Producer

Beaux Frères

Country

UNITED STATES

Region of production

OREGON

Appellations

Willamette Valley Ribbon Ridge

Founded

1986

Climate

Semi-continental

Soil composition

Sedimentary Willakenzie soils

Vineyard

31 hectares used for production

Agriculture

Biodynamic and organic

Production Volume

100,000 bottles;
96% reds,
4% whites

Varieties Grown

Chardonnay, Pinot Noir

Ages of Vines

26 years

Behind the Wines

Michael G. Etzel, Robert M. Parker Jr and Robert Roy

Winemaker Michael G. Etzel is the brother-in-law of wine critic Robert M. Parker Jr., who is also the founder of The Wine Advocate. Meanwhile, Robert Roy is an oenophile who invested in the project. These three form the energetic triumvirate that makes the Beaux Frères vineyard one of the finest in Oregon.

A craftsmen’s estate

In Oregon, 2014 was one of the best years thanks to the generous sun that flooded the valleys, warmed the grapes and led to an early harvest. Beaux Frères produced some exceptional vintages that year.
Access the wines of this producer

All in the family

When your dreams of becoming a winegrower combine with a chance encounter with rich soil that’s perfect for grape growing, it’s suddenly very tempting to found a vineyard. And when you happen to have an eminent wine critic in the family, the prospect becomes twice as appealing! 

The route to Oregon

When on vacation on the U.S. West Coast in 1986, Michael discovered 88 hectares of good agricultural land, and his interest was instantly piqued. This was in the middle of Oregon, the promised land of 19th century pioneers and a veritable Eden for farmers. At the time, the land was being used for raising pigs and chickens, but he saw its potential for grape growing instead.

Thick as thieves

Michael shared his idea with his sister’s husband Robert who, after all, knew a thing or two about wine. The two agreed to create the vineyard together and its name was easy to find—Beaux Frères means “brothers-in-law” in French. Nothing but Pinot Noir was planted on the site, and the first grapes, which were harvested in 1990, were sold to local wineries as they still didn’t have a cellar of their own. In order to move into large-scale wine production, they would need an investor.

And then there were three!

In 1991, Quebecker Robert Roy entered the scene. He not only came with great admiration for Parker, but also a wealth of experience in construction, business and, of course, wine. He presented the two founders with a concrete business plan backed by the funds needed to turn the old farm into a full-fledged winery. A deal was struck and the business was immediately poised for growth. To this day, Roy continues to be the estate’s financial manager. Michael runs the operations with his son Mike D. Etzel (born at the same time Beaux Frères was founded), who is in charge of vinification.

Minimal intervention

It’s a well-known fact that Robert Parker is always on the hunt for excellent wines. He seeks them out wherever he goes, but especially at his estate. Ever since the first vines were planted, the same philosophy has guided the estate: to intervene as little as possible and give priority to growing practices that are matched to the soil type and produce the most authentic wines possible.

Does Parker rate Parker wines?

Robert Parker has been the editor-in-chief of The Wine Advocate for 42 years, but he has never published reviews of his own wines. However, he has produced tasting notes to accompany each of his products!

Our fine wine Boutique

Producteur

Beaux Frères

Pays

ÉTATS-UNIS

Région

OREGON

Appellations

Willamette Valley Ribbon Ridge

Fondation

1986

Climat

Semi-continental

Sol

Sols sédimentaires Willakenzie

Vignoble

31 hectares en production

Agriculture

Biodynamique et biologique

Production

100 000 bouteilles;
96 % de vins rouges,
4 % de blancs

Cépages

Chardonnay, Pinot noir

Âge des vignes

26 ans

En lumière

Michael G. Etzel, Robert M. Parker Jr et Robert Roy

Le premier est vigneron, beau-frère du deuxième, celui-ci dégustateur de vins et fondateur du célèbre The Wine Advocate. Le troisième est œnophile et investisseur. À eux, ils composent un triumvirat énergique qui a fait du domaine Beaux Frères l’un des fleurons de l’Oregon.

Un domaine de maîtres

En Oregon, le millésime 2014 est reconnu comme étant le meilleur, suite à un été marqué par un soleil généreux qui a baigné les vallées, réchauffé les raisins et favorisé une vendange hâtive. Beaux Frères en a tiré des cuvées exceptionnelles.
Accéder aux vins de ce producteur


Une histoire de famille

Quand on déniche des terres riches pour la culture et qu’on a des velléités de vigneron, il est tentant de fonder un vignoble, non? Et quand en plus on a un éminent dégustateur de vins dans la famille, c’est encore plus alléchant de l’inclure dans l’aventure! 


La piste de l’Oregon

En 1986, alors qu’il est en vacances dans l’Ouest américain, Michael Etzel découvre 88 hectares de bonnes terres agricoles qui ont vite fait de susciter son intérêt. On est en plein Oregon, la terre promise des pionniers du 19e siècle, un véritable éden pour les agriculteurs… où, pour l’instant, on engraisse des cochons et on élève des poules. Et si on y plantait plutôt de belles vignes?


Deux larrons en foire

Mike en toucha un mot au mari de sa sœur, Robert, qui s’y connaissait quand même un peu en vin. Les deux beaux-frères s’établissent donc en vignoble, dont le nom est rapidement trouvé. On n’y planta que du pinot noir. C’est en 1990 qu’ont eu lieu les premières vendanges, qui seront vendues à des vineries locales, faute de cave à la ferme. Car pour vinifier en grande quantité, il faudrait investir…


Puis trois!

En 1991 entre en scène un Québécois qui voue à Parker un véritable culte. C’est Robert Roy, prolifique entrepreneur en construction, homme d’affaires aguerri et œnophile passionné. Il arrive avec un plan d’affaires béton et des fonds pour transformer la vieille ferme en domaine. L’entreprise est lancée et ne demande qu’à croître. Robert en est encore aujourd’hui le directeur financier. Quant à Michael, il travaille de concert avec son fils, Mike D. Etzel, né en même temps que Beaux Frères; ce dernier est vinificateur au domaine.


Une philosophie : intervenir au minimum

C’est bien connu que Robert Parker est à la poursuite de l’excellence. Dans les autres bouteilles, mais avant tout dans les siennes. Dès l’établissement du domaine, une philosophie s’est imposée : intervenir au minimum et prioriser la culture en harmonie avec les sols afin de produire des vins authentiques.


Et les vins de Parker sont-ils cotés par… Parker?

Robert Parker a été rédacteur en chef de son bulletin, The Wine Advocate, pendant quarante-deux ans. Il n’a jamais soumis ses vins à son jugement dans ses publications… mais il s’est évidemment réservé le plaisir de produire les fiches de dégustation qui accompagnent chacun de ses vins!