in this wine is next level stuff!”

-       Nick Picone, Group Chief Winemaker, Villa Maria

Producteur

Villa Maria

Pays

NEW ZEALAND

Région

,

Appellations

North Island: Auckland, Gisborne, Hawkes Bay, Wairarapa | South Island: Marlborough, Nelson, Waipara, Central Otago

Fondation

1961 par Sir George Fistonich

Climat

Climats généralement ensoleillés, tempérés et maritimes. Les brises océanes abaissent les températures. À Hawkes Bay : Chaud, ensoleillé, faibles pluies À Marlborough : Frais, soleil abondant, faibles pluies

Sol

Principalement alluvionnaire, pierreux et très drainant. À Hawkes Bay : Un véritable kaléidoscope! Depuis les sols alluvionnaires à sous-sols graveleux que l’on trouve dans les plaines jusqu’aux sols très pierreux de la réputée région de Gimblett Gravels avec ses couches de sables et de silt. À Marlborough : Sol ancien, glaciaire et très drainant (sol pierreux sableux-limoneux couvrant une très profonde couche de gravier caillouteux). Plus grande proportion d’argile dans les vignobles du sud qui sont très propices au pinot noir.

Vignoble

Le secteur du vignoble affecté à ces grands crus change selon le millésime pour assurer une qualité élevée constante.

Agriculture

Tous les vignobles propriétés de la maison sont soit certifiés biologiques ou conduits en lutte raisonnée.

Production

70 % blanc, 30 % rouge

Cépages

Cabernet franc , Cabernet sauvignon , Chardonnay, Chenin, Grenache noir , Malbec, Merlot, Pinot gris , Pinot noir , Riesling, Sauvignon blanc, Sémillon, Syrah, Tempranillo noir , Viognier

Âge des vignes

Entre 15 et 18 ans; plus de 25 ans pour certaines

En lumière

Sir George Fistonich, Ollie Powrie et Nick Picone

Le fondateur de Villa Maria, Sir George Fistonich, croit fermement qu’il importe de travailler avec des gens qui travaillent avec passion à l’élevage et à la production d’un grand vin. Il a su s’entourer de personnes à la fois talentueuses et passionnées, dont Ollie Powrie et Nick Picone.

Des sites exceptionnels pour des vins extraordinaires

Des combinaisons de sol et de climat convenant parfaitement à la création de vins de première qualité, des techniques de production écologiques et une ferveur inégalée de la part de ses équipes caractérisent Villa Maria : réunies, toutes ces qualités donnent naissance aux vins Villa Maria Reserve et Single Vineyard.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur

La valeur d’une excellente équipe

À Villa Maria, l’apport humain au terroir est fondamental. Depuis ce qu’il faut planter (et où le planter) jusqu’au moment judicieux pour la cueillette, les choix faits dans les vignobles sont essentiels pour obtenir des raisins de la meilleure qualité. Il en va de même des décisions  prises dans la vinerie qui sont cruciales à la réalisation d’excellents vins de millésime en millésime. L’équipe extrêmement compétente de Sir George Fistonich est à la hauteur de la tâche.

La force dans l’adversité

Les années 1980 marquent un moment crucial de l’histoire du domaine quand de nouveaux venus dans l’industrie ont provoqué une guerre des prix qui a mené Villa Maria au bord de la faillite. La maison a été sauvée grâce à sa renommée internationale et au soutien général de son personnel, appuyés par la campagne publicitaire « Sauvons Villa Maria » lancée par les viticulteurs sous contrat et le grand public. 

Techniques spécialisées et vignobles bio

Tous les vignobles de Villa Maria sont cultivés conformément aux normes de production biologique certifiée Biogro ou du programme Sustainable Winegrowers New Zealand (SWNZ). Le recours à l’irrigation souterraine ainsi que l’utilisation d’une chambre à pression pour contrôler le stress hydrique des vignes permettent à Villa Maria de cibler l’irrigation avec précision. Les sites riches en silt sont de plus en plus exploités en aridoculture. Des techniques de gestion attentive du couvert sont employées à l’année. Tout cela, pour produire des vins plus concentrés, au fruit plus mûr et plus expressif.

 

Repousser les limites de l’excellence

L’équipe de Villa Maria apprend et innove constamment pour approfondir sa connaissance déjà très grande de chaque vignoble et de chaque vigne. Ses pratiques évoluent sans cesse afin de produire des vins encore meilleurs et plus complexes. Ollie Powrie en a fait l’expérience lui-même en goûtant les raisins merlot 2013 du vignoble biologique Joseph Soler. Le résultat : le vin Villa Maria Single Vineyard Braided Gravels Merlot 2013 reste à ce jour l’un des plus grands coups de cœur d’Ollie.

 

« Le plus grand vin de ma carrière est sans doute le Cabernet Sauvignon Ngakirikiri 2014 qui peut potentiellement devenir l’un des plus grands vins rouges, même s’il est produit en Nouvelle-Zélande. Le parfum, la pureté et la richesse que recèle ce vin le porte à l’échelon supérieur. »

-       Nick Picone, vinificateur en chef du groupe Villa Maria